We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wild Center

Features Animals
45 Museum Dr, Tupper Lake, NY 12986-9712
+1 518-359-7800
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 17.00*
and up
Wild Center at Tupper Lake Admission
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wild Center is an 81-acre hands-on place to get all kinds of new perspectives on the wild world of the Adirondacks. It will include Wild Walk, a brand new trail across the treetops starting in the summer of 2015. The Wall Street Journal called The Wild Center "Glorious" in its review, and The New York Times called it "stunning". The Center has live animals, a wide screen theater, canoes, its own river, guides walks, tons of cutting-edge green building systems, and the only treetop walk in the Adirondacks.
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wild walk” (230 reviews)
“all ages” (83 reviews)
“indoor exhibits” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
LOCATION
45 Museum Dr, Tupper Lake, NY 12986-9712
CONTACT
Website
+1 518-359-7800
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Great place to explore! Awesome for kids and has tons of outdoor trails if you like to hike. Time flies by like crazy here and you always have the most amazing time!

Thank vasa4088
Stanzi B, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi vasa4088, Thanks for your wonderful review. We're so happy to hear you had such a great time exploring our campus during your visit. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Stanzi B.

Reviewed 1 week ago

So many places like this are great when they first open and decline as the years pass. Occasional face lifts do them some good but they are never as good as when they made their debut. Not so with The Wild Center. I have taken...More

Thank Tom Z
Stanzi B, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tom Z, Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. We are so happy to hear that you felt The Wild Center experience has remained consistent over the years, maintaining a level of excellence in connecting people with nature. We have truly strived...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up at The Wild Centre because Whiteface was closed due to the cold. We were so not disappointed. This is such an interesting and informative place for all ages. The staff are excellent and knowledgeable. My 8 year old was mesmerized by the...More

Thank triciacosgrove
Stanzi B, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi triciacosgrove, Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so happy you were able to make the most of a very chilly day last weekend with the visit to The Wild Center and that you and your family had such an enjoyable experience. We hope...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

We visited with our two granddaughters ages 8 & 12 and we all had a wonderful time. Much to see and do, so we did do the full 2 days, and the girls can not wait to return next summer. It was well worth the...More

Thank Maine04428
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Maine04428, Thanks for your wonderful review. We're so glad that you and your granddaughters had such a great time visiting our campus and we look forward to seeing you again next summer. Cheers, Stanzi B.

Reviewed 30 October 2017

If it wasn't raining we may have enjoyed it more. My teens were unimpressed with the wild walk, they probably would have enjoyed the hikes on the grounds if the weather was better. The indoor exhibits are nicely constructed & informative but again was more...More

Thank EMK260
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello EMK260, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candidness. We strive to offer an experience that is geared toward a variety of ages, so we were sorry to hear that your visit didn't meet your expectations in that regard. Our indoor exhibit hall...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

We had a friend who was there when it was first being built. He has been telling us about it for years. We finally traveled that way, and we are so glad we did. Everything there is amazing. The staff was so friendly and goes...More

Thank Jodi K
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Jodi K, Thanks for the great review. We're so happy that you took your friend's recommendation and decided to visit and, most importantly, that your first visit did not disappoint. We thank you for pointing out our various seasonal hours changes for other reviewers...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017

We enjoyed our visit and the beautiful scenery around it. Especially fun and educational for children.

Thank manylosiers
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi manylosiers, Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased to hear you had a great time visiting and we hope you'll come to see us again someday. Cheers, Stanzi B.

Reviewed 23 October 2017

We enjoyed our visit, but it would have been much more enjoyable had it not been fall season on a Sunday. It was just way too busy. But, the grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed the walk through the woods with the music, and the treetop...More

Thank Jennifer E
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Jennifer E, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience visiting The Wild Center. We are sorry to hear that your visit didn't meet your expectations on some levels, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience....More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

It was interesting--I learned some things. It had some nice walks outside, nice views, interactive exhibits. It was super busy on the days we visited--lots of kids first day and busload of seniors the second day--so it was a bit annoying at times. Maybe we...More

Thank peela
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi peela, Thanks for your taking the time to review your recent experience visiting The Wild Center. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time on our campus and hope you'll visit us again someday. Cheers, Stanzi B.

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This was a really great nature center, very interactive and it was gorgeous in the fall. We didn’t bring kids with us, but it is very kid friendly and active.More

Thank bettievenom
Stanzi M, Digital Content Fellow at The Wild Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi bettievenom, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Wild Center. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience on our campus and that you found it interactive. If there's anything we could have done to improve upon your visit,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Tupper Lake
Park Motel and Cabins
59 reviews
1.15 km away
Shaheen's Adirondack Inn
201 reviews
1.27 km away
Tupper Lake Motel
54 reviews
1.73 km away
Lakeview Motel
16 reviews
2.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Italy
193 reviews
2.35 km away
Well Dressed Food
131 reviews
2.46 km away
Raquette River Brewing
35 reviews
4.91 km away
Big Tupper Brewing
74 reviews
2.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Raquette River Brewing
45 reviews
4.92 km away
The Washboard Donut Shop & Laundromat
18 reviews
2.51 km away
Adirondack Public Observatory
16 reviews
4.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cathy S
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Daniel M | Reviewed this property |
We were there on a weekday - not crowded at all. I have no idea about a Saturday. The one place that was crowded was the cafeteria. If you plan to eat there, be sure to allow time. And, be sure to check the times of the... More
0
Votes
lonlawyer
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Stanzi B | Property representative |
Hello lonlawyer, As a representative of The Wild Center, I appreciate you taking the time to voice your opinion regarding the experience we offer to visitors of a variety of ages. However, I am sorry to hear that you find... More
1
Vote
Mary Jo B
29 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stanzi B | Property representative |
Thanks, Mary Jo. We look forward to seeing you. Don't hesitate to reach out if I can help to answer any questions before your visit.
0
Votes