We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenwood Vineyards

Robertsvlei Road | Robertsvlei Valley, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2044
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful

A beautiful vineyard just a little off the beaten track. The location is stunning, the wines are... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
GrahamL-S
,
Bath, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing lunch deal!

We booked lunch at Glenwood Vineyards and were not disappointed. The unique experience of a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tina S
,
Stockholm, Sweden
Read all 120 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
GlenWood is a very special place. Located in the little-known valley of Robertsvlei, a few kilometers from Franschhoek, close to Cape Town, the farm is surrounded by aspects of outstanding natural beauty. Using only the best materials and sustainable viticulturist practices, we have developed the farm over the past twenty seven years, winning numerous awards for our vineyards and our hand-crafted wines. Our credo, "simple, natural, quality", pervades our thinking across all parts of the business; simple, be it architecture, label design or the way we approach decisions; natural, be it the farming practices we use, the wine making process itself, or the replanting of indigenous fynbos throughout the farm; quality, be it of the grapes we produce, the wines we vinify, or the human relationships we foster on and off the farm.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dirt track” (4 reviews)
“rump steak” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
LOCATION
Robertsvlei Road | Robertsvlei Valley, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 876 2044
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful vineyard just a little off the beaten track. The location is stunning, the wines are very good. Service felt a little too focused on selling the wine, but I guess that’s the job. Down a gravel track and worth a visitMore

Thank GrahamL-S
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear GrahamL-S, Many thanks for your review of your visit to GlenWood which we very much appreciated. We are indeed lucky to have such a beautiful location even though there is a gravel road to be negotiated to reach us. The road does however have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked lunch at Glenwood Vineyards and were not disappointed. The unique experience of a combined wine and food tasting – you are served six miniature dishes, along with six glasses of paired wines – is wonderful and choosing which dish you'd like to have...More

Thank Tina S
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tina S, Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your lunchtime visit to GlenWood for the Fine Wine and Food Experience. We are all very pleased about the feedback we are receiving, similar to your, particularly the concept of the "live menu" which our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’m loathe to tell the world about this magic place, lest the secret gets out, but this is an incredible boutique winery that now offers an exceptional lunch experience that seems undiscovered. Glenwood has always made internationally acclaimed wines in relatively small quantities and the...More

Thank Nicholas S
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nicholas S, What a great review of everything we stand for at GlenWood - quality food and wines, natural beauty, personal service to small numbers of guests while being (slightly!) off the beaten track - thank you very much on behalf of our entire...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fanastic place with fantastic wines special the chardonnay We ended up buying 14 bottled 😄 Best grade you can getMore

Thank Torbjörn L
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Torbjorn L, Many thanks for very positive review of your visit to Glenwood and of our Chardonnay in particular. We are sure you will enjoy the bottles you purchased which will hopefully bring back memories of tasting our wines in a beautiful (and summery!)...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful secret spot if you want to avoid the tram crowds. The living lunch menu consists of a selection of bite-sized tastes of all the dishes on offer, each paired with its own delicious wine. After your tasting, you get to choose...More

Thank Nunca_Nunca
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nunca_Nunca, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your visit to GlenWood and of our Food and Wine Experience in particular. You have mentioned all the aspects of GlenWood which differentiate us as a destination (beauty, off the beaten track, quality food...More

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

After many previous visits to Glenwood, I took some upcountry friends for a meal and wine tasting at Glenwood, which turned out to be such a pleasant experience. The food, service and surroundings were difficult to beat. However the excellent wines in the Grand Duc...More

Thank Philipwes06
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Philipwes06, Many thanks for your enthusiastic review of your visit to GlenWood. We appreciated your visit and were particularly pleased that you mentioned all four key aspects of visits to GlenWood - wine, food, service and surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

My husband & I have been to your tasting room more than once & experienced a warm welcome, a short tour & a choice of where to have our tasting. So when a friend from out of town asked where we should go for a...More

Thank Mare1805
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Mare1805, We were very disappointed to receive the negative review describing your wine tasting experience at GlenWood. On behalf of us all, I would like to apologise - rest assured that we have taken your comments very seriously and instituted the necessary action. We...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Fabulous wine pairing experience with award winning wines and great food at lovely venue. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Anel S
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Anel S, Many thanks for the review of your visit to GlenWood. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the wines, the food and the beautiful location. Kind regards.

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We had an amazing lunch here this week. I'm always wary of places with such a good review because I expect to be disappointed, particularly as it isn't a cheap place to eat. But there wasn't a chance of being disappointed! It was amazing from...More

Thank Jenni F
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Jenni F, Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your lunch at GlenWood last week and I am very pleased that you found previous reviews to be credible and helpful. We are indeed somewhat out-of-the -way but hope that this adds to the sense...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Expecting to follow last years great experience to our surprise the food concept was changed. You get 6 dishes plus 6 wines to taste (see photo) and you select your main dish which is then served with another glass of wine. What an experience we...More

Thank Wolfgang55_13
AlastairWood, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Wolfgang55_13, Thank you for your return visit to Glenwood this year. We were delighted that you enjoyed our new format of the Tasting Palette with specially-created dishes to match our wines. I also especially appreciated your comment about the service, being attentive but not...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Franschhoek
Leeu Estates
105 reviews
2.09 km away
Mont Rochelle
612 reviews
2.53 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
846 reviews
2.77 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
515 reviews
3.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ryan's Kitchen
1,098 reviews
3.22 km away
The French Connection
1,543 reviews
3.49 km away
Allora
900 reviews
3.49 km away
Village Grill and Butcher
205 reviews
2.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Provence Estate
373 reviews
2.34 km away
Rickety Bridge Winery
242 reviews
2.10 km away
Mont Rochelle
119 reviews
2.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glenwood Vineyards staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit