Sarina Sugar Shed
Sarina Sugar Shed
4.5
Distillery ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursSightseeing ToursFood ToursFactory Tours
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Sarina Sugar Shed is a true paddock-to-plate food tourism experience that celebrates the rich history of sugar cane farming in the Mackay region. Visitors can enjoy a one-hour guided tour and learn how sugar cane is grown, farmed and processed. The tour takes you through the early harvesters, shows you how sugar cane is crushed on our replica sugar mill (during crushing season approx. June - Dec), and demonstrates how sugar cane juice is extracted. The tour includes tasting of sugar cane juice, plus tastings of our award-winning liqueurs (from our onsite boutique distillery), chutneys and sauces made in our onsite kitchen, homemade non-alcoholic ginger beer, and freshly-spun fairy floss. We also have a retail store loaded with our products and other gift ideas, and a café for light meals and beverages. Open Monday to Sunday from 9.00 am to 4.00 pm, with scheduled tours at 9.30am, 11.00am, 12.30pm and 2.00pm. Note: we are closed Good Friday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.
Sarina, Queensland, Australia

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Sarina Sugar Shed
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Travellers talk about
(31 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles481 reviews
Excellent
360
Very good
87
Average
20
Poor
9
Terrible
5

Mark
Newcastle, Australia141 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Solo
The tour leader Gill was so passionate and knowledgeable about the sugar industry. And was able to engage the audience which ranged from a 3 yo to a 66 yo. The static displays were brought to life with her commentary. The explanation of the sugar refining process was informative. The tasting as the end was great. Amazed to realise such a compact operation can produce such a range of products.
Written 2 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow, thank you so much for this amazing feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! Thank you for visiting, and we will make sure we pass your wonderful comments on to Gill! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experiences with us!
Written 3 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ella C
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 • Friends
This was an amazing tour, which was led by Jill. It was just me and my friend for the tour and Jill was absolutely amazing!! She made the tour so fun and interesting for the both of us (even though I had done it before) but my friend (who was going for the first time) and I loved the tour and the history and funny quips that Jill added into it. She made the experience so enjoyable that I would not hesitate to go again when I’m back up in Mackay and will definitely be requesting her joyful and funny tour all over again! The history, knowledge and work that has been put into this amazing company is incredible and knowing about all the work that farmers had/ have to go through gives you such a deeper understanding for what they do and a bigger appreciation for what we have. So thank-you for such an amazing experience yet again
Written 1 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oh my goodness, thank you soooo much for this amazing review! The team have worked extremely hard to make the tours and facilities both enjoyable and educational, and we are over the moon to read these comments. Gill, like all of our tour guides, are absolutely fabulous, and we will be sure to share this with them! Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back again...and again!
Written 1 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lee S
Mackay, Australia30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
Attended Mad Hatters Tea Party
Thursday 4th April 2024

Took my 2, aged 12 n 14 along to this event. It was very well organised.

The staff were all dressed up which added to the atmosphere of the event.

Kids enjoyed the Easter egg hunt and activities of decorating yr own hat and freshly made fairy floss.

The balloon twister and face painter were an added bonus.

The event was just the right length of time, not too short or too long.

My kids said they really enjoyed going.

