We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable garden and currently free to visit

We enjoyed ourselves for about 45 minutes in this small-ish garden near the center of Stellenbosch... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2017
snowbunny16
,
The Hague, The Netherlands
Pretty gardens!

This is a lovely place to spend an hour or two. At the moment it is free which is amazing as it is... read more

Reviewed 26 February 2017
jacki M
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 613 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (31 reviews)
“water lilies” (17 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We enjoyed ourselves for about 45 minutes in this small-ish garden near the center of Stellenbosch. A sign at the entry states that they will start charging an entry fee to non-students, but it's currently free. They have the most bonsai trees I've ever seen,...More

Thank snowbunny16
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This is a lovely place to spend an hour or two. At the moment it is free which is amazing as it is well kept and there was several gardeners working there. There are several water features with beautiful lilies. There is a pretty cafe...More

Thank jacki M
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Ideally located in central Stellenbosch these gardens are definitely worth a visit. Lovely paths and walkways with pretty garden and plant features, themed glass houses, pond area, bonsai section and labelled trees. There is also a restaurant nestled in the gardens. Open every day from...More

Thank Susie B
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Wonderful place to visit especially in the hot summer months, the tropical gardens and tea-garden is a wonderful retreat from the hot, dry weather. The tea-garden offers very affordable meals prepared freshly with lots of greens! Lovely staff.

Thank Natalie D
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Enjoyed visit with friends and the gardens,especially the ponds were rather beautiful.Cafeteria was handy too.

Thank Jim M
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The botanic gardens is an oasis of calm on a hot day in Stellenboch. The gardens are well maintained with a lovely pond area and an impressive selection of Bonsai trees. There are lots of shaded seating areas and a lovely restauraunt/cafe for a relaxing...More

Thank Julie K
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Shady paths and interesting plants make this a pleasant place to spend a few hours. We have had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and enjoyed both.

Thank Lisa R
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stumbled on the cafe/restaurant when we were looking around the gardens. Decided to stay for tea and scones - shared one portion between us as the were huge.

Thank 395Carol
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Lovely tranquil garden close to centre of Stellenbosch. Gorgeous display of water lilies . We were a little late to see flowers at their best . Some lovely shady areas to sit. Nice cafe in the gardens

Thank Roydon C
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Lovely shady gardens to walk through when it's hot. The lily pads and flowers are amazing. The sound of running water from the fountain is charming as is the water running down the pebble wall where we saw two delightful tiny birds with orange rumps...More

Thank Christine Q
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
750 reviews
.34 km away
Fat Butcher
324 reviews
.13 km away
Basic Bistro
615 reviews
.34 km away
De Warenmarkt
77 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
264 reviews
.21 km away
Stellenbosch University
114 reviews
.55 km away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
13 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
13 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
31 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes