We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Joseph Peninsula State Park

8899 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4014
+1 850-227-1327
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nice, but hate how so much is off limits unless you're camping there

We did the full nature trail loop & checked out one of the beach access points, & were disappointed... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
saibot
,
Huntersville, North Carolina
Great place to spend the day!

Pack a picnic lunch, a blanket, an umbrella and plenty of drinks! It’s a nice place to set up for... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
KimberlyR734
,
Clayton, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 667 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
One of the top beaches in 1995.
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“shady pines” (33 reviews)
“state park” (89 reviews)
“gulf breeze” (25 reviews)
LOCATION
8899 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4014
CONTACT
Website
+1 850-227-1327
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shady pines"
in 33 reviews
"state park"
in 89 reviews
"gulf breeze"
in 25 reviews
"nature trail"
in 19 reviews
"camping area"
in 11 reviews
"gulf side"
in 27 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 39 reviews
"bath house"
in 8 reviews
"sand dunes"
in 27 reviews
"fire ring"
in 8 reviews
"beach access"
in 18 reviews
"fish"
in 48 reviews
"sea urchins"
in 19 reviews
"saw deer"
in 8 reviews
"hermit crabs"
in 17 reviews
"camp ground"
in 7 reviews
"primitive camping"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did the full nature trail loop & checked out one of the beach access points, & were disappointed in not seeing anything more interesting than lizards & birds. So much of the park seems to be for campers or people with permits only. It...More

1  Thank saibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pack a picnic lunch, a blanket, an umbrella and plenty of drinks! It’s a nice place to set up for the day to swim, snorkel, walk and enjoy the day. It’s extremely hot during May/June but this time of year is nice and breezy! We...More

1  Thank KimberlyR734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The beaches in the park are much more accessible for those with mobility problems. Shells were everywhere, beautiful shells, not just ordinary ones.

Thank jobrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a favorite camping park for us. There are two camping area: one is called Shady Pines the other is Gulf Breeze. Gulf Breeze has fewer trees and is our favorite altho' both are very pleasant with adequate room between sites and an easy...More

Thank LNVTug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove this park to see what it is like. There are two campgrounds - one sandy near the beach. The other is in a more wooded area. Their is a picnic area for day visitors. Looks like it would be a nice place to...More

Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed a break from the beach and wanted to do a little hiking. This park was perfect for our family, kids 9 & 7. We go there mid morning and took the Scenic Trail hike - 1.8 miles. It allowed us to take our...More

Thank JacketFan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quiet beach and there are not many people. Trails to enjoy...fun way to spend your day and enjoy nature.

Thank Dakotagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be sure to take advantage of the Nature Trail while visiting, as it offers a lovely vista of the peninsula..

Thank bathtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is beautiful. The beaches are white sand and there are no buildings in site for miles. We were there over spring break and at most there were 10 other people on the entire beach any of the beaches we hit in the park....More

Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We camped here for 3 nights in February. We were in the Shady Pines campground, site 73. This is a good site, private and backs up to the woods. The only problem is the park decided to burn off underbrush and the fire got away...More

1  Thank biztravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites
287 reviews
11.14 km away
Port Inn
295 reviews
11.17 km away
Dixie Belle Motel
105 reviews
12.60 km away
Buena Vista Motel
67 reviews
14.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Weber's Little Donut Shop
209 reviews
5.58 km away
Cone Heads
328 reviews
.82 km away
PEACHY'S BEACH EATS
20 reviews
5.64 km away
Cape Tradin' Post
76 reviews
5.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Broke A Toe Horseback Riding on the Beach
77 reviews
10.96 km away
Cape San Blas
569 reviews
10.08 km away
Scallop RePUBlic
27 reviews
10.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynn A. S
15 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jesse A | Reviewed this property |
It’s really hit and miss on that one. We went in late January and got there in 24 degrees weather. It was so cold and we didn’t expect it. I mean, this is Florida, right? Generally it is much warmer there when the rest of... More
1
Vote
mitchellbrandon
30 January 2018|
Answer
Response from leahkashouty | Reviewed this property |
We had site 40 GF. If you don’t mind seeing your neighbors and being close to the restroom then maybe this would be ok for you. You can’t see the ocean from the site but can hear the waves if your neighbors are quiet.
1
Vote
Kristi T
24 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sydney H |
I have been to the campground but not stayed there. I think you would see more traffic in those spots than sites farther back. Also, you may not get much sea breeze as I think the dunes / bluff will block it. Still a nice... More
1
Vote