We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Onley

Open Now: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open today: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great evening meal

Very enjoyable evening meal, to celebrate a great friends birthday. The staff were very polite and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Kirk111197
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
Excellent Evening Meal

Excellent weekday evening meal for 2, food was high quality along with service from staff and wine... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Steve E
,
Pattiwick, England, United Kingdom
Read all 144 reviews
44
All photos (44)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good18%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(7 reviews)
“steak”(4 reviews)
“three courses”(4 reviews)
About
The Onley is nestled in the idyllic village of Stisted, Essex. Located on the site of The Black Lion, which burnt down in the early part of the 19th century, before being rebuilt as The Onley Arms by Mr Onley. Re-Opened June 2016 after an extensive...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
The Street | Stisted, Braintree CM77 8AW, England
Website
+44 1376 325325
Call
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
68
26
24
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
68
26
24
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch steak three courses main bar cask ales lovely meal food was fantastic potatoes cheesecake large booking nice place to eat tzatziki wine list visited with friends evening meal triple cooked chips homely feel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 144 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Excellent weekday evening meal for 2, food was high quality along with service from staff and wine, we ate in the bar area but have had several meals in the restaurant with friends and family, all of which have been equally high quality, considered now...More

Thank Steve E
Reviewed 3 days ago

Very enjoyable evening meal, to celebrate a great friends birthday. The staff were very polite and welcoming, the food although took a little time to come, was worth the wait. The Rib eye steak was excellent! Good selection of beers and wines. We will be...More

Thank Kirk111197
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First visit with a friend. Very warm welcome from girls behind bar. Told them we wanted to eat so was invited to eat in the restaurant. We had a good table and ordered the pork crackling with apple sauce (from a jar) and the fish...More

Thank jomaleary
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Three of us popped in for a Sunday toast on a wet and miserable day. Despite being a little late 2.30 pm we had a warm welcome and a fantastic beef. The meat was so tender and the veg delicious clearly not having sat around...More

Thank Jane C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here a couple of times, without disappointment, but wasn’t impressed this visit. The mains were the smallest I’ve seen anywhere. More like child portions! Usually a main & dessert would fill me up, but left still hungry. Won’t be returning.

Thank SweetMumma1
Onleystisted, Manager at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very disappointed that our food portions were considerably smaller than you have previously experienced. In order to rectify this, please can I ask the dish you ordered and the date you visited The Onley. Best regards Nicola Kent Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 of us dined two had sea bass at £14 smallest fillet ever ive had whole one at that price other meals ok but nothing special shame lovely decor friendly staff wouldn,t go back

Thank annettewislon56
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised with this beautiful upmarket in the quaint village of Stisted. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The beef burgers were very sumptuous, and the service was excellent. We will definitely visit here again.

Thank ldyshaz
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

You never think that a wake can be an enjoyable occasion but I honestly can’t fault the service we experienced and the time we had at the Onley today. We had sadly said goodbye to our mother but came in to see all the tables...More

Thank Jess H
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

It was very unfortunate when we came on Sunday as we have for quite a while to learn that at 4pm food had stopped and the chef had gone home. It is advertised as all day and would check next time. Food is always lovely...More

Thank KT B
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service by Mark the Chef, and Karen. Family birthday meal out celebrating hubbys birthday. Lovely food. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definately be going back.

Thank Tina N
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
501 reviews
3.44 km away
Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village
529 reviews
3.62 km away
White Hart Hotel
471 reviews
4.57 km away
Essex Golf & Country Club
365 reviews
5.23 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 145 nearby restaurants
Spicy Swan
76 reviews
1.80 km away
The Dolphin
485 reviews
1.52 km away
Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
120 reviews
3.67 km away
Fowlers Farm
696 reviews
3.59 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Gosfield Shopping Village
62 reviews
3.97 km away
Gosfield Gallery
8 reviews
3.85 km away
Braintree & Bocking Public Gardens
75 reviews
3.69 km away
Coggeshall Clock House and Clock Tower
21 reviews
5.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann B
11 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew F | Reviewed this property |
We had a taste card so it was half price, but if it helps we had a three course meal and it came to about £25 for two of us . Very good value .
1
Vote
jennisamson44
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Lynn E | Property representative |
Yes food is served until 9pm the Sunday roast finishes at 6pm and thereafter the choice up until 9pm is from the full menu. We really look forward to welcoming you tomorrow if you are able to make it and once again I am... More
0
Votes