We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Ravenglass
High Adventure Day Tour from Keswick
USD 80.27 per adult
Private Hire - The High Adventure Tour
USD 637.85 per adult
Private Hire : High Adventure Tour in 16 Seater Minibus
USD 661.56 per adult
Full view
Location
Contact
Ravenglass CA18 1RQ England
Get to know the area
Full-Day Private Luxury Tour of the Western Lake District
Historical & Heritage Tours

Full-Day Private Luxury Tour of the Western Lake District

The Western Lakes are a bit more rugged and exposed to the elements than the rest of the district and as such has its own unique character. Much less explored than the more popular lakes and hills this area has a serene and ethereal feel not found elsewhere in this region. Even in peak summer you’ll feel like you’ve got it all to yourself which is why it’s our favourite part of the Lakes. We pride ourselves on customising all our tours to suit your personal requirements. We can spend more time, or less, at places so please use the itinerary as a framework for us to create the perfect day for you. <br><br>Although some guests actually want to see the Lakes at its wildest it can spoil it for others so, as "Pleasure first, Business second" is our mantra we, unlike most operators, will let you know in advance if we think the weather may be an issue to allow you to make an informed decision as to continue with your trip, arrange an alternative date or request a refund.
USD 394.18 per adult
1,579Reviews15Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1,063
  • 360
  • 99
  • 33
  • 24
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rourman wrote a review Nov. 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom16 contributions1 helpful vote
This is the second time my wife and I spent Halloween at Muncaster. This time we stayed in their Coachman's Quarters instead of outside the castle grounds over in Ravenglass. We had an absolutely delightful time. Lord Pennington and his staff put on a wonderful, family-friendly Halloween affair, with wonderful food, fun (and only slightly spooky) entertainment, and an amazing, gorgeous grounds to enjoy during the stay. Lord Pennington himself joins in for part of their Haunted Castle tour, which is enjoyable by all ages, and this year they even managed to make it both fun and comfortable whilst keeping physically distant during the tour. I will most certainly return again in the future, hopefully during a springtime or summer month when the days are longer so we can enjoy even more of the castle grounds. Their estuary is fantastic, and they have an incredible bird show, including one at night (fabulous!). Whilst the Coachman's Quarters weren't a super-fancy lavish hotel room, it was very comfortable and afforded us the ability to enjoy the festivities and then easily go back to the room to relax at any time. It was clean, reasonably well kept, and met our needs. Plus the staff are all friendly and helpful, which made the stay that much more enjoyable.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterFrostPennington, Owner at Muncaster Castle
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our Halloween entertainments. Thank you too for elevating me to the peerage but I am simply one of the team working hard to deliver enjoyable experiences to all our guests and we are just normal people lucky enough to live in an extra-ordinary place and we love sharing it with others in a fun and family friendly way. I admit it is a bit confusing when in the show "Dick & Ted" the builders kept referring to me as "Your Lordship" but that is just them poking fun at me. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff and glad you think our bird shows are incredible. We look forward to welcoming you back in more peaceful times; certainly the best season to enjoy the amazing gardens in all their glory is springtime or early summer. Thank you for your 5 star review.
Read more
GSS wrote a review Oct. 2020
Workington, United Kingdom4 contributions
The whole visit was excellent from start to finish. The staff were friendly knowledgeable on each of their subjects from the history of the castle to the birds of prey. The owl shows were amazing with great presentations from each of the handlers. The sledge hammer show was also great and well managed given the current covid restrictions. All of the attractions were well scheduled throughout the day from arriving at 10.30 through to 21.00. The key to having a great day is to arrive at each attraction 10 minutes early to enable staff to carryout their jobs safely in accordance with the current restrictions! The cafe had a wide variety of snacks and drinks and again worked hard all day providing a safe efficient service. There was also a small pop up bar and other pop up facilities selling a variety of food/drinks. The garden autumn tints this time of year are always a great backdrop to the castle coupled with the Halloween theme. We stayed overnight in the coachman quarters which were clean and good value with a fantastic breakfast at the sister hotel in Ravenglass.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterFrostPennington, Owner at Muncaster Castle
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Dear Watagreatday I'm so glad you obviously lived up to your brilliant TripAdvisor name and enjoyed both a great day and stay. It took a huge amount of planning to deliver Halloween Week this year in consideration of the covid restrictions and I'm glad you felt safe and had a great time. Thank you for your positive comments. Much appreciated.
Read more
Elaine wrote a review Oct. 2020
13 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed overnight during Halloween week. Arrived early at 10.30 to enjoy a full day. Had a great day from start to finish both bird shows were amazing. Food In the cafe was delicious the same young man served us every meal from breakfast to supper and was so efficient serving a continually busy cafe. Had a Castle tour which was interesting and we enjoyed the Sledgehammer show as it was great to see a live entertainment show during these troubled times. The scary maze tour was definitely scary. The accommodation was basic but comfortable and it was lovely to be able to have the opportunity to stay in the grounds a real unique experience.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterFrostPennington, Owner at Muncaster Castle
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Wow! Glad we hit the mark with you. The young man concerned has been complimented profusely for your positive comments and his friendly beaming smile is now even bigger. We are glad you enjoyed everything and appreciated the live theatre we somehow managed to deliver despite the restrictions. "SledgeHammer House of Horror" is now also available online as a virtual show at least for this month of lockdown2. Also good to hear that the Scary Maze was definitely scary as we had to tone it down quite considerably this year! Thank you so much.
