We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balearia Caribbean

1800 SE 18th St, Port Everglades, Terminal 1, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2988
+1 866-699-6988
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 115.00*
and up
Grand Bahama Round-Trip Ferry Ride from Fort Lauderdale
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Balearia Caribbean offers Scheduled ferry crossings between Fort Lauderdale FL, and Grand Bahama Island onboard our ship; “Jaume I” with a capacity of 600 passengers divided into two classes; economy premium and ecomomy. Jaume I sails from Fort Lauderdale at 8:00 am and arrives at Grand Bahama Island at 11:00 am (weather permitting), It then sails from Grand Bahama Island at 6:00 pm, and arrives back to Fort Lauderdale at 9:30 pm With such a convenient schedule, Balearia Caribbean gives the traveler the opportunity to spend 6 hours in the island on a one day trip, a quick weekend getaway when limited by time, or a grand vacation when staying at one of the many resorts in Grand Bahama Island. Balearia Caribbean is proud to be the lowest priced and “funnest” way to travel to the Bahamas
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good19%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible42%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 22:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1800 SE 18th St, Port Everglades, Terminal 1, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2988
CONTACT
Website
+1 866-699-6988
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

They sent confirmation email stating that check-in starts 120 minutes prior to departure (6am), we arrived 7.20am and the door were shut with other people waiting outside!! Only on the door it said that they shut at 7am. After contacting support they sent confirmation email...More

Thank mckmcr
baleariaferry, Customer Service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We have our itinerary posted on all confirmations, tickets, and our website. It states all passengers will have to be at the port at 6 am to 630 am. The terminal doors lock at 7 am and the vessel...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week. The ferry ride itself is perfect for getting to freeport. Cost less than a plane and for the most part is less hassle than a plane. The one problem we had was when looking to book the ferry it came...More

Thank Allen S
baleariaferry, Customer Service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving your commentary on your awesome trip to Grand Bahama. I am sorry to hear the agency didn't assist you properly. Whenever you are ready to travel to Bahamas again, we can be contacted directly through phone or email and the agent...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The ferry was great. Let me start from the beginning! The terminal is just like a cruise ship terminal. We were told to arrive there No later than 6:00 am. The ferry departs at 8:00 am, We were told they would close the doors at...More

Thank 878tammieg
baleariaferry, Customer Service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for using our company to travel to Grand Bahama. We deeply appreciate this wonderful review. Please understand our ferry services has to have a certain time all passengers have to arrive at the terminal. Your trip sound simply amazing and we hope to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great way to travel to Freeport, its quick you dont necessarily have to book in advance. Seats are comfortable, easier than going through the airport.

Thank cblake31
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your feedback is amazing! Thank you for using our service to accommodate your needs. I definitely agree with you, it seem ways easier and stress free. See you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went on Monday and came back exhausted, wishing we had taken more notice of Trip advisor. We were picked up in Miami at 5.00 then taken to Fort Lauderdale by another bus, having various stops. We were told to go into the building but...More

1  Thank PeanutWellington
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate the time used to describe your travels with our vessel. We apologize for the confusion in the terminal but please be advised that all of our lines has labels indicating the services. The island did have a hurricane that passed by a year...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled "premium economy" on both legs of my adventure. Check in was great. I had an error on my boarding pass but it was fixed and reissued. The workers were nice and security was attentive. First to board. Loved the ferry. Waitress was attentive....More

Thank 9W21
baleariaferry, Customer Service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for telling us about your fantastic day and leaving your feedback. A day trip is one of the best ways to have a quick and needed escape. I usually take advantage of our day excursions the vessel offers. It helps your day go...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was scheduled to take the day trip but encountered a problem with my documentation right at checkin. Needless to say I was declined entry and therefore wasted my money. This was supposed to be a birthday cruise with my out of town friends so...More

Thank DeniseJ107
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for writing your feedback on your previous experience. Our deepest apologize if you wasn't able to enjoy the product you purchased. Please keep in mind, we have to be fair to all passengers and abide to the rules to all that uses our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I see quite a few complaints here but the reality it that this is just a shuttle boat to do a puddle hop. Our expectations were low so we were not too disappointed. The passport and boarding process was a bit long but it was...More

1  Thank afootandahalf
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving your personal feedback on the trip you took with our transportation line. It takes longer load the vessel in the U.S. because we have to wait for a clearance from CBP and we apologize for that but different type of vessel...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took this ferry to get to Freeport, Bahamas for a day trip from Ft. Lauderdale. The parking deck area was a little confusing, but we were able to get parked and made it in plenty of time for our ferry ride. You should arrive...More

1  Thank The4travelersnc
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your wonderful commentary definitely pushes us to become a better service provider. We appreciate the detail and the promotion your are supplying to help aware future travelers have a great time like you. We hope to see you for your next venture and please keep...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

I booked a trip two months prior to travel date. I reserved flight to Florida, hotels in FL and Bahamas. When I arrived to port, there was nobody, they cancelled the trip and postponed for next day, I was not notified, not by cell, not...More

3  Thank Marat S
baleariaferry, Customer service at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for explaining your experience with our service and we apologize if you wasn't able to fully enjoy your trip or if you felt inconvenience by the changes. We cancelled some days due to upgrades on the vessel but when we canceled the dates,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Laspada's Hoagies
888 reviews
.78 km away
Market 17
613 reviews
.34 km away
Pelican Landing Restaurant
754 reviews
.35 km away
Boatyard Restaurant
472 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Port Everglades
662 reviews
.75 km away
Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center
115 reviews
.26 km away
15th Street Fisheries
220 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scubaOhio
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from GypsyatHeart1201 | Reviewed this property |
No. As with all International flights/cruises you cannot transport alcohol If you do, be prepared to pay a hefty fine upon arrival. All alcohol can be purchased thru the duty free shops and claimed upon arrival on your... More
0
Votes
MulZak
18 April 2017|
Answer
Response from sheenasmom | Reviewed this property |
Paradise Cove would be your best bet. They have a beach bar restaurant, and rent snorkel gear and kayaks. They also have outdoor showers so you can rinse the salt off before returning. You are allowed to bring a cooler on... More
0
Votes
MulZak
18 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mizbombshell | Reviewed this property |
Oh and as for excursions, you will miss out if you try to do an excursion on the same day. Plan to go overnight so you can participate without stressing yourself out.
1
Vote