We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wolf Rock Dive Centre

Features Animals
Rainbow Beach, Australia
More
About Wolf Rock Dive Centre
Dive with critically endangered grey nurse sharks all year round. Other species commonly seen at this spectacular underwater formation are eagle rays, turtles, bull rays, giant Queensland groper, leopard sharks, manta rays, wobbiegong sharks and much, much more. In winter we are joined by the humpback whales for their annual migration. This is a must do dive while visiting South East Queensland.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Wolf Rock Dive Centre
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
147Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marc_blues3 wrote a review 14 Sep
Brisbane, Australia67 contributions26 helpful votes
Went out to Wolf Rock with this company earlier today. They were awesome from start to finish. Initially I was booked in for Wednesday but the weather outlook wasn't looking great. The dive centre was proactive in informing me that the trip would likely be cancelled, giving me time to change my travel plans so I could dive on the Tuesday. Throughout the trip the crew were fantastic, probably the nicest and most helpful crew I have encountered in my short diving career. The site itself was awesome. We saw over 20 grey nurse sharks and a couple of big rays, with visibility pretty decent. Note, it can get pretty rocky out there and the boat is small so I definitely suggest taking sea sickness medication beforehand. I don't usually get seasick, but I felt awful during the surface interval and a couple of divers weren't able to complete their second dive for this reason. Overall, I thoroughly recommend. Thanks guys for a great day.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Robert B wrote a review Jun 2021
Coolum Beach, Australia5 contributions
Had a fantastic dive trip to Wolf Rock yesterday with James and Emily. Thanks for a wonderful and unique encounter with Grey Nurse Sharks, Manta Rays, Eagle Rays, Turtles as well as the millions of fish that reside at Wolf Rock. A wonderful and International group of divers, five nationalities in all made it a fun trip. Beautiful surface conditions made for a glorious day!!! Thank-you all!!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
arw64 wrote a review Mar 2021
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
UNTRUSTWORTHY VERY UNPROFESSIONAL and EXTREMELY RUDE OPERATOR We booked our dives 4 months ago so we were able then to secure flights to Brisbane and organize accommodation, hire car, airport parking and paid deposits for dives and accommodation and paid in full airport parking and hire car so it was all booked in and paid for, how much more secure does it need to be. Well that's not good enough apparently for James the owner/operator. Instead, 15 days before we jump on a plane to have this amazing experience he rings and says that our dive has been cancelled because he can book the boat out to someone else.... I've got a better offer !! so screw you !! Apparently its Shark week and so it perfectly ok to cancel not only mine and my wife holiday, but also cancel the holidays of 5 other people as well so that James can get some free advertising. Obviously the sharks have only just found out in the last couple of days that they have a week named after then so they will all just turn up ?? What about your customers James ?????? Through this conversation l was subjected to name calling and abuse all because l questioned where his loyalty was to his clientele. In the middle of the conversation he admitted that it would have been easier to just let us turn up and then tell us that there was something wrong with the motor and so its cancelled. He just show me right there and then how unprofessional Wolf Rock really was. This is the sort of character that is running this sham of a business. One has to wonder why if this place has such amazing dive locations, why is he so quiet ? He need to listen and stop abusing his customers if they don't agree with him. If you need to organize flights and accommodation to do this dive l would think twice about it. You also could be out of pocket quiet a lot of money. We have lost air fares, deposits on accommodation etc etc It works out at hundreds of dollars but James just didn't give a crap about it, as long as he's doing alright out of it. Not unlike sean12345 who wrote a review on Oct. 2020 also complaining about the pathetic management of Wolf Rock Dive , I too am just waiting to hear the endless supply of reasons what gives justification to James to think its perfectly ok just cancel a family holiday because they got a better offer..... If you have to organize flights and accommodation and you want to know for sure that you will receive what you paid for l would give this character a wide berth and look at dives with just as much to offer but with professional management, check out Southwest Rocks dive centre, Yongala Dive, North Stradbroke Island, all of these you will see what Wolf Rock will allow or not allow you to see.... Regards Some one who you will never receive a red cent from again.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from James N, Owner at Wolf Rock Dive Centre
Responded 8 Jun 2021
The last time we spoke I asked you to be an honourable person and write the full truth in your review, you left out a few important bits from our encounter.. You have never been to Wolf Rock Dive Centre, we have never met in person and you have no idea what kind of operation we have. I drive the boat, my wife looks after the office and our children and we have 2 awesome dive instructors/coxswains. We have one boat. We are small, exclusive and very passionate about what we do. During our conversations you were appalled to hear that we don’t have a second boat with extra crew on standby. Wolf Rock is not really conducive to large scale dive operations which is probably why it is such a special place. We are only permitted to take 10 divers in the water at any one time due to the sites significance to the Grey Nurse Shark population. We have a serious bar to negotiate and Wolf Rock itself is fully exposed to the power of the Pacific Ocean. It is a deep site and has potential for strong currents and unpredictable visibility. All in all diving at Wolf Rock can be challenging and it is accurate to say that we cancel up to 20% of our trips through out the year with the majority of our cancellations occurring during the summer months. . You were booked on for TWO days of diving at Wolf Rock and I called you up with 19 days notice to tell you that regretfully we would have to cancel ONE of those days because the Discovery Channel was chartering our vessel and were doing a piece on Wolf Rock for Shark Week. It was an exceptional situation, you were the only divers booked on that day and I was forced to make a difficult call. This was an important opportunity to promote the efficacy of Marine Parks/Green Zones and also the plight of the critically endangered Grey Nurse Shark. I will also acknowledge that we believe it is in Wolf Rock Dive Centre's best interests to cultivate a relationship with the Discovery Channel and Shark Week. All things considered; It was a unique opportunity that we were not prepared to pass up. I know you were looking forward to your dive, I understood your disappointment and I was extremely apologetic, I hated the fact I had let you down; I suggested alternative plans/activities for the cancelled day, I offered to pay to change your flight itinerary, speak with the accomodation that you had booked to negotiate a refund and complete your subsequent dives at Wolf Rock free of charge…. I wasn’t prepared to simply transfer you the $730 you demanded with no questions asked.. but, within reason, I did the best I could to appease the situation but this was never about money. Instead of joining us for a free day of diving (the dive was spectacular that day by the way) and making the most of what could have still been a special holiday you decided to have what can only be described as a temper tantrum! There was nothing I could do or say that would alleviate your furious sense of entitlement, it was literally comparable to reasoning with my 4 year old child... I was and still am flabbergasted! Is this how you behave every time you don't get exactly what you want in life or were you just having a bad day? There is this song by a band called the Rolling Stones that you should listen to its called “you can’t always get what you want” and at no point during the song does Jagger mention tantrums or nasty character assassinations on reviewing platforms! We had at least 4 conversations, when you allowed me to get a word in I was apologetic, polite and civil. I understood your position but you were simply unable to grasp mine. It was really bizarre. During our final conversation you told me that you were going to do your best to ruin our reputation and that you were a very well connected diver in Victoria, you used the classic phrase "I don't think you know who we are?” At this stage you had already openly questioned my character, my dive experience and my business credentials and you were now threatening my livelihood! Everyone has a limit Andrew, I admit it was unprofessional of me to call you a "vindictive a**shole" but I’m not going to pretend you weren’t behaving like one! To say that I am untrustworthy is below the belt though, all I have done is tell you the honest truth! As I said on the phone some operators would have cancelled your tour with a days notice and made up any number of excuses from engine failure to a sore throat... I didn’t do that... I told you the truth because it was the right thing to do and that is how we operate, with integrity. I truly wish we could have arrived at a mutually satisfactory outcome that saw you enjoy the wonders of Wolf Rock..I wish we were in a position where we could keep everyone happy and we will endeavour to do so in the future On a side note: I have taken full responsibility and apologised profusely for cancelling your dive. That being said it is surprising that a diver of your considerable importance would make unnecessary non refundable bookings 4 months in advance for a dive holiday during our cyclone season? Not to mention the current potential for COVID lockdowns? Most of our interstate customers book the dive in early (because we have a 48 hour cancellation policy) and book the non refundable products a week or so out, something to consider in the future perhaps… All The Best James
Read more
wim_9 wrote a review Mar 2021
antwerpen26 contributions5 helpful votes
What an amazing experience ! Super friendly staff, excellent rental gear ! Boat ride a bit choppy but so,so worth it ! Amazing wildlife at wolf rock ! Amazing experience and not to expensive! Thanks Team wolf rock diving ! Keep on doing this great work !
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Jenny G wrote a review Feb 2021
Greater Perth, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Awesome day, awesome dive. Incredible wildlife - grey nurse sharks galore, octopus, a turtle, wobbiegongs, moray eels and an incredible fever of eaglerays. There were even some adorable nudies (when you take your eyes off the big stuff!) Highly recommend a trip with wolf rock dive. Definitely one of my favourite dives of all times.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Rainbow Beach
from USD 148.13
More Info