Read more
Suzie Little wrote a review Oct. 2020
Carlisle, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booking was easy and the ticket officer/receptionist was very helpful over the phone, giving all the information we needed to arrive in good time, parking instructions, where to eat etc. Upon arrival we grabbed some food from the vegan street food stall. This was so good we went back for lunch the next day! We stayed in the Coachman's Quarters which was comfortable, practical and a great base for exploring the grounds at night. The grab and go breakfast was a nice touch and meant we had snacks throughout the day too. We also drove out to the Pennington Hotel in Ravenglass, just a 5 minute drive away. Another good recommendation from the lady at reception. Nice place! The Hallowe'en performance in the castle was fab. A really good energy between the actors and it got a lot of laughs (and a few jumps too!) My husband and I also enjoyed exploring the grounds after dark which was very spooky. The Muncaster team had gone to a lot of trouble to make the place look spectacular! The highlight for us was the 11.30 owl display, which was informative and brilliant to see the owls in flight so close up. We loved wandering around seeing all of the birds of prey and reading about them too. I became very fond of the great grey owl, who sat quietly behind a branch whilst his mates squawked for their dinner. Thank you Muncaster for a fab 24 hours! 🎃
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterFrostPennington, Owner at Muncaster Castle
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Your review is heartwarming and very much appreciated. I also loved the vegan food stall we managed to get here at last....their offerings were truly delicious! I do hope we'll be able to get them back again for future events. The birds are usually the top stars of any visit and Ash the Great Grey Owl is a huge character. All our staff are brilliant too and I'm so pleased that despite the restrictions and frequently horrible weather all of them worked incredibly hard alongside our traders and performers to deliver fun experiences for almost everyone who visited. Do please visit again.
Read more
Mike farrar wrote a review Oct. 2020
United Kingdom1 contribution
Ordered tickets online, arrived at venue reception 6:55 (tickets said arrive 7pm prompt). Were told the show was starting shortly and they would start once we walked down. Took 7 mins to walk to location from reception only to find show had started and we weren’t aloud in. We have drove 45mins to get there and had disappointed 4 & 5 year old children. Needs more info on tickets informing about the walk, but also could have hung on 4mins (got to the owl gate at 7:04) especially after we had arrived at the venue at 6:55 and they were told we were here. Said we weren’t aloud in due to Health and Safety but they let a family of 5 out two mins later. Was told we were getting a full refund but still haven’t received it. Very disappointed!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterFrostPennington, Manager at Muncaster Castle
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
I am sorry you were disappointed but it's about time you accepted the root of your discomfort was entirely of your own making as you were late. As the other Halloween TripAdvisor reviews testify, our staff put on a fabulous Halloween experience despite the covid-19 restrictions and the often inclement weather and the vast majority of our customers had a great time. Why when your tickets were valid for the whole day did you choose to arrive at our Main Gate at 6.55pm only 5 minutes before the "Twilight Owls" show was due to start? It clearly states on our website that visitors should be at the entry point to either the flying displays (daytime or evening) or the castle tours (daytime or evening) at least 10 minutes before the start time. It also states that it is a 10 or 15 minute walk from the Main Gate to the main activity areas. For your information, we did delay the show start from 7.00pm to 7.04pm entirely because of you but as some visitors had been waiting from 6.40pm to get into the show on time it was very unfair to delay any longer. You were not at the gate to the show in time so in fairness to our other visitors plus the staff and birds we had to start the show. Once started, as birds are flying in the dark, it is imperative that visitors do not move around for their own safety and those of the birds. Despite this, yes some visitors did leave while you were remonstrating with the gatekeeper to be allowed in. Obviously we cannot physically stop people leaving if they want to and so we have to allow them to leave. This does not mean you could go in, since as explained above it is unsafe to do so and disrupts the show for those who show us enough courtesy to arrive in time for the entertainments. I think it is also disingenuous of you to complain about not getting a refund quickly and accusing us of zero customer service. First of all it clearly states no refunds will be given; these shows all sold out and we could have sold your tickets 2 or 3 times over if you had cancelled with 24 hours notice or more. So we were under no obligation to give you a refund but decided to do so; I repeat again that the only reason you didn't get into the show was your fault in being late, not ours. We are incredibly busy during Halloween Week and processed your refund as soon as we could the next day but even so it often takes a day or two for the refund to be returned to your card. We obviously do not like people being disappointed and would just plead with you to check full information and travel times before visiting attractions in the future. We bent over backwards to try & help you and granted a refund which we didn't have to do when your disappointment was through no fault of our own. I know it can be very tough getting young kids all lined up and ready to move quickly and get somewhere on time and things happen but Muncaster offers great customer care and experiences and I do think your 1 star review is rather unfair in the circumstances.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Muncaster Castle