We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shark Zone

Features Animals
Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 82 894 4979
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome experience!

Wonderful option if you want an adrenaline rush & get close to this epic predators! This is a half... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sushil C
Great Day

The staff was great and had an excellent sense of humour! Everything worked well, the security... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
Whiskey_Tango_01
,
Helsinki, Finland
Read all 117 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
For a memorable and unique Cape Town adventure, nothing can be more exhilarating than a cage diving and surface viewing tour to meet the mighty great white shark. One of the few places in the world where white sharks can be observed regularly at any time of the year, Gansbaai is known as the shark diving capital of the world. The watery habitat of the apex predator is not glamorous and this tour is highly weather dependent - this is mother nature at her most temperamental and raw; only when you see your first flash of steely grey sliding purposefully towards the boat, will you understand the magnetic beauty of the great white shark. Indescribable. No previous diving experience is necessary to enter the cage and everything you will need to fully enjoy the tour is provided, from your meals, to your dive equipment and even the convenient and comfy shuttle that Shark Zone can provide to get you there. As Cape Town's #1 booking agent for great white shark tours, Shark Zone will make sure you get the best deal, hassle-free!
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“great whites” (7 reviews)
“shark dive” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Cape Town Central, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 894 4979
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great white sharks"
in 7 reviews
"great whites"
in 7 reviews
"shark dive"
in 6 reviews
"false bay"
in 7 reviews
"booking agent"
in 3 reviews
"professional company"
in 3 reviews
"an incredible experience"
in 3 reviews
"other companies"
in 2 reviews
"seal island"
in 4 reviews
"stephen"
in 20 reviews
"gansbaai"
in 12 reviews
"cage"
in 37 reviews
"operator"
in 11 reviews
"crew"
in 15 reviews
"boat"
in 35 reviews
"video"
in 7 reviews
"orcas"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful option if you want an adrenaline rush & get close to this epic predators! This is a half day hours with an early start & definitely worth the money.

Thank Sushil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The staff was great and had an excellent sense of humour! Everything worked well, the security briefs on the boat were very thorough (compared to scuba companies) and we actually saw three different Great Whites. The visibility in the water was poor, so you could...More

Thank Whiskey_Tango_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so pleased you had a wonderful trip. All the best for your future travels. Stephen Frank Owner Shark Zone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

My girlfriend and I signed up in the beginning of our trip. They physically wrote our names down on a list, we were #3&4 out of 16 people. We asked how much and they said just a deposit of 700 Rand. a week later we...More

6  Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN Firstly,I am an agent and have NOTHING to do with the OPERATIONS of the boat. It seems like your experience needs to be taken up with the boat operator with whom you went as I have NO KNOWLEDGE of this...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

I had previously booked through another company online before arriving into capetown, however they left my request pending and wouldn’t answer my calls, so when I arrived I booked this tour at the information desk of the airport. They were very helpful and confirmed my...More

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks David D. Appreciate the positive feedback and that you understand and accept what Mother Nature has in store for us. Safe travels and all the best for the future. Stephen Frank Owner Shark Zone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Note to all: this company is a travel agency and not the operator ( boat) for cage diving. They outsource to other companies. Today we went we shark lady. Transfer was great , on time , safe and friendly driver. Good online and WhatsApp interaction....More

Thank zazazazaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Shark Zone has always stated to be the number one agency for shark cage diving in South Africa. We ensure that our valued clients get placed with the best operators at the best prices.Clients booking directly with operators end up choosing poorly with a bad...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

It was the worst experience that I had in my trip. We couldnt see any shark and the company didnt want to refund the money, they offer to give us a voucher but It was unusefull because I leave at the next day. The women...More

Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Nicolas I am sorry that you had a bad experience. There is also a language barrier problem here as English is not your first language. We did try explain to you at the beginning of the trip that sightings are not guaranteed and that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Very well coordinated and organized tour. only because of them, I saw a shark right infront of me. Pick and drop service, hospitality and the tour experience all were perfect. Couldn’t ask for more. I also booked sky dive package through shark zone because i...More

Thank usmankirmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thanks for the kind words Usman It was a pleasure working with you and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your adventures with Shark Zone and that the weather Gods were on our side and the sharks showed up too!! Safe travels and adventures...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing! Although no one can be guaranteed to see great whites,the crew and staff were amazing efficient & professional at White Shark Ventures! The 3 Great Whites we seen will forever be a great story to tell! Thanks for the incredible experience!!!! Ninette & Doug...More

Thank Ninette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am so pleased you had a great experience. All the best for your future travels Regards Stephen Frank Shark Zone Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

The experience with the sharks became into a secondary priority. These people were just amazing acting as my alibi for my marriage proposal.I have not enough words to say how much I appreciate what you did. Nevertheless we saw some sharks, bronzies in our case,...More

Thank capotedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Daniel I am delighted that everything worked out so well including your marriage proposal!! I am delighted that we were able to facilitate the arrangements. I wish you both wonderful and happy lives together. All the best for the future. Stephen Frank Owner SHARK...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I know this problem is same to other agents. But I used this agent, so I am writing about Shark zone. Their advertisement shows that you can see the Great White Shark. But Yo can't. There are some sharks, but these sharks are small..and totally...More

4  Thank Hyoung Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Hyoung Ho L As a scuba diver you should fully understand that sightings are never guaranteed. We have been seeing Great Whites on about 50% of our trips and the sightings of them have been a bit erratic. There are only 3000 to 4000...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
ONOMO Cape Town - Inn On The Square
129 reviews
.08 km away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
451 reviews
.09 km away
Grand Daddy Hotel
401 reviews
.13 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
1,445 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
cafe Roux Cape Town
138 reviews
.04 km away
madam taitou
168 reviews
.01 km away
Fork Restaurant
1,823 reviews
.05 km away
Tiger's Milk on Long
449 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Greenmarket Square
1,164 reviews
.08 km away
Go That Way Tourist Info Centre
34 reviews
.06 km away
Green Point Market
51 reviews
.09 km away
Museum of Gems and Jewellery
5 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mahaelhajj
3 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SharksCapeTown | Property representative |
Hi, it is 2,5 hour drive from Cape Town. It takes place in a town called Gansbaai which is up the east coast. We leave around 5am in the morning and return 4pm. It includes breakfast and lunch as well as your diving... More
0
Votes
raghd18
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SharksCapeTown | Property representative |
August is usually an excellent month for shark diving and viewing tours in Gansbaai. Unfortunately we been having Orca whales that have been coming in and out of Gansbaai that have been causing problems with the sightings on... More
0
Votes