We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Coastal Kayak
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
67
All photos (67)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good6%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“eco tour”(14 reviews)
“bald cypress”(13 reviews)
“trap pond”(8 reviews)
About
Coastal Kayak is the most experienced rental, tour and instructional business at the beach - since 1994. Coastal Kayak rents kayaks, Stand up paddle boards, and sailboats. They also offer guided kayak & Paddle board tours to all areas of Delmarva...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
36840 Coastal Hwy, Fenwick Island, DE 19944-4086
Website
+1 302-539-7999
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
150
11
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
150
11
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco tour bald cypress trap pond assawoman bay sunset tour great location great tour horseshoe crabs salt marsh knowledgeable staff wildlife including fun morning guide sarah saw lots of wildlife short stop beautiful sunset great group
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We scheduled an eco kayak trip recently. While the trip got cancelled because there were not enough participants, the team at Coastal Kayak communicated well in advance, and provided a quick refund. We are still interested in scheduling this trip with them, and highly recommend...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Beth N
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Beth, thanks so much for the nice review! Sorry we weren't able to get you out on a tour this time but looking forward to paddling with you in the future! Thanks again, MM

Reviewed 6 September 2018

I highly recommend Coastal Kayak. I took the Burton’s Island tour. Lots of fun. Only my 2nd time kayaking but felt very comfortable as the water was calm and our guide Jeff was great—very knowledgeable and personable. The group for the tour was small, which...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank anonymousD5705WK
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thanks for the nice review! I'm glad you had a good time. The Burton's Island tour always provides something different to see. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and I hope we get to see you back in the future! MM

Reviewed 6 September 2018

My husband and I recently did the sunset Kayak Tour in late August and I highly recommend it! It was a great way to "get into nature" amidst the buzz of the beach. Our guide, Maddie, was wonderful and a joy to be with -...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Abby W
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Abby, I'm glad you had a good time and were able to escape the craziness of the beach for a little while. Looking forward to seeing you back in the future! Thanks again! MM

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Tod was an awesome tour guide and helped us to see a ton of wildlife. My boyfriend and I went on the little assawoman back bay tour We saw... Several green herons 1 tricolor heron 2 or 3 blue herons Several osprey 2 or 3...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jamie R
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Jamie, I'm delighted that you had a nice tour. This time of year is especially nice on the water and you never know what you might see. Thanks for leaving such a nice review!! MM

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

My 12 year old daughter and I did the wildlife oriented paddle in late August. The group was small, and our guide Sarah was interesting and informative. We have done a competitor's tour, and preferred this one by a big margin-- more interesting place, better...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank DCSpartan
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi DCSpartan, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you had a good time! We are really lucky to have such good and dedicated guides and hopefully we will get to see you back in the future. Thanks again, MM

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We took a kayak trip with coastal kayak on our recent vacation to Delaware. We booked in advance and met the guides at the visitor center at Assateague island. Our group of 8 was paired with a group of 5. We rode in the van...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Michelle L
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks for the nice review Michelle! I'm glad you had a good time and hope we get to see you on another tour next year. Thanks again, MM

Reviewed 16 August 2018

My son, 9, and I had a great time on this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and spent time answering questions. The highlight of the trip was beaching on a sand bar so everyone had a chance to hold a horseshoe crab.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank robertashleyd
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks for the review Rob. Hopefully we will see you back in the future!

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This is the fourth year we have taken tours with Coastal Kayak. We have yet to be disappointed. We have always had a great time. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and funny at the same time. The tours are beautiful and informative. I would recommend...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JoAnna M
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks for the nice review JoAnna. I'm glad you had a great time and looking forward to seeing you next year! MM

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a place to kayak and someone suggested Coastal Kayak. We did go and they were great and very nice. I’d never been kayaking before and they explained everything. I cant wait to go back and do one of their kayaking tours....More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank judee c
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thanks for the nice review Judee! Glad you had a good time and hopefully we will get to see you on a tour in the future! MM

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Took the kayak tour to Assateague Island on a beautiful August morning. The tour was fantastic. The guides were knowledgeable and it was well run. We paddled for about 2 hours including a short stop to walk over the marsh. We saw a lot of...More

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank CTgirl66
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks for the nice review! I'm glad you had a fun tour and it's always fun to see the wild horses. Thanks again! MM

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Sands Motel
67 reviews
.79 km away
Seaside Inn
141 reviews
.96 km away
Treasure Beach RV Park and Campground
61 reviews
1.78 km away
Fenwick Islander Motel
215 reviews
1.82 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 38 nearby restaurants
Jimmy's Kitchen
268 reviews
1.02 km away
Just Hooked
540 reviews
.82 km away
Warren's Station
237 reviews
.89 km away
Mancini's Brick Oven Pizzeria & Restaurant
339 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 nearby attractions
Northside Park
685 reviews
4.61 km away
Fenwick Island State Park
174 reviews
4.02 km away
DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum
137 reviews
1.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lorried346
15 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
Sorry, just saw this but for future reference you do not need reservations for any of our rentals. We only take reservations for guided tours. With over 80 paddle boards and 150 kayaks we don't usually run out of anything... More
0
Votes
David G
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
Hi, we run the Assateague Back Bay Pony tour out of the National Park on the Maryland side. If you sign up for the tour you can meet us at the Visitor's Center, inside the park or ride with us from Fenwick Island. Thanks!
0
Votes
Leah S
29 May 2017|
Answer
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
HI, we do allow tour participants to use their own kayaks if they would like. The price for the tour is the same whether you use your kayaks or ours. We do have a wide variety of kayaks available such as touring kayaks... More
0
Votes