Colonia Express

Colonia Express, Buenos Aires: Hours, Address, Colonia Express Reviews: 3.5/5

Colonia Express
3.5
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets

The area
Address
Neighbourhood: La Boca
A neighbourhood defined by its immigrant roots, La Boca still maintains this past alive in its streets today. Due to its proximity to the river, the neighbourhood became the preferred settling area for immigrants of a wide variety of origins, who ended up living together in the conventillos. Thus, these houses became a melting pot of different cultures and traditions that birthed creations like tango and lunfardo. Nowadays, this legacy can be seen and felt on Caminito Street, which welcomes visitors with colourful facades, cobblestones, and street artists showcasing their skills. Just like its neighbor San Telmo, La Boca is one of the prime destinations to experience the traditions and customs that originated from the city’s immigrant past and which have shaped its distinct identity.
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
2,083 within 5 kms
Attractions
439 within 5 kms
Popular mentions

3.5
1,072 reviews
Excellent
459
Very good
238
Average
124
Poor
73
Terrible
178

Susievisa
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic37 contributions
Cheap tricks to keep your money
Jun. 2020
Ferry cancelled due to COVID. I was told by Colonia that I could get a partial refund (they keep 30%) because I'm a foreigner. Then when it was time to move forward with requesting the 70% refund for our tickets, they said they would only refund me the money if I have a bank in Argentina. That doesn't add up...they're offering a partial refund since I'm a foreigner, yet they only send refunds to people with Argentine bank accounts.
Written 21 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Eric F
Haddonfield, NJ428 contributions
Inexpensive and efficient travel between Buenos Aires and Colonia!
Nov. 2019
Inexpensive and efficient travel between Buenos Aires and Colonia! Spacious boat that were dirty in some seats. Convenient trip to a lovely city.
Written 3 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Passenger, Thank you very much for your comments that help us to continue improving to provide a good service!
Written 8 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sanna
Brussels, Belgium24 contributions
Cheap way from BA to Colonia
Mar. 2020
We used the Colonia Express for BA to Colonia and return in late February 2020. Everything went fine from BA to Colonia, but returning was a bit chaotic. Check-in in Colonia took ages. However, the ferry left on time. We really enjoyed the view from the ferry bow.
Written 3 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estimado Pasajero, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios que nos ayudan a seguir mejorando para brindarles un buen servicio!
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

William L
Hamilton, New Zealand98 contributions
Not a flexible company, poor customer service
Mar. 2020 • Couples
We couldn't visit Argentina/Uruguay and take the ferry between the countries because their borders were closed due to the Covid-19, which is unfortunate for us and everyone else. The problem is that Colonia kept saying that everything was normal while it wasn't. They are allowing us to reschedule the tickets until the end of the year but in this case, I think they could've done better offering at least a partial refund for passengers affected, as many other companies have been doing. The result is that we won't be using the services in the future, we will definitely choose another alternative.
Written 1 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Dear Passenger, Hope you are OK. We offered partial refundo to foreign passengers. Please write an email to reclamos@coloniaexpress.com. Thanks in advance!
Written 4 May 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MrGlobing
Frankfurt, Germany59 contributions
No response, no refund, no voucher - Corona Case
Apr. 2020
No refund made even more than 14 days in advanced i gave notice that I was unable to enter the country because of Corona. No response to 3 E-Mails... That's a no go!
Written 21 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Dear passenger, We would like to help you. Could you send us claim Nbr so we can find out what the problem is in your case. Thanks in advance.
Written 28 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Greg F
Auckland Central, New Zealand965 contributions
Could be a bit more organised, but gets the job done well!
Feb. 2020
We used Colonia Express for Buenos Aires to Colonia and return. ( approx 65 USD per person)
On the Argentinian Side: This side is a bit more chaotic. We got here 1.5 hour before departure. The line is long for check-in so you may want to get in early to avoid waiting long. After that you head towards security check (the next line) and then on to Argentine Immigration (to stamp you OUT) and the counter at the side for Uruguay Immigration (to stamp you IN). Thats right ! you get stamped into Uruguay before you board the ferry. You then wait in the lounge until it's time to board. There is a small coffee shop available.
While returning to Buenos Aires the line to get off the boat was very long, not to mention the system of getting a taxi is very unorganized and we waited at least an hour before it was our turn.

