We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Creek

200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
+1 973-827-2000
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fun Ski Day

Went here on New Year's Day with the kids and had fun. Mostly stayed on the bunny hill since they... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2017
perun99
,
Parsippany, New Jersey
Horrible New Policy

We have been going to Mountain Creek with our children for the past few years. We went this... read more

Reviewed 11 January 2017
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Read all 237 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Mountain Creek is a unique gateway to the mountain lifestyle for millions of local urban and suburban adventure seekers. It is the NY metro area’s closest ski resort, located 47 miles from the George Washington Bridge in Vernon, NJ. Mountain Creek offers over 167 acres of terrain on 4 mountain peaks with 100% night skiing and the region’s highest vertical. The resort also hosts the region’s only true All-Mountain Terrain Park at Mountain Creek South.
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“terrain park” (6 reviews)
“snow sports” (3 reviews)
“great skiing” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
CONTACT
Website
+1 973-827-2000
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 50 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017

Went here on New Year's Day with the kids and had fun. Mostly stayed on the bunny hill since they were still learning. The hill was very crowded so had to be on the lookout for errant skiers all day. The food from the lodge...More

Thank perun99
Jeff K, Owner at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Perun99, New Years day is a big holiday weekend and we were a little crowded. We have more terrain open now. I am sorry you did not like the food, as our kitchen staff is first class. Please come back and try again. If...More

A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We have been going to Mountain Creek with our children for the past few years. We went this weekend and learned that they have implemented a new policy which prohibits any drop off or pick up from the ski area. This is a horrible new...More

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gail S, Owner at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

There seems to be some confusion regarding the policy. We are providing complimentary transportation from cobblestone directly to red tail lodge adjacent to the ticket windows. Being a father myself, I know that less schlepping is better! Yes, one parent will have to park the...More

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel room was clean and spacious. Wish they would leave the pools open 24/7. 10 PM limit is kind of disappointing for $200 a night.

Thank Mike P
Gail S, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Mike, I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. The HOA requires the pool to close at 10 pm on weekdays and 11 pm on weekends. . I also like a late night swim. Jeff Koffman CEO

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Great day trip. My family is new to snow sports, but we were able to rent all the necessary equipment and we had an amazing time. The coaches were patient and with just an hour of instruction, my son and I were snowboarding. We will...More

Thank Craig B
Jeff K, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Craig, I am so glad that you and your family had a great time! Come back soon, we'll be glad to have you. Jeff Koffman CEO

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We have been skiing here for years. Showed up today and discovered they have canceled skier drop-off and pick up in lieu of $40 parking or pricey 'valet' service. How does a family of small children make this work? Kids cannot walk miles with gear...More

4  Thank karendnyc
Gail S, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Karen drop off is at Cobble stone. We have a complimentary shuttle from there to Red Tail Lodge adjacent to the ticket booth. Jeff Koffman CEO

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Went to Mountain Creek for a day ski trip on New Years Eve. The crowd wasn't bad, ski conditions were fairly decent and lines moved pretty fast. My overall experience with Mountain Creek was that its a good place to ski for the day and...More

Thank John G
Jeff K, Owner at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

John, thank you for the review. I hope you come back to see us. Jeff Koffman CEO

Reviewed 1 January 2017

I really WANT to love this place...I do! It's convenient for me and my family, great infrastructure, nice restaurants, etc. But every time I go I'm disappointed at the complete lack of competence of management. I have several examples but will focus on the most...More

5  Thank Worldtraveler42766
Gail S, Owner at Mountain Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Worldtraveler, First let me say you are an excellent writer and I loved your description of the anticipation of winter. I am profoundly sorry for the confusion on Hawks Nest. Our aim is to provide excellent customer service and we failed here. I was...More

Reviewed 28 December 2016

Poorly maintained, dirty slopes. Very unfriendly and backward thinking staff. They make it very clear that they really don't care if you whether you are SAFE or whether you have good time or not. As soon as they got your money, you no longer exist.

2  Thank Vadim S
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We just visited this hotel and would come back! The room was very nice and clean, the fireplace was a great addition too. The holiday decor was so nice and cozy when you walked in. The front desk couldn't have been any nicer and helpful....More

3  Thank clube40
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Awersome bike park. The jumps here are perfect and they have a great verity of trails. Great people and nice rooms at the hotel !

2  Thank mattbuck777
PreviousNext
13456721
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Vernon Hotels
Great Gorge Resort
5 reviews
.85 km away
Minerals Hotel
1,512 reviews
1.50 km away
Appalachian Motel
34 reviews
3.16 km away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
73 reviews
4.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pizza Pros
6 reviews
.23 km away
Wings Asian Fusion Bistro
52 reviews
1.47 km away
Dairy Queen
12 reviews
1.15 km away
Kites Restaurant
177 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mountain Creek Zip Tours
76 reviews
.00 km away
Mountain Creek Water Park
237 reviews
.06 km away
Legends Riding Stables
28 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cristiano C
28 November 2017|
Answer
Response from sbreezypoint | Reviewed this property |
mountain creek ok, I found the best was big boulder but that's in PA
0
Votes
KimberleyJJ
3 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gary K | Reviewed this property |
There is plenty of free parking and a bus to bring you to the hill. No idea regarding the waivers, but I think there is one on their website that you can download and sign in advance
1
Vote
PreviousNext
1234