We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good way to see the landscape

We chose to go by train to see more of the landscape than we would have done by plane. Relaxing and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Hanne H
,
Larvik Municipality, Norway
It’s lovely and an experience but it will run late

I loved the experience of this train the old cars, the old fashioned dining car, the lovely staff... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
TravelswithMrH
via mobile
Read all 213 reviews
192
All photos (192)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“blue train”(40 reviews)
“train trip”(14 reviews)
“welcome drink”(12 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
Jul
16°
Aug
17°
Sep
Contact
111 Cape Town, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
+27 860 008 888
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
59
69
34
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
69
34
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue traintrain tripwelcome drinklounge carhours late arrivingrolling stockbeds were comfortableafrican sunsouth africarecommend this tripunique experiencejhbsceneryaccommodationbeddingklerksdorpsa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

The decor is from the 70s, but well maintained, the staff courteous, friendly and proud of their train. Sitting in the lounge car watching the landscape go by is mesmerising, this is one of the most beautiful parts of Africa, that few people ever see....More

1  Thank TwobeAlive
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to go by train to see more of the landscape than we would have done by plane. Relaxing and informal atmosphere. Easy to get in contact to other passengers. We met some nice people and had a great time on the train.

1  Thank Hanne H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved the experience of this train the old cars, the old fashioned dining car, the lovely staff the scenery it is a joy to be able to experience this at such a reasonable price but be prepared as it will run late. We were...More

1  Thank TravelswithMrH
Reviewed 6 June 2018

What a great way to see South Africa. Comfortable cabin with two beds and sink. Shower and toilet just along the corridor. Excellent meals and warm welcome with glass of cold champagne and nibbles. Your senses and belly will be full by the time you...More

1  Thank Ann H
Reviewed 29 May 2018

On our honeymoon in March, my husband and I took the train from Cape Town to Johannesburg and it was a truly fascinating way to see the country. The service was great -- just make sure you account for delays due to extra stops along...More

2  Thank sarahab2018
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Sleeping on the trains in South Africa saves a lot of time. It is a shame that you cannot enjoy this level of service in the UK any more, so head off to The Commonwealth because that is where the party is happening!

Thank Paul B
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I was on the Johannesburg to Cape Town March 22 trip. Others on that trip indicated that they came with great expectations, but in the end, said the delays made the overall experience disappointing. If great expectations were based on prior reviews, especially those in...More

3  Thank Jens F
Reviewed 21 April 2018

I always enjoy rail travel and often opt for it when I can in preference to flying. Our travel dates were just on the Easter weekend so flights to George and Cape Town were prohibitively expensesive anyway so we decided to leave one day earlier...More

1  Thank Christopher K
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

What a treat! Marvellous staff. So friendly and service excellent. Food was delicious. Train spotlessly clean. Bedding crispy clean and beds very comfortable. Hot shower and flush toilet. I will definitely recommend this journey and I will do it again and again. Stress free travelling...More

Thank Sally T
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Scenery is good and varied, cabin is comfortable. Service was abysmal - rude, unfriendly and aggressive - polar opposite to hospitality and service everywhere else we traveled in South Africa. Food was average at a generous best. I saw one reviewer that likened them to...More

1  Thank Jubtin
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TravelswithMrH
16 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Bill P | Reviewed this property |
We were 2 hours late returning Joberg in February. Well worth the trip. Have you booked?
1
Vote
jenr1082
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from hiltonv521 | Reviewed this property |
The booking went relatively smooth- these are the contact numbers- hope it helps- 002763-3797548 0027-86-5846404  Skype  AfricanSunTravel-com This Email comes with the best of travel wishes from Lauren De Vos at... More
1
Vote
Cathy G
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bill P | Reviewed this property |
Check out Google Maps or Maps.me You need to go to the lower level not the main entrance. You need to go around the back of the building and come in the side entrance.
0
Votes