We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road)

206 Xinle Road | Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
+86 21 5403 9982
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Uncomfortable Experience

I've been living in Shanghai for over 7 months and been trying several massage companies. I find... read more

Reviewed 4 July 2017
Annelies-VanBaelen
Bad Experience This Tme

I have been going to Dragonfly Spa several times per year for years, generally to this Xinle Rd... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2017
Jollywa
,
Alberta
Read all 14 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Come and relax with us in our flagship retreat in the former French Concession of Shanghai! Dragonfly is China's leading chain of contemporary urban retreats offering relaxing massage and beauty services to busy expatriates, weary travelers, and sophisticated local customers. Dragonfly retreats are oases of calm that feature fusion Asian decor, dim lighting, tranquil sounds, wonderful fragrances and a romantic ambience second to none.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good21%
  • Average0%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible14%
1 Jan 2017
“Tres bon soin relaxant”
3 Jul 2017
“Uncomfortable Experience”
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 02:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
206 Xinle Road | Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Former French Concession
CONTACT
Website
+86 21 5403 9982
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

I've been living in Shanghai for over 7 months and been trying several massage companies. I find Dragonfly the best and normally go to their Nanchang Road venue. However last time I got quite irritated as the receptionist could not stop pushing me to upgrade...More

Thank Annelies-VanBaelen
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I have been going to Dragonfly Spa several times per year for years, generally to this Xinle Rd location, but not always. I went there for a shellac manicure and pedicure two days ago. It was not my usual pleasant experience. There was one person...More

Thank Jollywa
RandalEastman, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. I must apologize for what happened here and will look into this immediately to ensure it does not happen again. Can you please send me a personal message so that I can follow up with you?...More

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Though slightly more expensive than the other massage chains, but this is one of the places where you actually get what you pay for. The ambiance in the Xinle Lu branch is very serene and peaceful (they just renovated the place). Staff are always speaking...More

Thank Daphne_CBT
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your praise. We pride ourselves on providing a real, quiet and relaxing retreat - from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of us are surrounded by a steady stream of noise in our daily lives - and we occasionally need...More

Reviewed 2 January 2017

It was 1h30 of pure relaxation, we really enjoyed it. Price is a little bit expensive but the prestation is great (1400 rmb for 1h30 for 2 people for 30 min scrub and 1hour massage) The place is in a great location, surrounded by restaurants.More

Thank alice p
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words about your 90 minutes of relaxation. This is music to our ears because our motto is to "Relax the World" and our brand promise is that you will leave feeling more relaxed than when you arrived - on each...More

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Dragonfly used to be very good but not anymore. The receptionist was in a hurry for unknown reasons. The room noisy from the club next door. They changed us to a so called VIP room but it must have also been a store room. It...More

Thank Tina L
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

I've been to a couple of local Chinese massage places and although they are cheaper, I recommend paying the extra for the professionalism and atmosphere of this spa. They cater towards expats by creating a western spa experience. The rooms at dim, with real waterfalls,...More

1  Thank annja2015
Reviewed 26 August 2015

With fond memories of our last experience at Dragonfly, my husband and I called in for an impromptu massage. I opted for the 'Top to Toe' (where head/shoulders and feet are massage simultaneously) and my husband opted for a head and shoulders massage. We were...More

Thank MelbTraveller2012
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I went in a group of 4 without a booking and they managed to fit us in immediately. I opted for the Ultimate Indulgence package. The foot massage was great, but I found it too intense. I think it was personal preference as my friend...More

Thank chacharlee
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Typhoon Chan Hom stranded me in Shanghai. All the stress of work and travel changes vanished after Dragonfly's Neck and Shoulders Massage. Clean, friendly, professional, good value. Call to make an appointment to avoid waiting.

1  Thank Michaelwix
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After almost a week of walking around Shanghai in summer sandals and the odd pair of heels, my poor feet have revolted in pain. I booked into Dragonfly for an hour long Oriental foot massage, hoping it would provide some relief. Upon arrival I was...More

1  Thank MelbTraveller2012
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear MelbTraveller2012, We are SO happy that you chose Dragonfly and we were able to make a difference in your trip. We have designed our retreats in a way that allows you forget the worries of a long day and simply doze off as we...More

Nearby
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly
governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French
Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that
is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While
it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will
sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their
mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area
seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet,
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Sichuan Citizen
235 reviews
.20 km away
AL'S DINER
41 reviews
.02 km away
BaoLuo Restaurant
63 reviews
.13 km away
Sushi Oyama
69 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Iapm Shopping Mall
22 reviews
.46 km away
Jing'an Temple Square
33 reviews
.44 km away
Chinese Printed Blue Nankeen Exhibition Hall
11 reviews
.25 km away
Parkson Shopping Center (HAI)
11 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ehorwich
23 June 2017|
Answer
Response from RandalEastman | Property representative |
Sorry that the prices are not indicated on the website. We are in the midst of redoing our menus and our website. In our Xinle retreat massage starts at 188 RMB per hour. (this is about $28 USD) Thanks for your inquiry!
0
Votes