We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wrap up warm

Stopped off on a cold afternoon for a couple of pints. I like the beers very much ( especially as... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Meals-on-heels
,
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
My kind of bar

What a gorgeous little place. Lovely beer and delightful friendly young staff. So easy to get to... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
RootinTootin
,
Cornwall
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
The Borehole is a brewery tap for the Lymestone Brewery and is based on the same site. It has never been a pub before so this is an exciting refurbishment. The pub will serve a range of Lymestone cask ales and bottled beers as well as other drinks...more
Contact
Mount Road | Unit 2, Industrial Estate, Stone ST15 8LL, England
Website
+44 1785 817796
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
59
13
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
59
13
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews industrial estate favourite pub quirky place old fashioned pub beer drinker excellent ales canal walk nice pub real ale town centre brewery tap erin stein brewed newcastle breweries shame
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I remember coming to the borehole when it first opened, enjoying coke classic out in the sun from a glass bottle. The staff, the atmosphere, and the dog friendliness was perfect. Since you discontinued stocking ‘real’ coke, and draught pepsi, I haven’t returned. If it...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Harry D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off on a cold afternoon for a couple of pints. I like the beers very much ( especially as they have not "travelled" ). There was a lovely roaring fire but unfortunately someone else was sitting in front of it. After 2 pints we...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Meals-on-heels
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called yesterday for a couple of pints with a friend, we had to check we were in the right place as there were more dogs than people, it was more like a vet’s waiting room. The lad behind the bar would be enough to put...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Woodystu
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thanks very much for raising your concerns with us, the management of the borehole. As dog lovers we encourage dogs into our bar and in fact have won Staffordshire Dog Friendly business of the year twice! We know that this is not everyone's cup...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018

This is by far our favourite pub in Stone (where we live) however.....there is always a however. Why like many other public houses, cafes, restaurants etc, do the staff when cleaning tables, spray the chemical onto the tables and not onto the cloth that they...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AntneH
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thanks very much for your review of our pub Let me answer your points if I may, Cleaning tables is a requirement of any public service area.. it is not vital to spray tables each time they are cleaned and I will ensure that...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

What a gorgeous little place. Lovely beer and delightful friendly young staff. So easy to get to from the canal on the cut through to the station. Visited twice it was so good.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank RootinTootin
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi There Thanks very much for the wonderful review of our pub! So glad that you had a good visit. Call in and see us again when you are next in the area! Viv

Reviewed 28 August 2018

The Borehole is a great little pub that serves locally brewed (just a few yards away) excellent beers. As the beer is hand pulled, it does take a little while to be served - but well worth the wait. It is now our first choice...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank David H
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thanks for the review David.... so pleased that you like the beers and that you have become a regular with us........ see you at the bar very soon Viv

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Great little pub, with lots of history. Dogs are welcome. They have recently opened a beer garden. Traditional pub atmosphere. It’s like being sat someone’s front room. Great beer, and great service.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank N4170EAmatthewb
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thanks Matthew... great review for our little pub and glad that you enjoyed your visit having great beer and service! Call in and see us again sometime! Viv

Reviewed 7 August 2018

We found this fantastic pub by accident earlier this year, taking a slight detour off our usual canal walk. It has subsequently become our reason to visit Stone - the staff are fabulous, the tea, sandwiches and home-made cake are delicious (please keep up the...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Carole T
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Wow Carole what an amazing review... makes all the hard work worth while! I will pass on your comments to the staff team and yes I will get the lemon drizzle on the go again this weekend! Hope to see you again very soon Viv

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Great visit, great range of beers, lagers and ciders. Very friendly staff and nice beer gardens. Shame the train back to stoke was an hour late - we could have spent longer if we had known!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank IanC111
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Ian Thanks very much for the review of the Borehole... so glad that you were able to pay us a visit ... please pop back to see us again! Viv

Reviewed 2 August 2018

First stop on a Stone pub crawl. I love the beer and the staff and the whole ethos. My only concern is the state of the glasses. I don't think that they are dirty, but always have a "residue" on the insides. They are not...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Meals-on-heels
Mrsbrad1, Owner at The Borehole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi There Thanks for the review of out pub, I am pleased that you liked the beer and the staff, and I do hope that you mentioned the glasses to the staff while you were on site. Commercial glass cleaning does not get rid of...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
The Crown Hotel
388 reviews
1.01 km away
Stone House Hotel
635 reviews
2.59 km away
Travelodge Stafford M6
278 reviews
2.91 km away
Yarnfield Park Training and Conference Centre
182 reviews
3.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 69 nearby restaurants
The Secret Tea Room
103 reviews
1.05 km away
Sir Thomas Brocklebank
107 reviews
.97 km away
The Wayfarer
1,715 reviews
.85 km away
Granvilles
274 reviews
.85 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 nearby attractions
The Swan Inn
79 reviews
1.17 km away
Lymestone Brewery
25 reviews
.07 km away
Come Into Play
148 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MatthewK2854
11 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Mrsbrad1 | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry I did not get this message earlier, my alerts seem to have stopped. We hold a music night here at the Borehole on a Wednesday night. All are welcome to come along and play or sing with the band.... Perhaps see you... More
1
Vote
Anthony R
28 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mrsbrad1 | Property representative |
Hi, We charge approx. £3 per pint of cider - slightly more or less depending on the strength and the style of cider being served Viv
0
Votes