We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dyffryn Fernant Gardens

Closed Now: 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Open today: 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Magical Gardens

We found Dyffryn Fernant by accident and we are so glad we did. It’s a magical place with discrete... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CatherineW-7
,
Somerset, England
A beautiful haven of peace and tranquility

Have just seen a few negative critiques of his garden and have wondered if they were talking about... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2018
Mike P
,
Bristol
Read all 85 reviews
81
All photos (81)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good14%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
About
A 6 acre plantsman's garden set in a beautiful landscape
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
Llanychaer, Fishguard SA65 9SP, Wales
Website
+44 1348 811282
Call
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
55
11
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
11
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspembrokeshire countrysidehidden awaybeautiful plantswonderful gardennarrow lanegarden loversdifferent areaswide range of plantsentry feewest walesplantinglibrarynaturehonestycultivatedcollectionstroll
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found Dyffryn Fernant by accident and we are so glad we did. It’s a magical place with discrete sections of informal, creative planting and a library where you can take a book to read in one of the many secluded seating areas, just drinking...More

Thank CatherineW-7
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could have been a lovely visit but spoiled by a bonfire that filled the garden with smoke. This surely could have been done when there were no visitors that had paid £7.00 each. Very disappointed.

Thank Extraordinary555131
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very sorry that your visit was spoiled by the bonfire. Unfortunately it was a case of taking advantage of the weather during working hours. Had you made your displeasure known at the time we certainly would have put the fire out.

Reviewed 31 July 2018

Have just seen a few negative critiques of his garden and have wondered if they were talking about the same place. This truly is a wonderful garden hidden away down a narrow lane but well worth the ticket price! The mixture of plants and trees,...More

1  Thank Mike P
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and made a real connection to the place; its really fantastic when people are able to respond to the nature of the place in this way.

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely small garden with some amazing alpines and a semi wild meadow. I loved the fact it was so different from formal gardens, eclectic and welcoming

1  Thank HelenBilli
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

So glad you enjoyed the feel of the garden and have an appreciation for the space we have tried to enhance here.

Reviewed 20 July 2018

The garden when we visited was a little disappointing,in the way that it seemed to be poorly managed with weeds almost everywhere. If it was the intention to create a wild garden it was let go to far.The grass beds were good to see with...More

2  Thank sharonainger
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

We're disappointed you didn't appreciate the plant combinations which are appreciated by so many; any style of visual aesthetic will never appeal to everyone. I can assure you that TLC is not in short supply! An incredible amount of work goes into the garden. As...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I took an elderly friend here for a first trip out after she left hospital. She loves gardening and as the website said it was partially disabled friendly, I thought it would be a good choice. But there was a lot of gravel, which you...More

1  Thank Ladybradycoen
Christina S, Owner at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are sorry you had difficulty with the walker and do acknowledge that a lot of the garden is inaccessible for many of disabled people. However we do offer anyone to bring their vehicle right up into the garden thereby avoiding so much gravel to...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Full of very unusual gardens and ideas galore to take away. A very enjoyable place to visit. Coffee and tea available in the library. Books or magazines can be taken out of the library into the garden to read. Many places to sit and just...More

Thank Nikiski
Christina S, Owner at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the space this is very much what we aim for here. Thank you.

Reviewed 6 July 2018

In two minds about this garden. There are some beautiful plants, but the overall impression was that the garden has got out of control with weeds everywhere. Personally I don't think it was worth the £7 entrance fee.

Thank Borf
Christina S, Owner at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed some of the plants that we grow here.

Reviewed 2 July 2018

We visited this garden last week the entrance fee was £7 per person which after going round we found the fee to be extremely high they should ask for contribution on leaving. There was very little to attract any attention the first area you see...More

Thank grahammac123
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We're sorry you didn't find the enjoyment that so many find here.

Reviewed 9 June 2018

Visited here yesterday. The other half is the gardener and with her I have visited gardens all over the UK and the world and this is one of my favourites. A magical place with a mix of cultivated and wild areas that I have never...More

Thank trevorc28
Christina S, Owner at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Wow! Thank you, it is terrific when the creation of the garden here is so sympathetically appreciated.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Fishguard
Cartref Hotel
135 reviews
3.72 km away
The Seaview Hotel
162 reviews
4.54 km away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
624 reviews
4.84 km away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
475 reviews
7.22 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 43 restaurants in Fishguard
Bara Brith
53 reviews
1.81 km away
Hooked At 31
230 reviews
3.79 km away
The Freemasons Arms
134 reviews
2.73 km away
The Old Sailors
398 reviews
3.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 30 attractions in Fishguard
The Last Invasion Tapestry Gallery
218 reviews
3.63 km away
Bessies
64 reviews
4.36 km away
Yet-Y-Gors Fishery and Campsite
61 reviews
6.25 km away
Bluestone Brewing Company Ltd
37 reviews
8.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dyffryn Fernant Gardens staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines