We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Better than ever before

This beautiful little garden was a pleasant surprise - it seems larger and more interesting than... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Michael O
,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Very pleasant place to visit

Much smaller-scale than Kirstenbosch, but a very pleasant place to spend an hour or so. Small entry... read more

Reviewed yesterday
WeasB
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 635 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (33 reviews)
“water lilies” (15 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 517 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This beautiful little garden was a pleasant surprise - it seems larger and more interesting than when we last visited in 2013. It is like a little tropical oasis inside the bustling town of Stellenbosch.

Thank Michael O
Reviewed yesterday

Much smaller-scale than Kirstenbosch, but a very pleasant place to spend an hour or so. Small entry fee, a lovely collection of plants (worth asking for the key to go into the greenhouses), a fine collection of bonsai trees, and a lovely café - we...More

Thank WeasB
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Stellenbosch botanic garden opens a small paradise in the middle of the town. It is well maintained and has a super collection. You can easily walk around for half a day. Don't forget to have lunch there. I was surprised with the nice menu and...More

Thank family2kids2013
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Reasonable entry fee and not too big. Nice garden arrangements as well as a few water features. Bonsai display impressive and some spectacular flowers I have not seen before. There are a number of green houses you can ask to go into via the restaurant....More

Thank goodguyjas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Besides the other excellences of this wonderful oasis in beautiful Stellenbosch, this garden has about 200 bonsai trees - and some penjing - the biggest in Africa. It has prize-winning mini trees, a tree voted the best in Africa and one the best outside Japan....More

Thank MichelleBigIdeas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Walk to Botanical Gardens right in the middle of Stellenbosch. Lovely food. Friendly staff. Lovely gardens and lots of birds. Definitely a place to visit.

Thank Renette F
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place! My first time there and it lived up to expectations. I will definitely be coming back again soon

Thank pamochungo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although a small botanical gardens it is well worth a visit it's an easy walk round even for disabled people like myself. There is a wide variety of plants from the area with some lovely blooms. We spent about an hour walking around there is...More

Thank Bobbishton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the middle of the town Stellnbosch there is a hidden heaven under the name of botanical garden.Since it is part of the university all the work has been done in scientific way.There is a cafe house as well with a quite setting .

Thank ruhetg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been coming here for years, and always enjoy it. The restaurant /terrace under the bamboo trees is the right place to chill if you need to get away from it all.

Thank Leobrew
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
787 reviews
.33 km away
Fat Butcher
367 reviews
.13 km away
Basic Bistro
641 reviews
.34 km away
De Warenmarkt
80 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
271 reviews
.20 km away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
17 reviews
.49 km away
Stellenbosch Wine Route Visitor Information Centre
23 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
31 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes