We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch Golf Club

R44 Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 0103
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Rude members!

We arrived after booking online to find no tee time but not to worry we could play anyway! Told we... read more

Reviewed 7 February 2017
Yvette K
Very slow play

Quite disorganised. We booked for 2.00pm but were put down to play at 2.30pm so had quite a wait... read more

Reviewed 4 February 2017
Judith P
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 55 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Stellenbosch Golf Club celebrated its centenary in 2004. This, the 4th oldest Golf Club in South Africa, changed from a 9 hole golf course to the current 18 hole championship lay-out in 1953. This magnificent golf course has hosted some of South Africa's most prestigious golf tournaments, including the 1999 South African Open and 5 South African Masters tournaments. Situated at the foot of the majestic Helderberg mountains on the outskirts of Stellenbosch, a town that is also home to one of South Africa's most revered universities. Stellenbosch Golf Club offers golfers an immaculate golf course, complemented by a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average27%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“golf course” (10 reviews)
“pro shop” (3 reviews)
“pizza” (7 reviews)
LOCATION
R44 Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 880 0103
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017

We arrived after booking online to find no tee time but not to worry we could play anyway! Told we would have to wait for a buggy as they were still out from the morning. Had to pay full rate not what was quoted online....More

Thank Yvette K
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Yvette, Sad to hear about your experience at Stellenbosch GC, we always go out of our way to make every golfers experience memorable here. Unfortunately I don't know to what online booking system you are revering to, I am glad that we could accommodate...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Quite disorganised. We booked for 2.00pm but were put down to play at 2.30pm so had quite a wait. There were also no golf buggies available so we were told to start playing and they would bring one out when one came free. However, after...More

Thank Judith P
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Judith, Never nice to start at the back of a busy day! Apologies for the late start, but sometimes things does go wrong and there are delays in a field. I cannot agree more that it is never nice to wait but it has...More

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great atmosphere around the club house, and wonderful layout of the golf course. The greens were in excellent condition and we had great fun. Due to water restrictions, the fairway was a bit brown We did play with 3 caddies and they were all good!:)More

1  Thank Fredrik S
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Fredrik, Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your round of golf. We have been working hard to keep the course and our greens in shape during the summer season. We do however hope you will be...More

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff and appealing Club House. Good pro shop. The place in dry but acceptable condition. Straightforward more the old traditional course without any unsolvable obstacles. On number 8 you can make reservations for halfway. For me a play again course. Prices on an acceptable...More

Thank mktripadvidor
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi mktripadvidor, Thank you for the feedback from your time here at Stellenbosch GC. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your day out and we hope to see you back again in the near future. Regards

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Old Golf course with no water . Fairways very poor condition !! Old style and not good to play . Need renovation and water for all course. NO GRASS - NO GOLFMore

Thank DragoFico
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Drago, Stellenbosch GC is the 4th oldest club in SA so you are 100% that we are old and very proud of it, with a extremely proud history. In the past we have host numerous big tournaments, including the SA Open and SA Master....More

Reviewed 21 November 2016

A very old course set up in a quite flat landscape. Played on a Sunday with very slow play on the course. Adding to that a couple of occasions with dangerous play when balls landed within a couple of meters from where we was standing....More

Thank GolferInStockholm
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We played six courses in South Africa, including Fancourt, Pezula, and Arabella, but we found the Stellenbosch Golf Course the least exciting or rewarding. It is a parkland course with main roads running alongside it. It is traditional rather than modern, and lacks the stunning...More

Thank BillandEmma
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Stellenbosch Golf Club is a real beauty of a golf challenge. We had an early morning tee off at first light last Sunday and arriving the halfway house was ready for us for a lovely breakfast the staff are willing and on the ball. The...More

Thank glanks1
Reviewed 14 July 2016

A definite must play course situated in the heart of the Winelands. Boasting superb views of the Stellenbosch mountains, this is one not to be missed. The excellent conditioned course improves every year, and with the refurbished clubhouse to match, all your needs are being...More

Thank Gehan v
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The course is one of the best in the Cape. The greens are almost always in brilliant condition and it is one of the courses that rarely struggles with slow play which makes it even more enjoyable. A nice variation of easy-scoring holes to some...More

1  Thank dubbleyou
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Twaalf
79 reviews
1.60 km away
Cattle Baron Steakhouse
129 reviews
.87 km away
Makaron
288 reviews
1.60 km away
Gino's
198 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rupert Museum
147 reviews
1.52 km away
Dalla Cia Vineyard
8 reviews
.53 km away
Oom Samie Se Winkel
79 reviews
1.60 km away
Adventureshop Stellenbosch
19 reviews
1.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stellenbosch Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit