We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road)

2F, No. 559 Nanchang Road | Above Baker One Restaurant, Shanghai 200031, China
+86 21 5456 1318
Save
Review Highlights
Fuss Free Treat

Dragonfly is a longstanding establishment that is quite popular with folks not native to Shanghai... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2016
A5459RQbiancab
,
Shanghai
via mobile
Very Relaxing

I had a great 60 minute Chinese massage here. It was one of the best I've had in China. Good price... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2016
Sara S
Read all 30 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Come and relax with us nearby the IAPM on Huaihai Road, Shanghai! Dragonfly is China's leading chain of contemporary urban retreats offering relaxing massage and beauty services to busy expatriates, weary travelers, and sophisticated local customers. Dragonfly retreats are oases of calm that feature fusion Asian decor, dim lighting, tranquil sounds, wonderful fragrances and a romantic ambience second to none. Stylish places to be pampered alone, with a partner or a friend.
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible26%
22 Oct 2016
“Fuss Free Treat”
6 Oct 2016
“Very Relaxing”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 00:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
2F, No. 559 Nanchang Road | Above Baker One Restaurant, Shanghai 200031, China
Former French Concession
CONTACT
+86 21 5456 1318
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Dragonfly is a longstanding establishment that is quite popular with folks not native to Shanghai. Their website is informative and easy to navigate. I made a reservation and was able to check for the outlet closest to me and made an appointment very easily. The...More

Thank A5459RQbiancab
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We are pleased that you were easily able to make a reservation. One of our hallmarks for the past 13 years has been the ease of booking with our English speaking receptionists. We try to make our website as easy to navigate as possible -...More

Reviewed 7 October 2016

I had a great 60 minute Chinese massage here. It was one of the best I've had in China. Good price in a clean location.More

Thank Sara S
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We are happy to hear that you get as much pleasure from our classic 60 minute Chinese massage - as we do. We try to add many finishing touches to make the experience a total break from busy urban life - as much for your...More

Reviewed 31 August 2015

I must start saying that I live in Shanghai for 2 years and I've tried a lot of different places around, also other Dragonfly places. Yes, we all know that Dragonfly it's quite expensive compared to other places in Shanghai, however the place it's very...More

1  Thank MatthewDD
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Nothing makes us happier than to hear of the personal connection that one of our talented therapists has made with one of our customers. This is the greatest reward for us to see. We are pleased to know that John was able to relieve you...More

Reviewed 15 February 2015

My 90 minute Chinese massage at Nanching retreat was terrible. The therapist only knew 1 technique (squeezing), which she repeated over and over for 90 minutes. She demonstrated no ability to recognize tight muscles that need extra work, and no basic physiology or understanding of...More

Thank T B
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience and are sure that this was an anomaly. We will be on the alert to make sure it never happens again!

Reviewed 28 September 2014

Once again Dragon fly have proved that they are just in business to take money. My friends bought me over 1000rmb in certificates to treat myself to a spa day. Some were gift and some were massage. However, due to back surgery I can not...More

Thank hktans
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Dear HK Tans, I am sorry but I have tried to reach you personally to talk about what happened here but so far with no luck. If you have a moment and would not mind please send me a message to randal@dragonfly.net.cn so I can...More

Reviewed 17 September 2014

Dragonfly SPA centers offering various relaxation massage styles. Ambiance and environment is well decorated and it helps you to relax and forget everything that disturbs you.More

2  Thank Oguz A
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Oguz, We are very happy to hear that enjoyed your visit and found the ambience and environment of our retreat to be relaxing. It is our ultimate goal that every customer can completely escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and to...More

Reviewed 17 September 2014

We went to Dragon fly although based on reviews I had read, what a mistake. This place was absolutely awful, old, not updated, and walls peeling.I knew the minute we entered we should have left. Being so polite we did not leave. The technicians were...More

Thank sanmerle
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Sammerle, Thank you for your comments which have really given us a blast today! I believe that you must have visited another shop, not the Nanchang road retreat, but regardless if we provided you such an underwhelming experience in any of our retreats -...More

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was taken to Drangonfly Therapeutic Retreat during my business trip in Shanghai. The place is great, the moment you enter you forget all your shedules, meetings, worries. The smell, the music, the wooden buiding isolates you from everything else. The masseuse had incredible strong...More

Thank DUTMichelle
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Michelle from Valencia, Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to Dragonfly. We are so happy to hear that you had a terrific experience - and were truly able to escape from the business of Shanghai. While some of our luxurious packages...More

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our non-stop touring in and around Shanghai had my feet just begging for a little pampering. We stopped in without an appointment and only had to wait a few minutes. The environment is cozy and warm and the room is dark and tranquil. First they...More

1  Thank AngieB253
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Angie, Thank you for sharing your relaxing experience. Although we offer a full range of beauty services now we started 10 years ago just with massage, and our house specialty has always been our Oriental Foot Massage. We are very proud of the pampering...More

Reviewed 16 September 2013

A colleague convinced me to go and try the traditional foot massage, after a long day with meetings, we entered the place at 21:30 pm and were ushered into a dark room with reclining chairs..... The girl put a nice warm towel on my stomach,...More

2  Thank genocks
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Genocks, I am really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first Dragonfly foot massage. I am not sure if this was your first foot massage ever - or just your first with us, but I want to tell you that this is our...More

Nearby
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly
governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French
Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that
is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While
it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will
sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their
mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area
seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet,
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Spread the Bagel
23 reviews
.08 km away
Seesaw Coffee (K11)
10 reviews
.19 km away
Gaia 2 Ristorante&Bar
18 reviews
.17 km away
Boduoxin Kee (Fuxing)
8 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huaihai Road Commercial Street
83 reviews
.49 km away
Shanghai Museum of Arts and Crafts
66 reviews
.59 km away
Iapm Shopping Mall
22 reviews
.13 km away
Changle Road
16 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Nanchang Road) staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit