We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number: +1 305-820-8088
Website
Description:

The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located...

The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located in the serene town of Miami Lakes. Sprawling over 500 tree shaded acres, players of all skill levels will be challenged by 18 holes, Par 72 championship course.

  Known as one of Miami's best Championship Golf Courses, The Senator Course is unlike the typical hotel golf course. Originally designed of Bill Watts in 1962 and later updated in 1998 by nationally recognized Golf Course Architect Kipp Schulties, is the perfect destination for great golf.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
A tale of two course

The first 9 holes were fine, but the back 9 were a disaster. They are mostly low-lying holes, so the fairways were flooded and swampy, with almost every hole a "cart path only... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 September 2016
goodm597
,
Miami, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my wife and i play here once every few weeks & we generally have had great experiences (other than rainy days!), this past Saturday was a very bad experience. we had a rain check (from another weekend day where we didnt play a single hole), and we were charged double. no where ever have i had to pay when i... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim V
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Tim V, I'm sorry to hear that you did enjoy your experience from Saturday, November 12th. We issue rain checks based on the amount paid by the player and by the number of holes played. For example, if one pays $40 for a round of golf and plays 5-12 holes before getting rained out, we offer a 9 hole rain... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

The first 9 holes were fine, but the back 9 were a disaster. They are mostly low-lying holes, so the fairways were flooded and swampy, with almost every hole a "cart path only" offering. Also, the cart paths on the back 9 were not well maintained, with bumps, holes and unpaved surface. I almost fell out of the cart because... More 

Helpful?
Thank goodm597
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Goodm597, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. I apologize that the back 9 wasn't presented as well as the front 9. The back 9 has held up through most of the summer rains. We received close to 5 inches from Tropical Storm Hermine late August and 7 inches during the first week of September leaving us... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Played here in July. The course was a total disappointment. The staff in the pro shop was so rude and dismissive. Acted as if we were doing him a favor to be there or maybe we woke him up as he was just sitting back in a chair! Once on the course the fairways looked as they had not been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank golfsouthfl
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Golfsouthfl, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience. We received just over 3 inches of rain the week you played. Unfortunately, we had to operate with the back 9 at cart paths only. We have installed new drainage this year which has helped out... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016

We enjoyed the game in this course very much, best service ever and we are looking forward playing on thursday again. Thank you very much for your help.

Helpful?
Thank miguel1957
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Miguel1957, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience while playing at Shula's Golf Club. We look forward to serving you in the near future. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We went to the spa and the gym ,they have every thing that you Need ,they anticipated to everything For that reason we recommend to all our friends, that visit to Shula's Golf. Thank you to all of the employee

Helpful?
Thank Tomasita S
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016

Came into town for work and came through for a round. Great course, challenging but fun! Well maintained, good pace and friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Curtis C
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Curtis C, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We hope that you stop by the next time you are in town. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2016

The course was in great condition. The driving range is not the best I have ever seen and I could see it being an issue on a crowded day but the course itself was in great shape. The greens were very true. The staff were helpful, meeting me at my car to pick up clubs and in general were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Brian S, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience at Shula's Golf Club. I am especially pleased to hear that the staff treated you with great service. We are hoping to make make some improvemnts on the driving range this summer. Our greens have been in excellent shape all Spring.... More 

Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2016

We played this course after playing PGA National and honestly felt that the greens were in better shape here. The staff was pleasant and a pleasure to do business with. Hats off to Daniel (starter) and Jason. You will not find a better course in South Florida to play. Bring you guest from out of town for truly enjoyable experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank rglover324
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear rglover324, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while playing at Shula's. We are every fortunate to have great staff members like Daniel and Jason. The golf course has been in great shape this spring. We hope to see you back very soon. Sincerely, Shula's Golf... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2016

I have never had as terrible an experience at a golf course as I had yesterday. We have never had a problem at any course, having played all around the country over the years. However, the snide remarks from the starter at this course, made in front of a group of people, so mortified us that we stopped playing midway... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mendy Z
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Mendy Z, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at Shula's Golf Club. I would like to know more about your situation. We want all of our guests to enjoy their experience while at Shula's Golf Club. Please contact me directly to discuss. I look forward to speaking with you. 305-820-8170. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2016

The driving range is adequate. It's hilarious that you are driving on top of an electric line. It's cheap enough to drive some balls and enjoy your company. Full sun exposure so dress prepared.

Helpful?
Thank Tyanne C
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Tyanne C, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. FPL's easement has transmission lines that run through our driving range. The range will now be open later with the time change. The next time you visit Shula's we encourage you to try the Senator Course. The course is in great shape right now. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Travellers who viewed Shula's Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shula's Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shula's Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?