We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier

Closes in 14 min: 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open today: 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Review Highlights
Have to pay to go out on the pier

Disappointed this is a pay to walk on it pier. If your thirsty though you can get something in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sage C
,
Cool, California
Everytime A Great Experience

Always good for a great get away. As piers go it is a big improvement being all concrete. A must... read more

Reviewed 29 September 2018
Doug C
,
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Read all 87 reviews
42
All photos (42)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“day pass”(2 reviews)
“gift shop”(4 reviews)
About
Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier offers all you will need to have a memorable trip to Wrightsville Beach. Our tackle shop as a wide selection of lures, plugs, and more to help catch the BIG one off the pier. We also rent rods for those who need one. The...more
Closes in 14 min
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
23 Salisbury St E, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1811
Website
+1 910-256-2743
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
35
26
16
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
35
26
16
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wooden structure day pass gift shop lunch counter north carolina bait johnnie wilmington rod oceanic metered gear sunscreen destroyed salisbury waves
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointed this is a pay to walk on it pier. If your thirsty though you can get something in the store.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sage C
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the feedback and we do hope you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 15 October 2018

The Good: Its a pier you can walk out on and fish from. The Bad: It costs $2.00 per person. The Ugly: It's really run down and smells horrrible. Save yourself some money and the trip. It really is not worth it.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kelly626
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. Please be aware, that while we are open, we did suffer some cosmetic damage due to Hurricane Florence. We are in the process of getting repairs done.

Reviewed 29 September 2018

Always good for a great get away. As piers go it is a big improvement being all concrete. A must visit in the area.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Doug C
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for the rave review. We appreciate your business.

Reviewed 18 September 2018

Why have a shop filled with tacky stuff? Not sure who shops here or would buy the weird stuff that looks like it's from a dollar store. Totally surprised by how cheesy this actually was!More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank LorettaH274
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Sorry that this was your opinion of our gift shop. While we do have some a variety of souvenir type items, we also offer a wide selection of t shirts, dresses, shirts, shorts, bathing suits,flips, kids clothing, etc. We also stock our store with items...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Staying nearby and on the beach next to Mercers Pier, we walked up and found a snack bar and we were told it was closed. How is that possible in mid August ? Part of the problem is there is no sign even letting one...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mark G
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Sorry to hear that this was your experience. We do cut back the restaurant hours once school is back in session and the summer season winds down. If there is ever an issue, please ask to speak to the manager so that we can work...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

This is a great pier if you are visiting and don’t have your equipment. It’s easy to rent a rod and reel and you can buy bait on site. The guy who works there is super friendly and helpful. We were fishing at sunset and...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank reginasewell
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and all the amenities the pier has to offer. Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We came to Wilmington to go to the water park and decited to go walk the beach. We came across the pier and had to check it out. It was the first concrete pier I have been on. It was nice and you could fish...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Lester E
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Glad you were able to make it to the pier and enjoy your visit with us. Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 3 September 2018

did not go out on this trip but have been out on pier before don't fish but its fun just to walk to end you are really out there

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank michaeljwilson2327
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Glad you enjoy walking out on the pier. There is so much to see on the stroll out to the end...The beach, all the people, fishing, fish, sunrises, sunsets, and the list goes on. Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 22 August 2018

there are areas to sit and watch the fishermen pull in their catch for the day and watch the waved and watch the families on the beach there is also an area the sit under a shelter and still enjoy the breeze and sea air...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sstevens27262
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for visiting with us and enjoying all that the pier has to offer. We appreciate the review and your business.

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We went to Wrightsville Beach for a reunion and the place we stayed was beside the pier . So we had to go over and we are very glad we did. It is a cute store with a fishing pier. Kids were able to get...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Tina W
JMP J, Manager at Johnnie Mercers Fishing Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

So glad you all enjoyed the pier and all that it offers. Sounds like fond summer memories were made. Thank you for visiting.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Silver Gull Motel
238 reviews
.06 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
725 reviews
.75 km away
Harbor Inn
43 reviews
1.02 km away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
2,478 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 32 nearby restaurants
Tower 7 Baja Mexican Grill
698 reviews
.90 km away
South Beach Grill
623 reviews
1.00 km away
King Neptune
241 reviews
.87 km away
Oceans
149 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 42 nearby attractions
Wrightsville Beach
933 reviews
1.47 km away
Wrightsville Beach Museum of History
55 reviews
1.57 km away
Stanback Coastal Education Center
6 reviews
1.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
llnelson
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JMP J | Property representative |
Yes, It is $2.00 per adult, $1.00 per child.
0
Votes
April G
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JMP J | Property representative |
Yes, you can rent fishing rods for the tackle shop located in the pier house. The attendant can also help you get set up with all your fishing needs. Feel free to call the pier house or check out our web site to be in the... More
0
Votes
Brian D
29 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JMP J | Property representative |
Only service animals are allowed.
0
Votes