We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 119.37*
and up
Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
USD 107.36*
and up
Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure
More Info
USD 476.76*
and up
Oahu Day Trip to Pearl Harbor from the Big Island

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 42 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
See it all!

We did the circle island tour and we're very happy with it. It's a long day, but you see a lot! Be prepared for it to be 12 to 13 hours long. We had Sal who told us facts about... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2017
outoftown85
,
outoftown85
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
outoftown85
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We did the circle island tour and we're very happy with it. It's a long day, but you see a lot! Be prepared for it to be 12 to 13 hours long. We had Sal who told us facts about the island and personal stories along the way. Our trip included Kona coffee for 15 mins so tasting only, Punaluu... More 

Helpful?
Thank outoftown85
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2017

My boyfriend and I were very pleased by our Polynesian Adventure Tour on the Big Island. Leroy was our driver. As other reviewers have mentioned, drivers can make or break the experience, and Leroy truly made our experience wonderful. He was engaging, polite, and friendly. He is also very knowledgeable about topics as wide-ranging as geology and local botany to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeffa7267
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Second broken down bus on two tours with Grey Line Polynesian Adventures. Once on Maui to Haleakala on February 5 and once on Hawaii en route to Hawaii National Park on February 7. Both trips were excursions from Norwegian Cruise Lines. Apparently the level of bus maintenance is poor.

Helpful?
Thank MHF100
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your tour experience. Our vehicles undergo regular scheduled maintenance and our main goal is to provide guests with a safe and comfortable experience. We apologize for the unusual circumstances on your tours. Mahalo! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Pack for a big day is our advice. Pick up at 5am and back at 10pm. We had a great tour guide Captain Bob,he was hands down the most informative guide we have ever come across made the trip 100xx better. Biggest tip is don't pick the lunch from the order at the start of the morning choose from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JD d
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was a very long day starting with a 5 am hotel pickup and return at 10 pm return. I was so excited about the chance to see an active caldera. Unfortunately we were always at quite a great distance. Only the afternoon was at the national park, starting with an overly expensive lunch. We were shown a menu in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louisa H
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Louisa, We'd like to thank you for posting a review of your tour experience. Our goal is to provide each guest with a great experience and we regret that your expectations were not met. If you return to the islands, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back! More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I will admit to being disappointed because I asked for a tour to the volcano and the lava flow and I was booked on the grand circle tour instead. I also did not like at 6am pickup from the hotel. Tour set off around 8 from Kona, and the first stop was a coffee museum which is also an active... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca N
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Becca, Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed recount of your tour. We appreciate the feedback you provided and are glad that you enjoyed some of the stops. The viewing of lava is unpredictable, but we agree that walking through the ancient Thurston lava tubes is truly impressive. Thank you for recommending this tour for those... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great day learning about the Hilo side of Hawaii and Volcanoes National Park. Our driver/guide knew everything that there possibly was to know and shared it constantly. At no time did she stop talking (we found this was a good and bad thing). The tour started with a slow tour through the Main Street of Hilo and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkybedStyle
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha SkybedStyle, Mahalo for the wonderfully detailed review of your Big Island Volcano Adventure experience! We are certain that guests will benefit from the stop by stop recap of the tour. Thank you for your compliments of your knowledgeable Driver Guide. It’s great to hear that you felt that the entire tour experience went by quickly. On a return trip... More 

Sugar Land
Level Contributor
411 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We took this tour thinking we would have access to lava fields we wouldn't be able to get to on our own. We were so wrong. We knew we were in trouble when the first stop was 20 minutes at a convenience store so that we could pick up snacks and refreshments for the day. Another 25 minutes stop at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg W
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Greg, We are sorry to hear that your expectations of the Volcano Adventure Tour were not met. Our knowledgeable drivers provide live narration throughout the tour, while guests sit back, relax and enjoy. The stops do include Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory and Akatsuka Orchid Gardens where over 1,000 exotic orchids and tropical plants are on display which are... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I booked this tour through Hawaiidiscount.com and got a great deal for the Volcano tour (80 bucks compared to the 92 dollars that Polynesian Adventure tours normally charges for adults). Even if I had to pay more I still would have taken this tour because it was well worth it. Our tour guide, Jon Kala, was one of the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eduardo P
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Eduardo, Thank you for your very comprehensive review – it was a pleasure reading it! We appreciate all of your compliments of your experience on the Big Island Volcano Adventure Tour. Especially great was your praise for your Driver Guide. It’s so great that he was not only knowledgeable and entertaining, but you noted that he was the best... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

A long and tiring day but can understand that to see everything in one day that this must be. The tour once on Big Island did not start well, told that we must get of the bus at a back street coffee shop and we were left for over 30 minutes in miserable weather ☹ my American travellers voiced their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Lynne, It’s great that you enjoyed the sites on your Volcano tour. Thank you for providing feedback which has been shared with the management team for appropriate follow-up. A stop is made at Keaukaha General Store where guests have the option of purchasing refreshments. If guests choose not to get off at the store, the Driver Guide does invite... More 

Travellers who viewed Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?