We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Visited Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden as we went to Stellenbosch for the day. Really... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2017
Tim T
,
Reigate, United Kingdom
Great Oasis in Stellenbosch centre

perfect to walk around, relax, and just generally forget you are in the middle of town. It has many... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2017
Gooner_JT
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 714 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (37 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
“water lilies” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bonsai trees"
in 37 reviews
"tea garden"
in 14 reviews
"water lilies"
in 13 reviews
"lily pads"
in 12 reviews
"interesting plants"
in 9 reviews
"free entry"
in 7 reviews
"middle of town"
in 14 reviews
"busy town"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 20 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 6 reviews
"breakfast or lunch"
in 7 reviews
"lovely restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 23 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"sunny day"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 10 reviews
Filter

61 - 70 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Visited Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden as we went to Stellenbosch for the day. Really interesting garden which is well laid out and you can easily spend several hours looking at the plants.

Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

perfect to walk around, relax, and just generally forget you are in the middle of town. It has many fascinating corners and gardens and provides a smaller garden than the large botanical ones where you might not get around in a day. here you can...More

Thank Gooner_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Tranquility in the shade and beautiful surrounding with delightful Lilly ponds. Wonderful flora and a little shop to browse in too. Excellent Babootie can be had for lunch at the Restaurant under the trees. Cakes could be better though.

Thank M4658WKsharonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

For a small Botanical garden, it has loads of pleasant surprises! The glass houses, water plant area, vegetable garden, etc. The orange flowers were in full bloom in September: Strelitzia, various proteas, daisies, buttercups, clivias, etc. There is also a restaurant in the middle of...More

Thank Dirmu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Many botanical gardens are too large to cover completely but this one is a nice size for a wander without feeling like you are on a hike. There's a good variety with the bonsai collection, glass houses, shade area, water garden etc., a shop and...More

Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This beautiful little garden was a pleasant surprise - it seems larger and more interesting than when we last visited in 2013. It is like a little tropical oasis inside the bustling town of Stellenbosch.

Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Much smaller-scale than Kirstenbosch, but a very pleasant place to spend an hour or so. Small entry fee, a lovely collection of plants (worth asking for the key to go into the greenhouses), a fine collection of bonsai trees, and a lovely café - we...More

Thank WeasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Stellenbosch botanic garden opens a small paradise in the middle of the town. It is well maintained and has a super collection. You can easily walk around for half a day. Don't forget to have lunch there. I was surprised with the nice menu and...More

Thank family2kids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Reasonable entry fee and not too big. Nice garden arrangements as well as a few water features. Bonsai display impressive and some spectacular flowers I have not seen before. There are a number of green houses you can ask to go into via the restaurant....More

Thank goodguyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Besides the other excellences of this wonderful oasis in beautiful Stellenbosch, this garden has about 200 bonsai trees - and some penjing - the biggest in Africa. It has prize-winning mini trees, a tree voted the best in Africa and one the best outside Japan....More

Thank MichelleBigIdeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel
114 reviews
.23 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
727 reviews
.37 km away
Eendracht Hotel
466 reviews
.37 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
904 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's Restaurant
904 reviews
.41 km away
Fat Butcher
581 reviews
.21 km away
Stellenbosch Kitchen
965 reviews
.46 km away
Basic Bistro
738 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
302 reviews
.27 km away
Dutch Reform Church
118 reviews
.21 km away
Dorp Street
402 reviews
.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
31 December 2015|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor