We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wineglass Bay Cruises

Features Animals
Closed Now: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Wineglass Bay Cruises tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
242
All photos (242)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good21%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bento box”(22 reviews)
“great cruise”(19 reviews)
“sea sickness”(19 reviews)
About
Wineglass Bay, nestled underneath the Hazards Mountain range, is a location of primeval peace and beauty. Experience the tranquility from a truly unique perspective with award winning Wineglass Bay Cruises. Step aboard Schouten Passage II for an...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Jetty Road | Corner Esplanade, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Website
+61 3 6257 0355
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fantastic trip. You get to see the coastline of the Freycinet national park as well as the spectacular wildlife. Crew were great - very patient with the one (very obnoxious) child on board, especially first mate Rastus.

4  Thank Aurora_wowan
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Disappointing - we thought this cruise would be a highlight of our 3 week tour of Tassie - over-rated - over-priced - too long - boring and uncomfortable - many passengers seasick - not nice - food was pathetic ! Don't fall for the fancy...More

4  Thank _davemoz99
Wineglass Bay C, General Manager at Wineglass Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

We are really sorry that you were so disappointed. If you had come into the office to speak with me about the cruise, I would have defiantly liked to have met with you and ascertain any problems before they escalated to this. We were not...More

Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
648
147
36
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
648
147
36
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bento box great cruise sea sickness sky lounge lunch box the upper deck hour cruise ginger tablets fur seals tasman sea ploughman's lunch saw dolphins wineglass bay cruise rough seas sea birds informative commentary staff were fantastic
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

The cruise was generally a great experience and we are not unhappy we have spent the $150.00 per person to do it, but we were disappointed by the bento lunch that was provided. It looked a poor cousin of the photograph in the brochure. Poorly...More

Thank Schlaker57
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great tour - great food - awesome crew!! We saw whales coming up very close - stayed there for about 1h to watch them. We saw dolphins and seals as well. Worth every dollar we paid - would definitely do it again!

Thank ChM_CFO
Kylie B, General Manager at Wineglass Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Wow thank you for your wonderful comments and yes we do love showcasing our beautiful Freycinet Peninsula in the Freycinet National Park to Wineglass Bay. What an amazing day you had with all the wildlife you seen! Awesome day on the water.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Did the boat tour today. Excellent saw so much scenery was breathtaking. Seals playing in the water as well as the whales. Very friendly staff couldn’t do enough for you. We stayed downstairs the cheaper version of the cruise but well worth it. If you...More

Thank Diane B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this cruise. The captain’s commentary was informative and the scenery was absolutely breathtaking. The ploughman’s lunch was delicious ( we opted for gluten free) and we were fortunate to see whales, seals and dolphins in their natural habitat. Wow! The cruise ended up...More

Thank Roving35444256683
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful day cruising around the peninsula to Wineglass Bay. We opted for the Sky Lounge option and had a very enjoyable time. The staff were fun and knowledgeable. The bento box and the oysters were delicious. We were very fortunate to get the...More

Thank michaelvonnida
Kylie B, General Manager at Wineglass Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow that is wonderful to hear! we love seeing the trifecta as you called it!! Always such an amazing day seeing the whales on their migrating route espeically with their calves. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable cruising. Informative and attentive staff. Beautiful scenery-something special about big rocks! Wasn't expecting to see whales as I considered it a bit late in the season, but was treated to several flipping around. Would recommend!

Thank Jo C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this tour through our accommodation at Bicheno, and drove the half hour to the cruise terminal. The weather was a perfect, albeit cool, day and the water like a mirror.. Upon check-in we were advised that the weather out to sea was "a...More

Thank Chris L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Wineglass Bay in 2014 and promised to return when next in Tasmania.. which we did a few weeks ago. Last time, we camped at Coles Bay and trekked up and over "The Hazzards" mountains to the Bay...along the beach and back around the...More

Thank rogeria l
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the sky lounge and were not disappointed with the service and experience. Great food and wines. A very relaxing way to see this beautiful part of Australia. Whales, eagles, and other wildlife. Coastline and rocky mountains. Definately recommended.More

Thank John A
Kylie B, General Manager at Wineglass Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your kind words! It is a great experience with lots of wild nature and wildlife to see. Along with all our amazing food and wine produce it is such a wonderful and different cruise in Tasmania. Thank you for cruising with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with a tour bus of 30 people, we were told it was good conditions, yes we got the ginger tablets but didn't make much difference. The seas were what I call huge never seen anything like it. Well we were all sick there...More

Thank Amy L
Kylie B, General Manager at Wineglass Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Amy Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the day you cruised did blow up quite quickly on the outside of the Peninsula and the weather wasn't that nice for you with the low sea mist but it isn't like that every day. We are...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Saffire Freycinet
667 reviews
2.74 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
471 reviews
2.80 km away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
107 reviews
17.32 km away
Swansea Motor Inn
338 reviews
17.38 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 9 nearby restaurants
Geographe Restaurant + Espresso Bar
120 reviews
.29 km away
The Bay Restaurant
278 reviews
1.29 km away
Iluka Tavern
250 reviews
.66 km away
Richardson's Bistro
243 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 19 nearby attractions
All4Adventure
500 reviews
.76 km away
The Long Lunch Tour Co
182 reviews
.28 km away
Freycinet Adventures
566 reviews
.75 km away
Coles Bay
166 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gael J
1 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Wineglass Bay C | Property representative |
Hi it is about an hours drive from Falmouth.
0
Votes
bambi102016
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Duncan S | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. The dates that you have requested are currently available. If you would like to place a booking we do require names of all passengers, mobile phone number, dietary requirements and credit card... More
0
Votes
G_Cliffy
22 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Wineglass Bay C | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for your enquiry, but you may need to ring us a couple of days out as we have an update with the weather in advance and could let you know. Regards
0
Votes