The Ferry:
The ferry left on time and took about 1 hour 20 minutes to cross. The interior is good and clean with comfortable seats for the price. The windows are dirty so dont expect to see much through there. The deck however is open and you can go outside to get some good views while leaving Buenos Aires. The ferry has a duty free on board. There is a money exchange as well (however this was not open every time i checked)

On the Uruguay side: Far more efficient, more spacious check-in Area and lounge. The process is more organised and spaced out and hence you get through the process quicker between check-in to Security to Immigration to the Lounge.

Overall, the Colonia express delivers what you pay for , it gets you between A-B at a reasonable price and minimal frills. Good experience and would use them again.
Written 4 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Thank you so much for your detail review. We will take it very serious and we will work on that.
Written 28 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anick
Geneva, Switzerland3 contributions
Please avoid!
Feb. 2020
While in Buenos Aires, we decided to visit Colonia del Sacramento for a day trip on February 26. On the way there, we had a slight delay of about 1 hour, which was not that bad. The ferry was quite confortable. The check in and immigration process could be better organized but overall, we made it to Uruguay almost in time.

The main problem occurred on the way back. We arrived 90 min before, as indicated, but our ferry was delayed. There, impossible to have proper information. We had two queue 3 times and received contradictory information from the staff. The announced 2 hours delay turned up in 3 hours without notice and we had the feeling that we were just all put in the last ferry that was leaving at 20:30 (ours was supposed to leave at 17:30) as it occurred previously to other travelers. Being our last day before taking our flight out of Buenos Aires, we didn't feel confident that we would make it back in the same evening and that we would be able to catch our flight with the lack of communication and information from Colonia Express.

Client services offered us new tickets for another trip, but when we told them that we were leaving South America and not planning on coming back in the next 6 months, they told us that it's all they could offer and that our request was closed. This is just a dishonest and unreliable company and if I ever go back to Colonia del Sacramento one day, I'll make sure to avoid them and use another company even if I have to pay more. Avoid at all cost!
Written 25 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Unfortunately high season is a difficult time for traveling. We are very sorry that you have to experience that delay. Thanks for sharing you review.
Written 28 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lengtan67
Kuala Lumpur985 contributions
A Ferry From Point A to B
Feb. 2020
As we have too many days in Buenos Aires, and I was with group of friends where they are keen to be members of their respective home countries version of Travelers' Century Club, or TCC, so we decided to hop over to Colonia del Sacramento.

It was a reasonable excursion as I remembered I only paid USD 70 for the ferry ticket despite making the booking a day before. It only took us about 75 minutes in duration each way. But we need to arrive early for custom and immigration clearance between 2 countries.

No doubt things were pricier than in Buenos Aires, Colonia is pretty interesting to explore in particular the old town and its marina with many "Instagrammable" or picturesque spots. If you have more time, you can always take the bus to explore the inner parts of Colonia.

I wouldn't say whether its service is good or bad, to me is just a ferry, a mode of public transportation to take me from point A to B. The only comment I have, the seats should at least be stain free.
Written 14 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Thanks for your comments.
Written 28 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Trudy N
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions
No problems
Mar. 2020 • Couples
We took the ferry to Colónia dec Sacramento, and back a week later. Read previous bad reviews on TA after we’d bought our tickets online and were very concerned. Pleased to say everything went smoothly... checkin, immigration etc etc. Ship left on time, was clean and comfortable, no problems at all.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

vivmike
Hertford, UK29 contributions
Disappointed
Mar. 2020 • Couples
Today 4 March 2020 booked last week to travel on the 8.30 fast ferry from Buenos Aires to Colonia. We were not made aware at the time of purchase that you must be at the terminal 90 minutes before departure, ticket states that checkin closes at 8.15. However we arrived at 7.55 am to find the ferry was long gone. No refund is offered, and no chance to have an alternative sailing. Very sad for us but hope we make it clearer for future travellers.
Written 4 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoniaExpress
Dear Passenger, This information is explained in the booking confirmation that you received in provided email address. Please notice that the info is in Spanish and English too. Also, the day before of your trip, we sent an automatic message to your email reminding about your trip and again telling you to be 90 minutes before departure time. We are very sorry that you did not have a chance to read the info. If you have any further info to provide please let as know so we can send you proof of this. Thank you.
Written 9 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 115
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing