We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Conway Scenic Railroad

38 Norcross Circle, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
+1 603-356-5251
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent experience!

My 14 year old son loves trains. He was allowed to ride in the cab with the engineer. He loved it... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ray G
,
Orange, Connecticut
via mobile
Go for the food lol

We took the 11:30 lunch cruise to Bartlett. The cruise was ok, not great scenery.The food however... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mittmott
,
NY
Read all 1,076 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Enjoy an old-fashioned railroading experience with all trains departing from an 1874 station in North Conway Village. Whether you choose one of the Valley Trains to Conway or Bartlett, or take the Notch Train through spectacular Crawford Notch, this is a journey back in time the whole family will enjoy. Valley Train Season: mid-April through December. Notch Train Season: late June through mid-October. Coach, First Class, and Dining Car options are available on all routes. Chilren under 4 ride free in Coach on the Valley Trains. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome.
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“dining car” (111 reviews)
“first class” (163 reviews)
“train ride” (213 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 18:00
LOCATION
38 Norcross Circle, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
CONTACT
Website
+1 603-356-5251
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My 14 year old son loves trains. He was allowed to ride in the cab with the engineer. He loved it. This was the highlight of his trip. My son was treated great and we were impressed and would recommend the Conway Scenic Railway!!

Thank Ray G
Reviewed 2 days ago

We took the 11:30 lunch cruise to Bartlett. The cruise was ok, not great scenery.The food however, and the service was wonderful. I would return, just for the food.

Thank mittmott
Reviewed 2 days ago

Fun for all ages, ride an authentic train of yesteryear. Different length trips available, as well as a lunch and a dinner train.

Thank Linda m
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went on the 1 1/2 hour lunch trip on the Village train to Bartlett. The food was delicious and the service with a smile from Kristy was very nice. The train was authentic atmosphere. All of which is why I rate it as high....More

Thank debbiekkelly
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We took a short trip on the railway about an hour and 22 minutes we pain to upgrade to the dining car. The food wasn't great and you couldn't take pictures out the windows because they had screens. The route we went was all wooded...More

Thank Robyn1020
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kinda long, but I'm trying to provide what their website doesn't tell you... Booked first class with dining at 11:30 for a party of 5. Train wasn't too booked so we got 8 seats across the isle for us to spread out in. Just after...More

2  Thank Renee S
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Wow, Renee, thank you so much for this review! We really appreciate your taking the time to write in so much detail. I'm very glad that you and your family so thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you'll come back for a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our two young kids (ages 1.5 and 3) during a cooler and rainy day on our vacation. Did the 55 minute ride to Conway. Left a bit late due to some technical issues but the conductors were very nice informing us of everything...More

Thank Matt B
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to post this review, Matt, and for letting us know about the speakers in the dining car. We just spent several thousands of dollars this spring to upgrade the sound system, and it works fine when left alone. We need...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the grandchildren on this excursion. 2 & 5. They got bored very easily, not much to see. I think it was very overpriced for no more than you saw. Certainly not a place I'd choose again, rather disappointed.More

Thank Tracey G
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry that this reviewer was disappointed with her visit here with the grandchildren. All of our trains are described as round-trip, so I'm not sure what she was expecting? Without knowing which excursion this family took, I can't comment on the children being bored....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice ride - not a lot to see during the summer in regards to foliage and not narrated at all but a nice ride nonetheless.More

Thank pancan1
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate this person taking the time to post. I'm glad that the overall experience was a nice one, but I've written to him/her, asking what train was taken and when, because all of our excursions are narrated. I'm not aware of any recent issues...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to do the cog railway up mount Washington but the weather was overcast So we opted for the Conway scenic railroad ride - short Excursion Our son Aiden loved it and was perfect activity to do with him Easy to buy tickets at...More

Thank JPatLad70
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and for your comments about our friendly staff. We're really glad that Aiden loved his ride on the Conway Scenic Railroad! Susan Logan Marketing Manager CSRR

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Flatbread Company
1,082 reviews
.24 km away
The Stairway Cafe
421 reviews
.14 km away
Metropolitan Coffee House
143 reviews
.09 km away
Chef's Bistro
365 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cranmore Mountain Resort
639 reviews
1.53 km away
Kahuna Laguna
345 reviews
1.37 km away
MWV Children's Museum
73 reviews
.80 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DeeEss
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 16 answers
Response from ConwayScenicRR | Property representative |
The Lower Dome has fewer seats (24) than the CP Reed (68), but both have comfortable, upholstered seats. As indicated in several earlier posts, the CP Reed has higher seats with head supports. Box lunches may be ordered no... More
1
Vote
Kathy H
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ConwayScenicRR | Property representative |
We would agree with the above responses in that the Notch Train is too long for small children. The most popular route for young families is our 55-minute Conway route. While it does offer some nice, distant mountain... More
0
Votes
cruisingdebbi
29 June 2017|
Answer
Response from ConwayScenicRR | Property representative |
The Notch Train, definitely. It goes up into the mountains.
1
Vote