We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Tours of Alaska

Ketchikan, AK 99901
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Terrible tour; no wildlife. Big scam

This tour is the biggest waste of money and the company should be ashamed of how deceitful they... read more

Reviewed today
Donald C
There must be better options!

We had not booked a tour and my husband was talked into this tour when we were on the dock. It... read more

Reviewed yesterday
KarenKwag
,
Sydney Australia
Read all 59 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible41%
Travellers talk about
“herring cove” (5 reviews)
“totem park” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
LOCATION
Ketchikan, AK 99901
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herring cove"
in 5 reviews
"totem park"
in 7 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 9 reviews
"trolley driver"
in 2 reviews
"black beans"
in 5 reviews
"salmon ladder"
in 3 reviews
"nice tour"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 2 reviews
"clan house"
in 2 reviews
"totems"
in 14 reviews
"alaska"
in 11 reviews
"cub"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"brothel"
in 2 reviews
"fishing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed today

This tour is the biggest waste of money and the company should be ashamed of how deceitful they are. They will tell you, "The salmon were swimming yesterday and we saw so many bears yesterday". Somehow the wildlife is always out "yesterday" but not the...More

Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

We had not booked a tour and my husband was talked into this tour when we were on the dock. It simply was not conducted professionally. We were there in May at the start of the tourist season. The driver was a local man who...More

Thank KarenKwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this tour last minute as we walked off the cruise ship in Ketchikan. The person who sold it to us said wonderful things about it.....that it was narrated the entire trip and how great the tour was. All wrong. The driver/tour guide knew...More

Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils U, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Tours of Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your comments so we can improve our tours. But we need to know who your driver/guide was on this tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I know there are some bad reviews on here but my mother and I were on a cruise and our ship got into port a bit late and we missed our excursion and were trying to find a way to see the totem poles when...More

Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to take a tour of Ketchikan DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT use this people. Worst tour , company ever!!!! Owner is rude and don’t care about what customers have to say ,didn’t delivery what was promised.More

1  Thank Bruna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils U, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Tours of Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments, we are always looking for ways to improve our tours. I however do not see why you had a problem with our tour. What did we not deliver that was promised? Our sales staff are instructed never to promise wildlife...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Really bad tour where we were promised 3 hours until we paid. Once on the tour it would only be 2 hours. The driver was not very good either since he had no idea about Alaskan history or culture. We mentioned this to management who...More

1  Thank JDBlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils U, Owner at Northern Tours of Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

This family bought our Trolley Tour. When they were about to board there were not enough seats where they could all sit together. We then put them on a private van tour for the same price and apparently they still were not happy. Our private...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

When we got off the cruise ship walked past several booths and a guy gave a glossy brochure saying there is a tour leaving in 10 minutes with 2 seats left. We had to make a quick decision and as the tour sounded ok we...More

Thank GS2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My sister had gone on the same cruse we went on a month before we went and told us to look for Northern Tours and go on the Trolley. So we did and we got lucky enough to get to go on the trolley. The...More

Thank janmonsonut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Worse tour we have ever taken. 30 minute ride to a random park with a couple of totem poles... 15 minutes for gift shop that they obviously get kickback. Then another 30 to a side of a road to "see bears"... we saw one seal...More

Thank mmherrera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Our tour guide took us to a place where he knew bears had been sighted right off. We got to see a black bear very close up. I think we had Ben??? as our tour guide. He was friendly, a little quiet, but he seemed...More

Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Ketchikan
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
29 reviews
.31 km away
The Landing Hotel
391 reviews
.44 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Ketchikan
248 reviews
1.78 km away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
114 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Landing Restaurant
98 reviews
.40 km away
Jeremiah's Pub
70 reviews
.46 km away
The Point
26 reviews
1.52 km away
Stone Deck Pizza
49 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Point
17 reviews
1.52 km away
Taquan Air Tours
431 reviews
.44 km away
Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours
369 reviews
1.34 km away
Adventure Kart Expedition
269 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Saddle
14 April 2016|
Answer
Response from zuuucrazy | Reviewed this property |
Yes when you can walk directly into town as the ships all dock right in the heart of downtown. Northern Tours of Alaska by far was the best tour company that showed me the best 2 plus hours. Remember the ships are only there... More
3
Votes
;