We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mahmya

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Giftun Island, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number: +20 100 111 9792
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 90.00*
and up
Giftun Island Mahmya Beach and Snorkeling Day Trip from Hurghada
More Info
USD 73.59*
and up
Mahmaya: Giftun Island Snorkeling Cruise

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,460 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 547
    Excellent
  • 137
    Very good
  • 64
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Part of Haven

I have not see this clean water any were Love it clean white sand Fantastic experiment Can not have enough of it

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
alsawy911
,
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have not see this clean water any were Love it clean white sand Fantastic experiment Can not have enough of it

Helpful?
Thank alsawy911
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a day trip to this island that also included a boat trip and snorkeling trip. The island is well organised to look after visitors. There are wonderful sands leading into gentle water where you can snorkel in safety and see some wonderful marine life. A boat trip not to be missed

Helpful?
Thank BILL C
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a great review; we are pleased you enjoyed your experience on Mahmya and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were promised an amazing island but in reality it was very windy and not that much to do other than sunbathe.the views from the top were to die for but the snorkeling let it down. Food was provided but basic. Not worth the money I'm afraid. Try the royal cruise it's far far better and passes the island so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to hear about your experience in order to improve our quality and services. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful area for snorkling and diving 11 kilometer from the shore takes about 1 hour by boat there are about 6 areas for diving

Helpful?
Thank Ashraf E
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review; we are pleased you had an amazing experience on Mahmya and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Giftun Island trip is great for the reefs and snorkelling, but Giftun Island, despite being beautiful, was like a cattle market and you can only spend 1 hour max there.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it - however it is possible that you were not actually on Mahmya. In the morning our boats depart from our custom made Mahmya Beach Marina and sail directly to Mahmya where you spend the whole day. Midday you have the option of going for a snorkeling excursion by boat and return to... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very nice, relaxing, and enjoyable place. You can have a day on the beach, relax and have a meal, or you can have a drink at the bar. The beach there is wonderful, the water clear and the sand soft and clean. The food is tasty and of good quality. A must see if you are in Hurghada, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherifakhaled
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a nice review; we are pleased you had an good experience on Mahmya and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Don't go to Mahmya. It's a desolate hovel with nothing to do or see. We went briefly to Giftum island as part of a snorkeling trip and were really glad we didn't do the 'paradise island' 4 hour trip.

Helpful?
Thank Neil R
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it - however it is possible that you were not actually on Mahmya. In the morning our boats depart from our custom made Mahmya Beach Marina and sail directly to Mahmya where you spend the whole day. Midday you have the option of going for a snorkeling excursion by boat and return to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved everything about it, the beach, the food, the snorkeling Tripp was amazing. Would definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Dareen G
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to hear about your experience. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your day with us on Mahmya! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stopped here for lunch during dolphin house snorkeling day. Be careful at the bar, they never seem to have "change" when you pay for drinks. can be costly, £3 for a tin of coke. Prices alway just over 50 egp or just over 100 egp, bet they make quite a few extra pounds with that old trick. Glad lunch was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian I
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it - however it is clear that you were not on Mahmya, as we do not have a 'dolphin house snorkeling day'. In the morning our boats depart from our custom made Mahmya Beach Marina and sail directly to Mahmya where you spend the whole day. Midday you have the option of going... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Small patch stuck on the end of an island, enjoyed the boat trip but island was disappointing having done this in the caribbean islands.

Helpful?
Thank CatherineBod
Mahmya, Director of Sales at Mahmya, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it - however it is possible that you were not actually on Mahmya? In the morning our boats depart from our custom made Mahmya Beach Marina and sail directly to Mahmya where you spend the whole day. Midday you have the option of going for a snorkeling excursion by boat and return to... More 

Travellers who viewed Mahmya also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Mahmya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mahmya and other visitors
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Mahmya staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?