We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meerkat Adventures

Features Animals

Meerkat Adventures
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
161
All photos (161)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good10%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“meeting point”(30 reviews)
“folding chairs”(12 reviews)
“semi circle”(10 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
22°
14°
Jan
23°
15°
Feb
22°
13°
Mar
Contact
De Zeekoe Farm, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Website
+27 84 772 9678
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
200
24
11
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
200
24
11
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meeting point folding chairs semi circle early start biscuits camping chairs rising sun spent years their natural habitat wild animals wake up hot coffee watching the sunrise following morning amazing experience de zeekoe guest farm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We traveled approx 24 hrs to get to South Africa from our home in the states, and another drive 3 hours to Oudtshoorn to see the meerkats. We stayed AT the hotel, DeZeekoe, providing the meerkat tour. We woke early as instructed, arrived at the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Heritage F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Therefore we should have been picked up at the meeting point which never happened. We waited for almost have an hour there at 4am. But unfortunately nobody showed up. We never heard of him again. Very unprofessional.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank carolinw632
Snakekid, Owner at Meerkat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sorry but currently our tours only start at 4:45 so if you where there at 4am you would have missed us. You never contacted us about missing the tour so we would not have been able to contact you further.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I sent an email months ahead booking in but from what I can see anyone can just rock up at the meeting point. We met at 4.35am - having been told to be there 10 min prior - however this was unnecessarily early. The cost...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank PEPPERPOTS99
JD_Glinister, Owner at Meerkat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Even though the tour started with 50 people we split the group in 2 as we have 2 different groups of meerkats that we can do tours at. This means that we where actually only 25 people at the site. Your tour was during...More

Reviewed 16 December 2018

Brilliant experience led by the knowledgeable Rudolph who met us at the agreed meeting point before he escorts you on to the private reserve to be briefed and get coffee before going to sit near the meerkat burrow. As many probably don’t realise the reason...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Nick_Surrey2013
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

We booked the tour a few weeks before we travelled to South Africa and we were so excited to see the meerkats coming out of there holes. As asked, we wrote an E-Mail the evening before the tour to confirm the starting time, but when...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank vronif172
DeveyG, Owner at Meerkat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2018

Hi On this specific morning we had 30 clients that confirmed with us the exact meeting time the previous day as requested with all our bookings and they where rewarded with a meerkat sighting. We cannot be held responsible if the clients do not do...More

Reviewed 14 November 2018

We booked this tour a couple of weeks before we arrived in South Africa. We were really looking forwarder to meet the meerkats so close. I think the tour is well organized. Yes you have to get up early to be at the meeting point...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Maria F
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

We visited Oudtshoorn specifically to do the meerkat tour and I’m delighted that we did. We met at the appointed spot and drove in convoy to another location where we had tea/coffee and paid for the tour. Our group was then split into 2 as...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Meabh-0C
Reviewed 11 November 2018

A great highlight to our SA holiday. Our main guide Randolph (Dolf) was knowledgable, funny and entertaining, If it wasn’t for the fantastic eyesight of the other guide Derick we might not have seen them as we were at the wrong place. A little pricey...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Andy S
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Pros: - Meerkats! Getting to see these amazing little creatures up close in the wild was fantastic - Devey did a good job of finding the Meerkats for us Cons: - a bit pricey for what you get - Devey talks non-stop, and I mean...More

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank Modex
DeveyG, Manager at Meerkat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2018

Hi Thanks for your input we appreciate it and will work on the info you have given us to further better your experience.

Reviewed 9 November 2018

This really was one of the many highlights of our trip. You meet early doors in an easy to find lay by. We saw a porcupine en route which made it even better! Then drive to a point where you are offered tea and biscuits....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rachael000
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
1.75 km away
Queens Hotel
419 reviews
2.50 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
359 reviews
2.56 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
164 reviews
2.72 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 55 nearby restaurants
Beans About Coffee
194 reviews
1.72 km away
Nostalgie
1,040 reviews
2.61 km away
Bello Cibo Restaurant
575 reviews
2.60 km away
Jemima's Restaurant
1,085 reviews
2.70 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Cango Wildlife Ranch
2,072 reviews
3.89 km away
Safari Ostrich Show Farm
1,391 reviews
7.05 km away
Meerkat Magic
141 reviews
4.50 km away
C.P Nel Museum
161 reviews
2.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meerkat Adventures staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines