We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dundonald Castle

Open Now: 9:30 am - 5:30 pm
Open today: 9:30 am - 5:30 pm
Review Highlights
Mrs Claus Christmas event

Had a lovely afternoon visiting Mrs Claus with my 8 year old son and 2 young nieces.....certainly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
stuartgeorg
via mobile
Mrs Claus event at Dundonald Castle

Brought my grandson to Dundonald Castle event on Saturday. He met Mrs Claus in her grotto with a... read more

Reviewed 18 December 2018
MerelyP
,
Scotland
Read all 196 reviews
417
All photos (417)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
Built in 1371, Dundonald Castle is a splendid example of a medieval tower house, with a fine barrel-vaulted ceiling in the lower hall. Sitting on a prominent hilltop in Dundonald village, Dundonald Castle commands fine views over the Firth of Clyde...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:30 am - 5:30 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Winehouse Yett, Dundonald KA2 9HD, Scotland
Website
+44 1563 851489
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
137
43
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
137
43
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep climb historic scotland well worth a visit tour guide spiral staircase exhibition area scottish history coffee shop visitor centre cafe cakes a small car park mrs claus ticket office an excellent guide fantastic trip spent ages quick visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon visiting Mrs Claus with my 8 year old son and 2 young nieces.....certainly not the typical Santa and elves experience but well worth a visit. On arrival at the castle a lovely lady spent ages making tree decorations with them and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank stuartgeorg
Reviewed 18 December 2018

Brought my grandson to Dundonald Castle event on Saturday. He met Mrs Claus in her grotto with a fabulous Christmas tree, twinkly lamp, glowing brazier, furry rugs and sack full of toys. He was enchanted when he entered the enclosed space and met Mrs Claus...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MerelyP
DundonaldCastle, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi MerelyP, Thank you for lovely review, we're glad you and your grandson had a lovely day at our event and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Lauren

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Terrible event not organised at all. Theevent was not worth the hike up the hill and the "grotto" was an old sheet wrapped round a pole. One dissapointed 5 year old .More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Nicola A
DundonaldCastle, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Nicola, Again we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the event. However, we have addressed this with yourself via email and again ask that if you have any further issues with this please contact us via 01563 851489. As mentioned...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

A good Castle ruins made excellent by the tour we received from Colin, local volunteer. The history of the site, including the forts occupying the land before Dundonald Castle, was brilliant.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank 868baldwinf
DundonaldCastle, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi 868baldwinf, Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a great visit and will pass you comments on to Colin. Best Wishes, Lauren

Reviewed 29 November 2018

I call in regularly when I am in the area. Dundonald Castle is an a amazing historic building and the café serves great food. What more could you ask for a day out.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Iain W
DundonaldCastle, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Iain, Thank you for your great review! We're glad that you like to visit us here and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Lauren

Reviewed 29 October 2018

We came here totally at the recommendation of a staff member we met at our Troon B&B, whose husband works at Dundonald. We were about the only ones here on a very windy, cold, blustery Monday. Perfect to visualize what it must have been like...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank pasowine
LaurenW3118, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi pasowine, we're glad you had such an enjoyable visit and we will pass along your lovely comments to our staff and volunteers. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Lauren

Reviewed 19 October 2018

The visitors centre is small but very good. An excellent wee cafe and a good exhibition. The toilets are very nicely done. The climb up to castle is steep but the pathway is very good with a surface that grips so no slipping. The castle...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Charles J
LaurenW3118, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Charles, thank you for your lovely review and kind comments! We're glad you had such a great visit and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lauren.

Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

A wonderful little castle with a lot of history. A big surprise is that a lot is still intact to say how old it is. There is quite a surprise up the spiral staircase & the vaulted ceiling is magnificent. Be aware it only has...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank K8478KTtims
LaurenW3118, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Tim, thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lauren.

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for history and beauty, this is the place to come! Our guide, David, took us all over the castle and answered all of our questions plus filled us in on many, many details about the Stewart family. It was more than...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank LindaBgood
LaurenW3118, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Linda. thank you for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your comments on to David! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Lauren.

Reviewed 10 October 2018

We were so fortunate Colin took us on an extensive history lesson, then an informative tour of the old castle. His knowledge was vast and comprehensive, keeping us entertained for 2-3 hours. The cost of the whole morning was minimal and added to our knowledge...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank kbower2016
LaurenW3118, Public Relations Manager at Dundonald Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi kbower, thank you for your lovely review! We're glad you had such an enjoyable experience and will pass your comments along to Colin. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Lauren.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Old Loans Inn
585 reviews
3.45 km away
Kidron House Hotel
327 reviews
3.91 km away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
541 reviews
4.20 km away
Premier Inn Kilmarnock Hotel
432 reviews
4.90 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 4 nearby restaurants
The Auchans
126 reviews
.32 km away
Langholm Tearoom
90 reviews
2.57 km away
Old Loans Inn
408 reviews
3.46 km away
Chefs World Buffet
243 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Troon Beach
317 reviews
5.99 km away
Fullarton Fairy Trail
38 reviews
4.99 km away
Kilmarnock Barassie Golf Club
23 reviews
3.85 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LindaBgood
16 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FionaAnneM | Reviewed this property |
Yeah there aren't many options nearby. Possibly check out in Ayr? I managed to get vegan ice cream from there the other day, the ice cream shop right in the town centre, Renaldo's.
1
Vote
LindaBgood
16 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JWellingtonWimpy | Reviewed this property |
There are no vegan restaurants nearby or in the local area. There's Chef's World Buffet in the village so it might be worth checking if they offer any vegan options although I've been there and as a vegetarian there were... More
0
Votes