We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maya Chan Beach

K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
+52 983 101 3585
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Not for me

Yes they do warn you about the sea grass. Yes they are very honest and upfront about it. It just... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
716ShaS
,
Buffalo, New York
via mobile
Best day on my cruise.

I had another great time at Maya Chan. I booked a cruise last minute and very grateful for them to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Adam K
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 1,188 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“floating chairs” (108 reviews)
“rum punch” (77 reviews)
“sea grass” (95 reviews)
LOCATION
K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
CONTACT
Website
+52 983 101 3585
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yes they do warn you about the sea grass. Yes they are very honest and upfront about it. It just wasn't for me. It bothered me more than I thought it would. The staff was BY FAR THE BEST STAFF I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED -...More

2  Thank 716ShaS
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We have a 100% satisfaction policy. Please contact me for a full refund. We show all of our guests our current conditions and you had the option to cancel with a full refund. I am sorry you felt that you felt the way. What more...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had another great time at Maya Chan. I booked a cruise last minute and very grateful for them to fit me in. Maya Chan is a great beach getaway. The staff is the best part. They go above and beyond to make sure you...More

3  Thank Adam K
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and hurry back soon. You get our VIP return rate. Cheers,

A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me preface this by saying that I've been in the hospitality business for 30 years and I recognize great service when I see it. At Maya Chan you'll receive excellent service by people that really care about their guests. Unfortunately, that doesn't make up...More

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for coming. We just got hit by Hurricane Harvey and it did lots of damage to the road and we are still getting lots of seagrass because of it. If you knew the effort that it takes to get a Hurricane hit area...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our day. David and everyone were so accommodating that we felt like family within minutes. This was the most relaxing day we had our entire cruise. The food, drinks and most of all the service was amazing. We didn't even have to get...More

3  Thank Bobby S
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Awesome. We have started ourselves to repair the beach road. We have filled almost all of the pot holes and will continue until it is done. We had some very challenging days with adverse weather, but we faired much better than our friends in the...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying the communication on the website and via emails back and forth with the folks at Maya Chan was outstanding. This resort is just what we were looking for. We are a family of 3 including our 12 year old son....More

2  Thank David H
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for you kind words. The road is being fixed. Yeah. That issue is now gone away. We had to do it ourselves with no help from our local government or from any of our neighbors. People have been giving some negative comments on...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Let me say that I have been to Costa Maya a few times on cruises and always struggled to find something to do. The town is pretty small, and the cruise line excursions usually take you far away on buses. Maya Chan is a revelation,...More

10  Thank Nicholas M
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you. Hurry back soon. We give all of our return guests our special VIP's return rate. Cheers,

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th cruise and we do excursions on every cruise making sure to schedule a relaxing beach day each time whether through the ship or trip advisor..let me just say this was the BEST one we have done to date!! This was for...More

4  Thank Rachel A
Reviewed 3 September 2017

A few days before we arrived in Costa Maya, a tropical storm hit the cost of the Yucatan and stirred up waters and a LOT of seaweed. We live on the beach, so we understand that this happens and we did NOT hold this against...More

Thank Emily M
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

So glad we were able to make that change of dates. For our little ones, we do have peanut butter and jelly, chicken nuggets, hot dogs, french fries, hamburgers,and we make special quesadillas for them. But you have to ask. All special to order. We...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We arrived via cruise ship and met representatives from Maya Chan and they put us in a taxi to the beach. The service here was impeccible. We had a cabana and we were offered drinks constantly. Everyone was so nice! Lunch consisted of tacos that...More

2  Thank EBDRJD
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I have to say, it is all about my staff. They have been with me for over 8 years and are fantastic. They appreciate the work and appreciate meeting and serving our guests. Come back soon.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

I didn't think this place was legit because the review were too good to be true. I was wrong this place was amazing. Before was started they warned us about the seaweed/seagrass and gave us a chance for a refund. I knew there was going...More

2  Thank Jeff W
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad you had a great time. We do have our critics. Some write negative things just to write negative things. Some you can never please. I guess it is the glass half full or half empty thingy. Take care and hurry back

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nohoch Kay Beach Club
893 reviews
4.92 km away
Ibiza Sunset
399 reviews
5.22 km away
Fernando's 100% Agave
371 reviews
5.23 km away
Pitaya Beach Club Restaurant
64 reviews
5.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mahahual Beach
995 reviews
5.30 km away
Yaya Beach
183 reviews
5.18 km away
The Native Choice Tours
1,929 reviews
6.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AKO1967
11 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola AKO1967, All good snorkeling in Costa Maya is off shore at the Meso-American reef system. The reef is approximately 800 meters from shore. We do not offer a boat service at this time but your welcome to swim or kayak... More
0
Votes
Corky32
22 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola Corky32, If your ship doesn't make port in Costa Maya you will be refunded in full. Let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. Gracias and we hope to see you on the beach!
0
Votes
Cheryl M
16 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola Cheryl M, Our current pricing for adults is $59 per adult all-inclusive including round trip transportation. Children are less. Please visit our website for a full list of what is included and the price break down. You... More
0
Votes