We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rottnest Island Visitor Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Henderson Ave, Thomson Bay | Rottnest Island, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 8 9372 9730
Website
Description:

Rottnest Island Visitor Centre is located in Thomson Bay near the main...

Rottnest Island Visitor Centre is located in Thomson Bay near the main jetty. Ask the helpful and friendly staff for maps and information about attractions, tours, bus services, bike hire and mooring rentals.

If you are staying in Rottnest Island Authority accommodation you can check in at the Visitor Centre from 2pm daily.

Please phone for opening hours and other helpful information.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 102.74*
and up
Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 298 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 144
    Excellent
  • 84
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Cycling round the island

Went with Rottnest express from Fremantle and hired bikes with them too. I was very naive about this trip and thought I'd manage fine. I am almost 40 and overweight and haven't... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
JulieGary
,
Perth
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Went with Rottnest express from Fremantle and hired bikes with them too. I was very naive about this trip and thought I'd manage fine. I am almost 40 and overweight and haven't excercised in many years and haven't riden a bike in 20+ years. The process of it all was easy, the first 20mins was easy, what I wasn't prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulieGary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Extremely helpful in the visitor centre, well worth a visit to find out about all the activities etc available on Rottnest!

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

While there's not much details to be found on the Internet about things to do in Rottnest Island, you don't need to worry. Everything you need to know about Rottnest is in one place, the Visitor Centre. Whether you're thinking of booking a tour or looking for a map of the island, they've got it all here.

Helpful?
Thank glowbernmonette
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Housed in an old building that is in keeping with the island's history, The Rottnest Island Visitor Centre is worth a visit. There's not a lot of space and you don't need much time to spend here, but at least you will walk away better informed and enlightened.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was informed that we needed to buy a bus ticket to get to the airport when in fact the bus going that way was free. Was offered a full refund for the tickets which was helpful.

Helpful?
Thank karlee g
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you had confusion with the bus offerings I am glad that you got your refund. The two main bus offerings are: 1. Island Explorer which does a full Island circumnavigation with 19 stops allowing you to hop on and off at any stop all day. 2. Accommodation Shuttle Bus is a free... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always very efficient, knowledgeable and with a smile on their face. Went above the call of duty to walk me to my unit, when the keys were not handed in on time by previous tenant, and unlocked it for me. Then they delivered the keys to me once received. Can also purchase unique artist artefacts from them as well.

Helpful?
Thank Cazoo64
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Rottnest Island Adam Morris Visitor Centre Manager More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All we needed was bus info and it was right there, displayed in front of our eyes! We used our credit card outside to buy our $20 bus tickets. Down the road we walked to catch the bus. There were quokka under the tree by the stop. We had a picnic on the table close to the stop then sat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Margaret Adam Morris Visitor Centre Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rottnest Island takes you back in time to when life was relaxed and simple. Along with more than lots of beaches, coral reefs harbouring tropical fish, and history-packed buildings

Helpful?
Thank annmariehugs
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rottnest definitely has something for everyone. Adam Morris Visitor Centre Manager More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to the island for a wedding - what a glorious place! The ferry ride was fun and it was great walking to the end of the jetty and finding all the information we needed. There was heaps of info about the island and things to do.The staff were very helpful. Our luggage was delivered to our villa giving... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmorgz
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Adam Morris Visitor Centre Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The island visitor centre provided information on a FREE Quokka walking tour that we took advantage of. Our guide provided additional information and spots to find them. I would recommend finding out about this and other free tours available.

Helpful?
1 Thank bas0921
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the volunteer guides are very knowledgeable and do offer some great free tours listed below. Quokka Walk - 45 Min walking tour departs daily from the meeting post at 2:15pm History of the Settlement - 1hr walking tour departs daily from the meeting post 2:00pm Reef, Wrecks and Daring Sailors - 1hr walking tour departs... More 

Travellers who viewed Rottnest Island Visitor Centre also viewed

Rottnest Island, Cockburn
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 

Been to Rottnest Island Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rottnest Island Visitor Centre and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rottnest Island Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?