Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve, Cape Town Central: Address, Phone Number, Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve Reviews: 4/5

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve
4
Nature & Wildlife Areas • Off-Road & ATV Trails
Read more
Write a review
About
A boutique safari lodge situated 2.5 hours from Cape Town offering tranquil overnight safari stays in a variety of accommodation types.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.0
525 reviews
Excellent
276
Very good
135
Average
51
Poor
31
Terrible
32

Kim van Zyl
2 contributions
Jun. 2022
An extremely relaxing yet busy weekend.

The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. Davie and the rest of the restaurant staff always with a smile and eager to please. Johannes ("Your Highness") was our guide for the game drives. He was very knowledgeable and respectful of the animals and somehow always managed to get me into the right position to do some awesome photography. We also were treated to a cheetah educational experience by Caitlyn and Chantelle (I hope I got that spelling correct) who were absolutely passionate about what they do and answered all our questions. They were not in any rush at all and it was awesome to be able to just sit and take these glorious animals in.

Our accommodation was fantastic and the food was great and truly plentiful.
Written 6 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely and detailed review. Warm regards from the Inverdoorn family!
Written 14 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mrs Warne
5 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
What a peaceful, relaxing and tranquil weekend we just experienced at Inverdoorn.
From the minute we arrived all our needs were met, the staff were very eager and so so friendly.
The endless amount of food - we were so stuffed, the entire time, the food was delicious, we couldn’t stop eating.
Our first game drive was great! The star experience at 9pm was on another level - my husband and I love love love looking at the night sky so this was very special.
The second game drive on Saturday morning at 7am was just as amazing!! We saw lion, elephant, giraffe, rhino, hippo, wildebeest, eland, springbok and zebra - we even saw the baby rhino - it was super cute.
The GM was very attentive to everyone’s needs. Friendly and happy staff, they were all just amazing.
Beautiful welcome cheese board when we entered our room with a note from the GM. Our fireplace was on when we returned from the afternoon game drive at 6:30pm which was such a nice touch. From the little chocolate on the pillow to the note with next days weather, it’s these little touches that make all the difference.
Great activities for families, electric bikes and horseback rides.
Overall, a great great weekend.
Written 29 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your stay sounded absolutely dreamy! Thank you for mentioning our GM and all the little touches - we are thrilled that you had a 5-star time with us!
Written 14 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Will E
Hermanus, South Africa32 contributions
Mar. 2022 • Couples
Probably the worst experience at game reserve yet. The service was non-existent. They ran out of a lot things which were not replenished. Pool towels took an hour to arrive by which time I had swam and dripped dried. Food service was extremely slow, it took 1.5 hours for a dinner meal to arrive which was pre-ordered at lunch time. Soups were cold, air-con in the dinning room didn’t work making it extremely stuffy and hot. The blind in the room was broken allowing people to see in. The list could on. Would definitely not recommend this to anyone.
Written 16 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We have alerted management about your experience. We guarantee you that if you had alerted staff or management, they would not only have apologised and supplied towels immediately etc, but would have made up for the inconvenience. Management say that they sadly have no record of these complaints and wished you had given them the opportunity to rectify your experiences. We hope that you at least enjoyed your game drives.
Written 11 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Renate van Dyk
Onrus, South Africa2 contributions
Apr. 2022 • Couples
Excellent value for money,staff very efficient and helpful.
Game rangers know their job and very informative. Will definitely visit again.
Written 6 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your honest review and we do hope to welcome you back to our Inverdoorn family again!
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

theaduplessis
8 contributions
Mar. 2022 • Family
A beautiful place with so much potential, but unfortunately due to bad management what is meant to be a relaxed vacation, becomes a stressful experience. Rooms not ready at 14:30, I then helped the staff put on our groups bedding just so we can get into our rooms- the bedding was still wet and unironed. Food is cold and inedible- meaning 50 guests sending plates back untouched. Few options for drinks and no pricelist or indication when asked. We asked who the manager was and staff said Storm. We did not see her once during our stay. My advise- skip this place untill they have resolved their management, leadership issues. You do not get value for your money.
Written 30 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management is utterly shocked at your review, having constantly attended to you and who were consistently present throughout your stay, and have the following feedback: Guests arrived early and were welcomed by Clinton whilst the GM was assisting another check in in reception. They were given an orientation under the tent and had lunch under the terrace. The GM walked past them a couple of times at lunch asking if everything was in order. Which they said it was. The GM spoke to guests and their children several times during their stay . Management remembers them coming to reception at one point and spoke directly to the GM requesting more pool loungers and swimming pool towels. I apologised that we didn’t have any additional loungers other than what was at the pool and arranged extra towels for them. The family were friendly and talkative and at no point did Clinton, the assistant manager, or the GM pick up that they were unhappy. Guests did not partake in any activities other than the game drives and there total bill came to less than R100 per person. On departure Clinton asked them if they enjoyed there stay. Guests advised everything was good. Had we known something was not right and to their liking, we would have immediately done something to turn the situation around, unfortunately if they leave and then choose to complain on a a review platform there is nothing we can do to enhance their stay.
Written 5 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mandy R
Whistler, Canada2 contributions
Mar. 2022
Our two nights at Inverdoorn were an invaluable introduction to game drives. Being our first trip to Africa, we were in Cape Town for a wedding and had limited time to participate in a game drive. While we had some hesitations due to some poor reviews on Trip Advisor, our experience was absolutely excellent:
- Upon arrival, we were provided a welcome drink and overview of what to expect during our visit
- We saw nearly all the animals during our first game drive - including a show-stopping tortoise, crossing the road during the Cheetah educational!
- Star gazing in the reserve was an incredible bonus that we weren't expecting and left us in awe. The guides were funny and informative, and they served hot chocolate as we gazed at the expansive sky.. and heard black-backed jackal's call around us. We even saw rhinos on our way back to the lodge.
- The sunrise game drive was nice and cool, and lucky us we ended up seeing all the 'big 5' animals, which was quite special.
- All the staff (receptionist, servers, house keeping, rangers/guides) were warm, friendly and accommodating.
- Breakfasts, lunches, and dinners were delicious and filling.
- The pool area was clean and a water station infused with oranges and limes was a nice, refreshing touch.
- Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were grateful for the air conditioning!

We really appreciated the opportunity to see animals living happy, healthy lives on the 10,000 hectare reserve. From the cheetah rehabilitation program to the rescuing of lions from stocked hunting reserves, we are happy that we supported a tourism experience that connects people to nature in an educational, luxurious, and affordable way. Thank you, Inverdoorn, for inspiring us and making our first trip to Africa exceptionally memorable!
Written 17 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for choosing us and for your wonderful review. The unfortunate nature of TripAdvisor is that most people take to it when they have something negative to say, so we thank you for trusting our overall 4 out of 5 star rating on Tripadvisor to understand what the actual average rating is. We are so happy that you enjoyed the reserve and that your wildlife spotting was generous!
Written 22 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

debsiex70
Cleethorpes, UK2 contributions
Feb. 2022 • Family
We visited here 7 years ago and was the best experience of our lives ..
We came back to south africa this month with family so we're very excited to re book and let our family see what we had been talking about all these years ..
How wrong we were the reserve has dance been taken over by a new company and is now tired and pool area dirty ..
The food is awful I couldn't even cut my steak it was so tough ... one family member ate the beef the next morning and has been poorly for 6 days ... so poorly the doctor deemed her not fit to fly ...
The service is slow , meals are not served at the stated times and your Sat waiting around for ages ...
The fly and mosquitoes are not dealt with in the rooms
There was no pressure in the showers ..

Seeing the only lion left walking up and down looking for her mate is just sad to see .

There are very few animals now compared to 7 years ago .
Not enough sun loungers round the pool .
We left after one night and didn't stay the 2nd ..
I was told I would be met by a lady called storm to discuss my concerns but she never showed ..

Since then I have sent numerous emails mails to which all have been ignored ...
Very dissapointed
Written 1 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We have noted that this is amongst 3 reviews you have left recently thus far, and feel saddened at your need to besmirch our excellent rating due to one of your party coming down with a gastro VIRUS, as their review indicates.
Written 22 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tim G
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
Feb. 2022 • Family
I paid for 2 nights and left after the first night with gastroenteritis which seems common from other reviews- I’m still ill 6 days later and cannot travel home
The food is terrible but you’ve no choice when you’re there but to try it
Very very few sad animals
Not the same as it used to be at all
Read the reviews and believe them
No response to the complaint from the manager
Don’t be left out of pocket like me
Written 28 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. As you have self described, you had gastroenteritis, which is a viral infection. Therefore you arrived with a viral infection, one which has been rife in the Western Cape for the past few months, and have chosen to blame Inverdoorn for your virus and for your delay in returning home - none of which are connected to Inverdoorn. The only "review that mentions this" is in your same party - now having shared 3 review thus far of the same stay.
Written 22 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jason Martincich
Bloubergstrand, South Africa1 contribution
Feb. 2022
Day 1 - Arrived from Cape Town 3 hours drive at 11am, we were welcomed with Sparkling wine with a great introductory forgot his name however from there went south , eventfully sat under the stretch canvas for an hour waiting for what we were not sure as we were not told , eventually i asked can i go get a water as it was 40 degrees, they said oh yes you can sit there then wait for lunch which was served at 2pm so arrived at 11am , waited until 12 , moved to the eating area from 12 until 2pm still havent gone to freshen up as the rooms werent ready , after food at 3pm i went to go ask and a game ranger lady went to go check she then said yes so we went after eating a chick wrap as the cottage pie wasnt to the chef Standards + wasnt happy however the cottage pie was the filling in the wrap, shower had 0 pressure and was rusting away from the salt from the borehole water( I Did take images)

Hour and half later we went on a game drive which was awesome i must give that credit as they had extensive knowledge and animals were beautiful.

Dinner was great had a steak and glass of wine perfect.

Day 2 : Breakfast was average with Orang Juice , Spur most likely better,we then went to the pool , the back section of where there is afdak to hide from the sun , extremely dusty full of mosiquitos as well , now i understand we in the bush sure no problem HOWEVER the dust was BAD at least a month old , we had to go find a waiter to be served a drink by the pool several times he still didnt get the point to check up on guests by the pool , Lunch chicken burger , chicken was dry , roll was rock hard and chips werent cooked correctly.

Dinner : Yellow tail came ice cold and ladies fillet came ice cold waiter then said can he go warm it up , also asked how was the food chef wants to know EVERYONE said there werent happy as we were all talking amongst our selves, desert was rock hard with ice cream.

Overall 2 out of 10 General Service

Game Reserve 8 out of 10 (Rangers & Wildlife Only)

If they are willing to give us a second chance to stay there again we would but i pray all above was taken into account.

More staff , More cleaning , More up keeping , General Manager to be around at all times
Written 14 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your valued feedback.
Written 14 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

June D
Windsor, UK36 contributions
Jan. 2022 • Couples
We have just had a delightful weekend at this wonderful game reserve
The reserve is just over 2 hours out of Cape Town on good well signposted roads.
It is set in the succulent Karoo desert surrounded by magnificent mountains and the scenery is divine
Our accommodation was luxurious but a fabulous rustic/ bush experience was still felt
The staff were amazing and delivered excellent service
The game rangers were knowledgable and we saw a diverse and plentiful range of game
We particularly enjoyed the brilliant professional and entertaining information from Berger and Dino
The cheetah experience is unique
Highly recommend Inverdoorn
Written 31 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation. We hope you'll visit again :)
Written 8 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 370
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve

We recommend booking Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 15 Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve tours on Tripadvisor