We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Kampung Telibong, Batu 21, Jalan Telibong, Tamparuli 89250, Malaysia
Phone Number: +60 88 260 263
Website
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Rumah Terbalik, the first upside down house of Malaysia is located in...

Rumah Terbalik, the first upside down house of Malaysia is located in Kampung Telibong, Mile 21, Jalan Telibong, Tamparuli, Sabah, Malaysia. Nestled within the compound of Rumah Terbalik, there is also a souvenir shop (i.e. Tamu) well stocked with handicrafts and souvenirs made in Sabah as well as a Café (i.e. Kedai Kopi) serving brewed local coffee. Using recycled wood and materials specifically to create a more local atmosphere, Rumah Tebalik has an area of 1,500 square feet and equiped with a living room, a dining area, a equipped kitchen, veranda, two bedrooms and a toilet. This fully furnished house is constructed with a slight tilt, and with everything fitted upside down inside the house, it certainly challenges the viewers' perspective when within. The kampong house signifies our past and heritage. Upside down is another perspective of seeing something. It's meant to be a fun way of looking at ourselves and life. Rumah Terbalik will work towards establishing itself as a new and unique tourist destination within Sabah. As it is located along the main highway leading to Mt Kinabalu, Poring Hot Spring or even Kiulu River, it can help to enhance the already existing tour packages offered by travel agencies as being a short stopover point. A visit to the upside-down house guarantees to one of your most memorable experiences and it is a must-see attraction on your Sabah itinerary.As of February 2012, Rumah Terbalik has been listed within the Malaysia Book of Records as being the first upside down house of Malaysia! the 3D Wonders Museum is where visitors can explore the uniquely themed galleries, the first of its kind in Borneo, showcasing the importance of conservation while promoting the beautiful landscapes and the myriad of local cultures present in East Malaysia. Through the use of special art techniques, two-dimensional paintings will appear to pop out of the surface and come to life, immersing you in a vivid experience like no other. Create your own wacky stories and zip-line through the entire experience as you embark on an adventure in the 3D Wonders Museum right now! This latest attraction is just beside the renowned Rumah Terbalik, Malaysia one and only Upside Down House!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 152 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 58
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Expected more...

I was hoping more than this. It's fascinating for a 10-minute-tour inside the house but might be too short and so-so for certain people. No picture allowed in the house. There is... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 October 2016
Nooraishah S
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Semporna, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice view and good service for tourists and clear explanation about history that house and full with nature in outside

Helpful?
Thank arlinahalih
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you Arlin for your positive feed back. Once a while we get visitors who have a pair of keen eyes to see our effort and what we worked hard to do at Rumah Terbalik, and we thank you that we met one in you this time. It is a quite something to come up with such an idea (easy... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The entrance fee is considered expensive, yet we are not allowed to take pictures inside the house. Photos are only to be taken outside the house. There is a short 10 minute tour in the house & not allowed to touch & take photos. Wasting money, overrated place is all I can say.

Helpful?
Thank Noraini M
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back Noraini. While we tried our best to ensure you enjoy your visit, we cant help to notice that you didn't! As a matter of fact, the idea of no photo taking is practise in many tourist attractions around the world. We rather that visitors experience the House instead of viewing it from photos. Not... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I was hoping more than this. It's fascinating for a 10-minute-tour inside the house but might be too short and so-so for certain people. No picture allowed in the house. There is new attraction during my visit in late August this year - the 3D museum, the picture around Sabah.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nooraishah S
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. The tour inside the House usually last (15 mins, we timed our guides) but the main idea to bring back is the culture aspect of Rumah Terbalik. How Sabahan used to live in the late 90's. We will be adding more new exhibits next year. Do stay tune and thank you for your support.... More 

Batu Caves, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

You can't touch anything and even take photo inside the upside down house. Have to follow the instructor all the time for less than 10minutes view and then you’re done. Nothing interesting in this place.

Helpful?
Thank ainaaamira
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry that you have missed the education aspect of the tour. And the important environmental message that House brings - Should human development continues at this current unchecked pace, everything will turn upside down. Moreover, many historical facts of Sabah is either displayed or explained by the guides during your visit. Perhaps... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Nothing much to see here except for an upside down house. Photos can only be taken outside the house. Strictly no photos inside the house. A guide will take you through and provide info. All in all, it'll take you less than 10 minutes to cover the entire place. For the price you pay (RM10.60 for Malaysians) and the distance... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kuru276
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back Kuru. We are sorry that you have missed the education aspect of the tour. And the important environmental message that House brings - Should human development continues at this current unchecked pace, everything will turn upside down. Moreover, many historical facts of Sabah is either displayed or explained by the guides during your visit.... More 

Selangor
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Interesting to view everyday stuff in an upside down way. Even the clothes drying outside is upside down...and a car...

Helpful?
Thank Foxxed_my
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and your visit. Yes, everything is upside down over there cos ... it is an Upside Down House ;) Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

We visited the Upside Down House & 3D Museum on 27th September 2016, the cost was 47.70MYR for non residence and 31.80MYR for Malaysian residence. We went into the Upside Down House firstly, you are allowed to take photos of the house from the outside but none inside the house which is disappointing, as I have been to the one... More 

Helpful?
Thank joecool1973
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you Joe for your feed back. We have actually written to the Trip Advisor administrator to transfer your feed back from Mango Garden Restaurant to this page, Rumah Terbalik ;) We are sorry that you didnt really enjoyed our place. Perhaps your experience in US has set another expectations for you. Regardless, we will continue to work hard to... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

on the way to Kundasang,easy to locate,very unique,we had a good time experiencing,good explanation by the guide

Helpful?
Thank sherinelim
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you Sherine. Our guides do try their best each day to ensure our visitors enjoy their visit. Its challenging as the day can be hot or wet from rain, and sometimes visitors might not be in a good mood. Nevertheless, they have been keeping high spirits most times. I will pass your good feed back to them. Regards More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

A very unique structure of upside down house. The price is affordable for the visit. Awesome tour guide with great gift shop and cafe.

Helpful?
Thank Amira A
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you Amira for your feed back. We are in fact very happy that you enjoyed your visit as we tried our best to make the place a unique destination within Sabah. Once again, terima kasih. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

The upside down house doesn't really offer much to visitors as such. The 3D part of the property was more interesting and offers some good photo opportunities. You'd need to pay extra to get into the 3D gallery. All in all a good place to visit for about one hour

Helpful?
Thank vive71
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank feed back. The entrance fee of the House is different from the 3D Wonders Museum. You didn't pay extra as you have pay for a combo ticket ;) Do help us to pass the words around. Regards More 

Travellers who viewed Rumah Terbalik also viewed

 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Rumah Terbalik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rumah Terbalik and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rumah Terbalik staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?