We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 702 Water St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4117
Phone Number:
+1 831-429-1142
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 09:00 - 23:00
Tue 15:00 - 23:00
Wed - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00

Kiva is a healing space for the integration of mind and body. It is modeled...

Kiva is a healing space for the integration of mind and body. It is modeled after a Japanese Onsen (Community Hot Spring), where community members gather to cleanse, rejuvenate and nurture themselves in outdoor hot baths in a beautiful garden setting.

The open air hot tubs and the circular three tiered sauna at Kiva have been set up so that visitors can relax in a safe, friendly, and beautiful setting.

Pay once for daily entrance to our communal facilities - stay until closing (or go and come back).

Sunday 9 AM - 1:30 PM is Women's (Only) Morning - Nurture your inner goddess in our community baths and sauna.

Family Friendly: Children welcome during daylight hours with their parents/guardians.

Private Tubs available by the hour.

Experienced Massage Practitioners: Each of our practitioners has at least five years of professional experience, and many have much more. We offer a variety of modalities. Check our website or call for more information.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 12 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 7
  • 1
    Very good
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3
Private Hot Tub Under the Stars

I've been to Kiva twice. I'm not from the area, i was visiting from Alaska. The first time I went I opted for the clothing optional, community space. I loved the sauna and the... read more

Reviewed 20 April 2013
LoveBug Y
Girdwood, Alaska
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 12: English reviews
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Kiva WAS a beautiful place to relax outdoors, enjoy the tubs and Sauna plus the herbal tea! Also a professional massage...So very much Santa Cruz :-) ! However, the sad news is, it is closed for now. Will it re-open with new ownership?

3 Thank ahutif
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I've never used the private baths, but the public baths were excellent. There are hot tubs, a cold tub and a sauna (and a lot of tea). The baths are surrounded by greenery and there is a grassy space to lie down in or meditate. You can spend an hour here, or several hours. You can come here alone and... More 

Thank ESLteacher7
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The sauna is great, the best we've been to outside Finland, and the cold water deluge just outside the sauna really helps the experience. The cold plunge in the tub area is very nice too. The tubs are nicely shaded which is good for my sun-sensitive wife. Nice that they allow people to come and go as they please; we... More 

1 Thank Randolph R
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Terrible experience today I'm sad to say.. I've been here a few times over the years in the community area and it's been okay, but this time was over the top bad. I rented a private tub which was nice, but loud not just with traffic noise but also with someone sawing loudly right next to us. It was like... More 

3 Thank Ali P
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Clean facility, helpful staff. Soaking in the hot tubs or take a cold plunge into the pool . Wet or dry saunas. During daytime hours sun on the decks. Also available massages by appointment. Pay flat fee for the entire day. Leave for a meal and ok to return to relaxing. Stay till closing after you returned from dinner.Meet other... More 

2 Thank SusheOne1
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Great hot tubs and cold dips. Nice sauna and grounds. Very relaxing. Has been around for years. A little off the beaten path so get good directions.

5 Thank Arthur M
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This place used to be wonderful, but our recent experience was truly awful. Dirty, smelling of smoke, trash, no eye contact from the front desk person as we checked in, used cups and religious literature on display in the massage room, unprofessional conduct. The "couples massage" is a lie, as you are placed in two separate rooms. The final straw... More 

8 Thank ZorbyYcena
Kiva R, Public Relations Manager at Kiva Retreat House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Zorby. We are glad that you were able to connect with one of our managers by phone to voice your concerns. We have had several complaints about the front desk staff who was on duty when you visited, and have since removed her from staff rotation. We are very sorry that you did not... More 

Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I've been to Kiva twice. I'm not from the area, i was visiting from Alaska. The first time I went I opted for the clothing optional, community space. I loved the sauna and the smell of hot cedar was hypnotic. I also enjoyed the hot tub and cold tubs. I opted to wear a swimsuit but many other people were... More 

3 Thank LoveBug Y
paso robles california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

SO DISAPPOINTED! We were on vacation and decided to get massages during our stay. The website is so NOT what you experience. We drove up to an industrial/residential area...proceeded down a long BACK driveway with broken down cars and campers. As we parked a girl was in her car next to us and was lighting up a glass pipe which... More 

14 Thank highridgemanor
San Fran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I've been to Kiva three times. The first two times I was with a group of friends, mixed gender, and it was great. It's small but the facilities are really nice, the staff is helpful but onobtrusive. Very fun and relaxing. The last time I went with my boyfriend who, because of our last experience here is still not convinced... More 

16 Thank Basil666

Travellers who viewed Kiva Retreat House also viewed


Been to Kiva Retreat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kiva Retreat House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?