We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vine Hopper

Black Horse Centre | Corner of Dorp and Mark Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 882 8112
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 23.24*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
More Info
USD 53.46*
and up
Guided Bike Tour of Stellenbosch
More Info
USD 23.24*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Eastern Route
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Vine Hopper is the only way to experience the Stellenbosch Wine Route and surroundings by hopping onto our bus at any time and hopping off anywhere along our carefully selected routes. Stellenbosch is one of the most beautiful towns in South Africa and is home to some of the best wine estates in the world! These wine farms range from big, high tech cellars, through multi-functional farms and historical manors to small, more intimate wine estates that lend themselves to relax and enjoy nature as well as the fruits of the vine!With the Vine Hopper, it is our intention to offer you a good representation of the Stellenbosch Wine Route which should suit your every need, whilst leaving it up to you to decide where you want to go and how long you would like to stay!
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Black Horse Centre | Corner of Dorp and Mark Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 882 8112
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I had a lot of fun on this bus -- mostly because we were drinking a lot of wine. However, we unfortunately had a very new driver (I think he was three days in) who was having difficulty balancing the amount of...More

Thank 511lauren
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the Review. You are correct when saying we have a new guide on tour but up to now we only had great feedback. As emailed to you when you booked the tour, if you start at 12:00 you will not be able...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on the vine hopper with Marshall and he was great fun. He tolerated our Irish drunkenness and made the trip very enjoyable. Wine farms are all great as well! Would recommend!

Thank savannahthompson1
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Make sure you don`t miss this wonderful experience during your stay in Stellenbosch, It requires minimum effort for lots of fun and good tasting experience. The selection of the farms on the routes is perfect. All close so you don`t spend much time on the...More

Thank Kristina K
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you very much for the nice review Kristina Glad you enjoyed the trip. Regards Raino

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We booked the Northern route trip and although on the day two of the vineyards weren't open the staff went out of there way to organise tastings at other locations which were simply amazing. The trip in general is well worth a go, especially if...More

Thank Carmino5
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed your tour with us and hope to see you again soon. Regards Raino

Reviewed 22 July 2017

My husband and I early morning considered to take a wine tour, but didn't book for one. We checked on TripAdvisor since he usually does all his searches on this way. He called the office and fortunately for us we could get on to the...More

1  Thank _cynthia_kately
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Cynthia Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed the day with us. I just want to reply on your comment that the guide that came to collect you had some wine. The person who collected you was Marchall and he had a...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

These guys are fantastic, Veronika did a great job of accommodating us on a tour and Marshall is the man. Really engaging and personable, he knew the different vineyards really well, is a very good driver and added a really professional element to a lovely...More

1  Thank davecadman
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for the great review! Marchall and Veronika will be proud to have made your day and so am I. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Raino

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We did 5 wine farms on this tour and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area and wanting to sample as much as possible in the easiest way. The wine tasting and service was excellent at all the farms we went to on the...More

Thank Wils87
RBolz, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you very much for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed the trip and hope to see you again soon. Regards Raino

Reviewed 6 July 2017

My wife and I went on this wine tour and decided to take the mid-morning bus, mainly to ensure that we would stick the pace! More about that later! Marius our driver picked us up, on time, and was a lovely guy. Very easy-going, informative...More

Thank Robin S
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

It was a very nice tour. This offers you the opportunity to visit many farms and do as many wine tasting as you like without worrying about driving back. You can also buy your wine and keep it safe in the van while visiting the...More

Thank Amin A
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted to go wine tasting and opted for Stellenbosch. After reading a few reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book one with Vine hopper. Marius and his team were very customer focused and genuinely nice. He drove us around and gave...More

1  Thank Gregory P
Adventureshop S, Owner at Vine Hopper, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you very much for the review. Marius will be happy about the mention and will certainly show him the nice review. Thanks for joining us on tour and hope to see you again some time. Regards Raino

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rust en Vrede Restaurant
965 reviews
.99 km away
Mont Marie Restaurant
551 reviews
3.26 km away
The Avontuur Estate Restaurant
411 reviews
3.41 km away
Cavalli Restaurant
467 reviews
3.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ernie Els Wines
220 reviews
1.33 km away
Peter Falke Winery
108 reviews
.77 km away
Rust en Vrede Tasting Room
120 reviews
1.00 km away
Bilton Wines
53 reviews
.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Emily E
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RBolz | Property representative |
Dear Emily. October is still ok and there should be space but it is always best to book a day or 2 in advance to make sure you have space.
0
Votes
Dol123
29 January 2017|
Answer
Response from RBolz | Property representative |
Even though most farms have red and white, I would recommend the Eastern Route or Northern Route for white wines. Regards Raino
1
Vote
Matthew B
21 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Adventureshop S | Property representative |
Dear Matthew. Not sure if the office has answered you as I am on a marketing trip overseas but if not, here is my answer. Stellenbosch is not very well known for Pinot Noir as it is a grape that likes a cool climate and... More
0
Votes