We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mara Triangle

Features Animals
Masai Mara National Reserve 00619, Kenya
+254 725 789273
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Spectacular landscape with so much wildlife

We had not been to Kenya on Safari for many years. We were amazed with the numbers of elephants... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Peter R
,
Dartford, United Kingdom
Yes, you definitely must go there!

Animals, which you can see on another places in Africa as wall, but in unexpectable numbers, like... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
izret
,
Brno, Czech Republic
Read all 560 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Mara is a beautiful but sensitive environment that can survive only if properly respected. Well-watered by the Mara River, enjoying abundant vegetation, wildlife and rainfall, its ecology would appear, at first sight, to be relatively resilient. It also appears to have withstood the erosive effects of huge numbers of visiting tourists extraordinarily well. There are signs, however, that the delicate balance between tourist numbers and wildlife populations cannot be properly maintained for much longer as evidenced by the reduction in the protective vegetation cover and the emergence of a series of dust bowls. Meanwhile, the Reserve is host to 95 species of mammals, amphibians and other reptiles and 485 species of birds. During the dry season (July to October) it also hosts a major concentration of migratory herbivores including about 250,000 zebra and 1.3 million wildebeest. Amongst the list of easy-to-view species are: gazelle, elephant, topi, buffalo, lion (Kenya's largest population), black rhino, hippo, hyena, giraffe, leopard and mongoose.
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the river” (41 reviews)
“the reserve” (22 reviews)
LOCATION
Masai Mara National Reserve 00619, Kenya
CONTACT
Website
+254 725 789273
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had not been to Kenya on Safari for many years. We were amazed with the numbers of elephants, giraffes, wildebeest and buffalos that there were. From the top of one ridge with the plain laid out before us the sheer number of animals was...More

1  Thank Peter R
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you reviewing us. We are happy you enjoyed your trip

Reviewed 3 days ago

Animals, which you can see on another places in Africa as wall, but in unexpectable numbers, like hundreds, thousands of whatever species. Wow. Migrating animals from Serengeti to Masai Mara and backwards.

Thank izret
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This is the place mainly from where the animals migrated from Kenya to Tanzania in the month of September In thousand of numbers In a que where as we the human being never in Que The best place to see the migration of animals But...More

Thank Asha G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been to several Safari Destinations in Africa I surely recommend the Mara Triangle as one of the best: Great wildlife and migration, stunning landscape. A good variety of camps from low Budget to Luxury gives everyone a place to stay at.

Thank nordi32
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't say enough about the Mara Triangle. We were there during the Annual Migration. We saw tons of wildebeest crossing the river. There was a lioness killing them as they came up on our side of the river. She got three of them while...More

Thank Les B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me get this out of the way.. No we did not see a crossing. we were a little late or the crossings happened a little early. But that does not make it any less exciting. Mara will never disappoint. Pros: 1. Wildlife in abundance....More

Thank Iniyan G
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for elaborating the features of your trip. We are happy you had a nice driver and you saw all the big five. hoping to see you again

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there in mid September, but there's no sign of wildebeest crossing the river... A few zebras were in water, but chickened out last minute... Our guide said most of them have crossed and on their way back to Tanzania this year. There's no...More

Thank jaylowe
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for rating us. This year was not like any other years, the wildebeest left too soon and it was because of the rains in Serengeti that made them to move earlier than expected. we look forward for your next visit and may be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The river crossing by migrating hordes of Wildebeest is an amazing sight during the months of August- September. We reached the Mara triangle by noon. You need to station there for better part of the day,as told by our guide, a local forest ranger, to...More

Thank KC67_12
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for rating us. Mara conservancy is committed in conserving wild animals and we have put plans to reduce the death toll of wildebeest during. We have identified one spot where wildebeest like to cross but never make to the other side due to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sept is a good month because there is migration but not the crossing that brings the crowds. We saw a leopard. Several sighting of cheetahs. Including five meals who had just taken a wildebeest. We enjoyed watching seven lion Cubs playing at dusk with the...More

Thank sharronc413
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for rating us

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Triangle is the Mara Conservancy initiative where they collect entry ticket into the Mara. This money goes towards supporting animal conservation efforts. The people manning the gate are not well trained in hospitality so it need patience. The entry ticket for a non resident...More

Thank vivek0210
Mara T, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Triangle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us. Sorry for how things were handled at the gate and I promise we shall take our staff for a course in customer care to improve on the general experience of the guest.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Serengeti Sunset Restaurant
63.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mara River
1,489 reviews
31.80 km away
Mara Naboisho Conservancy
159 reviews
36.08 km away
Ol Kinyei Conservancy
120 reviews
52.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
alexclaw
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from alexclaw |
Thanks Mercy, I Already booked the tour. Regards!
0
Votes