We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West City Marina, Key West, FL 33040-3675
Phone Number:
+1 305-293-8565
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Great Key West experience!

My wife and I recently fished with Captain Rich and First Mate Mike for a day and a half and it greatly exceeded our expectations. We caught a sailfish, which was the experience... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 January 2017
LeadFoot2014

Similar Things to Do in Key West

Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

My wife and I recently fished with Captain Rich and First Mate Mike for a day and a half and it greatly exceeded our expectations. We caught a sailfish, which was the experience of a lifetime, cero mackerel, mutton snapper, barracuda, yellow jack, yellowtail snapper, and horse eye jack - and these are the ones that I can remember! These... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LeadFoot2014
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This was my first time fishing in Key West and I had a great time with my family! Captain Rich and first mate Mike were always extremely helpful and made it very easy to enjoy! We caught plenty of fish to eat!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney D
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

A full day fishing charter on the Southbound is the way to go! Our annual trip to Key West always includes at least one trip with Captain Rich and crew. We have enjoyed 1/2 and 3/4 day trips with fishing success over the years but nothing beats the full day experience. Captain Rich starts by fueling the boat and proclaiming... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Boch61
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

A great fun crew excellent fishing boat,this is a working fishing boat,excellent captain,great mate. In the twenty plus years I/we have been fishing in KeyWest,withRich we have caught everything imaginable except Marlin. The capt knows the key west water and works constantly to optimize the fishing experience. A talk with Rich also reveals any changes locally,restaurants,stores,politics,and local color are easily... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Onooknowwalter
Key West
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

My entire family have fished on Southbound with Captain Rich several times over the years and always had an amazing time. They go out of their way to help you learn the ropes if your inexperienced and will filet your fish and let you know about some of the best restaurants that will allow you to bring in your catch... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

We've been coming to Key West on an annual basis most of the years since the early 1990s..We started out trying several of the established charter boats and found most to be reasonable and acceptable. One charter stood out above the others and that was the Southbound/Capt. Rich Houde. Our goal was and is simply to have a good outing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank votertwo
New york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

Grumpy first mate ben .Here is a guy who will suck the fun out of your fishing experience . Yelling at my friend how he should know better how to reel a fish Then talking down to my girlfriend . I had to tell the captain to talk to his miserble mate Ben Because he is the type of guy... More 

Helpful?
Thank djrek
CaptainRichHoude, Owner at Southbound Charters, responded to this review

First , I apologize if you didn't enjoy your day. In the 9 years that Ben and I have worked together, we've probably run close to 2,000 trips. This is the first complaint regarding Ben I've had. Everybody appreciated his instructions and enjoyed his sense of humor. I'm sorry your experience was less positive than it should have been, I... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Thee guys really took care of me and my wife. We chartered a half day and it was great. I really appreciate the way the first mate John helped my wife all day with everything she needed. We landed several fish and could not be happier. Worth every dollar. John cut up the fish and we took it to a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis D
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

Spent $700, a half-day on the water, and we came back with the smallest Bonita tuna I've ever caught and a lot of regret. Worst charter experience I've ever had. They were just trying to save gas and only went out a few miles on the reefs where it's been over-fished for years. They even mocked the idea of trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichieRich754
CaptRichHoude, Owner at Southbound Charters, responded to this review

I'm sorry your day on the water was disappointing. In my 25 yrs in business, I've run over 6,000 fishing trips and as anyone who does this for a living will tell you, every once in a while, we have a slow day. On a half day, because of the short time frame, I usually try to fish close to... More 

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016

Chartered the Southbound with my grandson for a birthday present to him. He is 12 and a week before we were to go he broke his arm. I called Captain Rich and He rescheduled for July at our request. We spent today onboard and had a great day fishing. Both Capt Rich and Mate John were excellent in every way.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorrit K

Travellers who viewed Southbound Charters also viewed

 

Been to Southbound Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Southbound Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?