Thank you Sarina Sugar Shed!! Always worth the drive. Keep up the great work.
Written 5 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Lee Anne, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am so glad you and the kids enjoyed the event, we try each time to work on improving our offerings, so it was great to hear we got it right with timing and activities, keep an eye out for our Halloween event in October!
Written 7 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah S
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Couples
We really enjoyed our tour, it was very informative. They show you all the machines that harvest the sugar cane to make sugar. I think it’s all for show though, they don’t actually use the machines, as the don’t have a food rating. You get to taste many products, but you are not allowed to taste the ice cream. $26 per adult is too expensive. They should at least open one flavour of ice cream for a group to try. I was asked my email on buying a ticket and I asked for what reason, they replied to send my tickets. Now they are sending me spam to rate them, Tour 3.5/5, using my email for another reason other than for the purpose stated 0/5
Written 31 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sarah, thanks for visiting and for posting this review. Thank you for your feedback - we are happy that you enjoyed the tour and found it informative. I am sorry that you believe that a follow-up email (so that we can genuinely improve our offering) is spam, and we appreciate you telling us this. Other than to obtain one-off feedback directly about the tour booked, we do not use your email address for any other marketing purposes. In fact, there is an opt in/opt out option about marketing communications for any other purpose. Thanks again for visiting and for your feedback.
Written 7 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PaperDaisy
Brisbane, Australia30 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Family
Make sure you book. Planned to be in Sarina whilst driving through for the 9.30 tour as per the website. We hadn't booked as they make you pay on booking and as we were driving through from up north we were not sure if we would be on time due to road works etc. Got there at 9.15 and were turned away as the tour was full. Apparently they are running extra tours to make up for the small numbers they can have now due to covid but that info isn't on the website. We weren't told if there was anything that we could see or do whilst waiting the 45minutes until the next tour, so we left. Pretty disappointing. Hopefully we will get a chance to do the tour in future.
Written 24 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Advance bookings are always recommended, or at least phoning ahead to check current availability to ensure that there is space. This is particularly important during school holiday periods when we fill up very quickly, and also during this COVID-19 period where, as you mentioned, our capacity on each tour is quite limited. We are trying our best to enable as many people as we can to do tours in these circumstances with additional non-scheduled overflow tours in peak demand periods, and again I am sorry that this experience isn't what you expected. Payment in advance is always required as many people book and don't turn up which means that we are turning away people because we think we are full, which is not fair to other visitors or us. We have noted your point about not being informed about what to do while waiting - the team normally does this, so I will reiterate this to them - thanks for letting us know about this. Again, thank you for your interest and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Regards Ian
Written 28 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AndyWhetstone
Greater London, UK57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 • Couples
This tour was basically the story of sugar cane. From the beginning to the production of sugar. The best bit was all the tastings of course , from raw sugar cane to candy floss.
Not only were the guides very knowledgable but they also were very pleasant and delivered the information in an easy going and pleasant manner.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone, young and old.
Written 21 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we hope we fit the bill for a paddock to plate experience! So glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and the guide as able to deliver a great experience! Kind regards Adele
Written 5 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Glen H
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2023 • Friends
I was at first quite disappointed when the tour was NOT of the actual Sugar Factory, and then even more disappointed when (due to no cane being available for the tour) the machinery was not used ... so it was essentially just watching video clips. I didn't even need to be there for that.
The tour at $25 (plus GSR, plus booking fees) per head was not cheap, and I expected more.
Written 9 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Rglenh, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I understand you must have been disappointed to have not done a tour of the Plane Creek Mill that is the large mill that sits as a backdrop to the Sarina Sugar Shed. Unfortunately, none of the large mills offer public tours anymore and we try to be concise in our tour bookings that we do not visit this mill. Our experience is of the miniature sugar mill (the only one in Australia) that we operate here on site that replicates the process the large mill does when processing sugar cane juice into sugar. Some days the machinery does not run in crushing season depending on our access to the care farm, and I am sorry that was one of the days you visited. We find that most people enjoy the personal touch of the guide explaining the harvesting and growing of cane, as well the factory process we replicate and of course the tasting session at the end of the tour where you can taste all the goodies' we make here on site including our range of liqueurs, condiments, ginger beer and freshly spun fairy floss.
Written 9 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OzJohnno
Mackay, Australia184 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021
As a local I ashamed to say that I had never taken the opportunity to tour this wonderful attraction in Sarina. That is until my Grandchildren came up from Brisbane for a visit. I can say without hesitation this is a must see.

"Bubbling" Betty was our tour guide and her knowledge and most importantly her ability to tell her story to all age levels is something she and her organisation should be proud of.

My teenage pair had a great time leaning about how cane is grown and harvested and then seeing first hand how the cane becomes sugar. The tasting session after is a bonus.

Well done Sarina Sugar Shed.
Written 28 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We have had lots of locals visit us year and we are glad you made it and enjoyed it! Betty is one of our fantastic guides here at the Sugar Shed and they all have stories to tell as part of the tour experience. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again!
Written 29 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sar Honey-Bear
29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Friends
This was an absolutely fabulous experience! Making the cocktails was so much fun and delicious and Jill was sensational! I highly recommend this experience for anything… Xmas parties, birthdays, hens nights or even just a date night! We came for a girl’s night but i’m coming back with hubby. Thanks again for a wonderful time and I’ll be back to buy goodies! Xxx
Written 20 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sarah, Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our Cocktail Masterclass. Gill shines at these events! We plan on having more of these in the lead up to Christmas! Hope to you see you again soon.
Written 20 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jackiedO1521DA
Secret Harbour, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
Great tour with a knowledgeable tour guide who made it interesting and fun. I have done this about four times now, with family and with visiting family/friends and would recommend to everyone. I learn something new every time!
I realise things have changed due to covid but the tasting sessions were better when they gave out crackers to try the dips with
Written 4 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jackie, oh wow, this is the ultimate compliment! Thank you for visiting so many times, and we are absolutely delighted that we can help you learn something new each time! We haven't provided crackers for the tastings for long time now, even before COVD, but we will certainly take this onboard and consider it! Thank you again!!
Written 10 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 474

Sarina Sugar Shed - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars