We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Share

Shallotte River Swamp Park
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
180
All photos (180)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good6%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“zip lining”(50 reviews)
“ropes course”(28 reviews)
“zipline tour”(15 reviews)
About
Welcome to The Swamp Park & Outdoor Center! Take a majestic tour and explore the ecological benefits of this natural environment or indulge in one of our many action activities we have on hand. You can choose from one of our three fun-filled...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
5550 Watts Rd SW, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-3624
Website
+1 910-687-6100
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

What an AWESOME adventure!! One of the best ziplines I have been on. The guides (Ryan and Michael) were absolutely wonderful. They guide you through the whole course so that you do not have to do any unhooking or hooking of equipment yourselves. They take...More

4  Thank CameronNeilAnnas
Swamp15, Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Yes! We LOVE to hear that you had such a good time. Maybe next time try the Pelican Dive for an even greater rush. Go ahead and take a step off that ledge. Check out our Facebook page and our website for new upcoming events...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Way over priced! A girl named Daphnie looked like she was either on something or had to go to the bathroom but very figity. Also my friends baby was very fussy and took forever for the boat tour. Not happy not worth the money. They...More

9  Thank Earthygirl95
Swamp15, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

We hate that your best friend has dragged you into her termination however this sight is for people that have been here. Please do not slander the employees here, it is illegal.

Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
317
22
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
317
22
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip lining ropes course zipline tour boat ride two hours take pictures nature trail afraid of heights family members awesome adventure outdoor fun can't wait to come back great facility staff were excellent ground school back porch safety precautions
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Matt and Terrell were fantastic guides. Knowledgeable about the swamp with enough wit for a fun banter throughout the tour. This place is very professional, and they have an appropopriate amount of training for anyone that is a first time ropes course/zipline goer. The staff...More

Thank Elizabeth V
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your amazing review! Matt and Terrell are awesome guides! We're glad everyone had a wonderful time with us. Come back, and check out the other tours we offer!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did the 10 Line tour and every moment of it was wonderful. Our guides and the people in our group really made for a fun and exhilarating time. 12/10 would recommend!

Thank Kaitlin O
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your awesome review! Kelly and Matt are amazing guides. We're glad everyone had a wonderful time with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From start to finish this was the first time I left a facility and could not find one thing to complain about. The staff was friendly, well trained and organized. The place was spotless including the rest rooms. They were extremely safety concious throughout the...More

Thank Cynthia N
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your AMAZING review! We're so glad everyone had a wonderful time with us! We are always striving for excellence, and to have a little fun! :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been zip lining before a couple of times but this place is by far the highest and longest zip lines we had experienced. Great tutorial before we began. Matt and Terrell were great guides! Both highly skilled and safety minded. Terrell's jokes need...More

Thank scooternje
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your awesome review! Matt and Terrell are pretty amazing guides! We are so glad you had a wonderful time with us!

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We did the zip line tour with a group of 9, family and friends. It was great! The guides were awesome! The facilities were very nice, well maintained and inviting. I would go back again if in the area.

Thank Julia L
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad everyone had a great time with us! Please come back and visit us again!

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

A large group of us come down to Sunset Beach, NC every year and every year we look for new things to do to get us off the beach for a day in the middle of our week, this year we discovered the zip lining....More

Thank Brittany T
GeorgeH3371, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for your AMAZING review! We truly appreciate your kind words! Matt and Jake are fantastic guides! We're so glad everyone had a fabulous time with us!

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We loved the boat tour. Within minutes of leaving the dock, we were completely out of earshot of the nearby highway. The guide was extremely well informed and engaging. One bonus...the ecosystem of the swamp is so filled with bats and dragonflies, etc, that it...More

Thank edmcleodjr
George H, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for your awesome review! We're so glad everyone had a great time on our Eco Swamp Boat tour.

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

My family and I (spouse, children 13,6,4) had an absolute fantastic time. We all participated in the Adventure Park. Staff was super positive and encourageable the entire time. They even had my 4 year old doing zip lines himself!! We had so much fun, we...More

1  Thank Laurel N
George H, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your AWESOME review! We're so glad everyone in the family had a great time with us! We can't wait to see you next year!

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited and did the full zip line course. The guides were great! We always felt safe and were provided clear instructions. They also share interesting facts about the area and wildlife along the way. Thanks Avery and Jake! I highly recommend...More

Thank Hunter W
George H, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for your amazing review! We're so glad everyone had an amazing time with us! Jake and Avery are pretty awesome! It's our top priority to be fun and safe! We can't wait for you to visit us again to try the Adventure Park.

Reviewed 22 August 2018

Don't be sad or frustrated if it rains the day you plan to Zipline! Our family of 4, 2 are young teens, an older man just recovered from a major health event and his 12 year old grandson bonded. We were in the middle our...More

Thank Kathy E
George H, General Manager at Shallotte River Swamp Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for your amazing review! Rainy days are our favorite days here at the park! We're glad everyone had fantasic time with us!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
SureStay Hotel By Best Western Shallotte
83 reviews
3.81 km away
Comfort Inn
91 reviews
5.44 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
840 reviews
6.46 km away
Islander Inn
574 reviews
6.48 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 45 nearby restaurants
Causeway Gourmet
460 reviews
4.89 km away
Sugar Shack
543 reviews
4.71 km away
Beaches Burgers
154 reviews
4.87 km away
The Filling Station
61 reviews
4.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
Museum of Coastal Carolina
148 reviews
6.24 km away
Makai Brewing Company
7 reviews
1.42 km away
Leopard's Chase Golf Club
39 reviews
2.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sharon H
11 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from George H | Property representative |
Great question! The 7-13 year olds can do all of the green and blue courses by them selves. The 14-adult can do all including the red course.
0
Votes
run2theopera
8 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from LaughingWolf | Reviewed this property |
There are not but you will have a great time anyway. I have been on drizzly days with a large group and we had a blast.
2
Votes
Heatherr35
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from melissaj153 | Reviewed this property |
Actually there were no mosquitos. On the boat tour they usually explain why!
0
Votes