We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 296 Marsh Hill Rd, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
+1 301-859-3159
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 234 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 95
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Snow tubing!

Great experience! We took a group of about 30 students (college) here for a snow tubing evening, and the entire experience was wonderful. They have ample amounts of parking, lots... read more

Reviewed 2 March 2017
Rest-and-Romance
,
Morgantown, West Virginia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I planned a spring trip to visit Wisp, after many many good experiences as a child. I wanted my Niece to experience the great times similarly in her youth. Upon checking into our room, the window heater was extremely loud and rumbling. I called the front desk, 3X... no answer. Then called the 800 # where I was at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg W
Wisp_Resort, Manager at Wisp Resort, responded to this review

Dear Greg W, Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Wisp. We appreciate your comments. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the heater in your room as well as the rain deterring your plan to enjoy your second day of skiing. We... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We are not skiers, and we do not particularly care for the cold weather (and all that it brings). With that being said, we were more than a little anxious about visiting this ski resort. We were reassured that our inexperience wouldn't prevent us from having fun. I'm happy to report, that was indeed true. We had a ball!! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank moniquettaylor
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We went to Wisp for Presidents Day Weekend and although the weather was warm, we made the best of this unusual spring skiing during a winter month. My first gripe is the price - way overpriced for multi-day passes for those staying at the resort. There should be a bit of a discount if you buy more than one day... More 

Helpful?
Thank seano21401
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Sadly, Wisp's management has been performing poorly for several years. I have been a season pass holder for skiing for nearly ten years and spent much time at the hotel. This year, Wisp failed to blow snow in sufficient amounts, making it close before every other resort, even those in Pennsylvania with lower altitudes and less favorable weather. Warm winters... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheB20850
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Great experience! We took a group of about 30 students (college) here for a snow tubing evening, and the entire experience was wonderful. They have ample amounts of parking, lots of bathrooms, and their staff is helpful and it's not difficult to find someone if you need assistance. I wish they had some more signs posted on where to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rest-and-Romance
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We have been to this resort twice now this year, first in Jan 2017 when I was over charged for lift tickets and rentals (which I took as a mistake) and spent 30+ mins attempting to get the overcharge returned. On the 2nd trip in Feb 2017, I knew exactly how much the tickets and rentals would cost and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank diane y
Wisp_Resort, Manager at Wisp Resort, responded to this review

Diane, Thank you for your review of Wisp Resort. As we had previously discussed, neither our hours of operation or ticket prices changed during your visit. Both have been available and posted on our website as well as in our brochure since before the arrival of ski season. They can also be found on our daily mountain report that is... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Went snow tubing MLK weekend. Premium day, so I expected it to be very busy and it was! We had a blast. Had a two hour pass for tubing and then rode the mountain coaster. Notes: Even if you make reservations, you have to go to the large white tent to get your tickets and stand in line with everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snidsl
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I highly recommend finding somewhere better because this was the worst customer service experience I've ever had. I paid for 2 days of lift tickets and equipment rental since I didn't want to waste time in line on the second day. However I came close to getting severely injured on the first day and returned my equipment within an hour.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

If you're coming from D.C. Drive the extra hour for the best resort by far! Great runs, lots of natural snow, and not as crowded

Helpful?
1 Thank MBKanner
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Pros: awesome parking, ticket lines quick, night skiing was fantastic and not crowded. Cons: overpriced lift tickets for "premium" weekend with average skiing. When all runs are NOT open, you have no business charging "premium rates!" Also, there was only one legitimate black diamond (The Face).

Helpful?
2 Thank April A

Travellers who viewed Wisp Resort also viewed

Accident, Garrett County
 

Been to Wisp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wisp Resort and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wisp Resort staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?