We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Wine wine wine down it goes

Beautiful reds, totally worth the visit first time here but our server knew his stuff was really... read more

Reviewed 19 March 2017
GoPlaces160767
via mobile
Best wine tasting selection on the Island

This winery is located against a gorgeous backdrop of rolling hills, and dramatic valleys. Tucked... read more

Reviewed 20 February 2017
WanderLust406
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 76 reviews
92
All photos (92)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cellar door”(7 reviews)
“wine tasting”(12 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
14°
Sep
15°
10°
Oct
17°
11°
Nov
Contact
76 Onetangi Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-372 6846
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Waiheke Island
from USD 124.60
More Info
from USD 101.00
More Info
from USD 128.00
More Info
from USD 84.20
More Info
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Te Motu Vineyard
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
39
20
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
39
20
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar doorcabernet sauvignonwine tastingtasting roomtasting feefriendly servicewonderful winenew zealandteredswineryservercomplexitybottlebordeauxproducerswineries
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 50 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful reds, totally worth the visit first time here but our server knew his stuff was really chatty and friendly. He obviously loves his job!

Thank GoPlaces160767
Craig B, General Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Cheers Thanks for the review - our staff really know how to respond to our customers, especially when they are enjoying themselves. Everything in moderation of course. Regards

Reviewed 20 February 2017

This winery is located against a gorgeous backdrop of rolling hills, and dramatic valleys. Tucked away in the shadow of the more well known Stoneyridge Vineyard is Te Motu Vineyard. Dollar for dollar you get a better value for a flat $20 wine tasting which...More

Thank WanderLust406
Craig B, General Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks WanderLust We really enjoy sharing our wines with our customers and as you indicate, we feel that it is very important that wines of this quality deserve the extra attention and effort. Hope to see you over this way again soon. Regards

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

It was expesive it was only the second winery we visited and we learnt since that it was definitely over priced!!! The service lady was rude and the wine was very average saddly would say go somewhere else not worth the money!!More

1  Thank Hellie B
Craig B, General Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Hellie B Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the experience - wine tasting is a very personal and subjective exercise and although our wines are very highly rated by wine experts, we accept that they not be for everyone....More

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Stopped off for a tasting here. Ended up buying a case! Very knowledgeable staff and not pushy on the sales at all. Lovely setting and would love to try the restaurant next time.

Thank LKMankie74
Craig B, General Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi LK Great to hear that you enjoyed our wines so much. You won't be disappointed by the restaurant either. See you soon Regards Craig

Reviewed 20 December 2016

A smaller vineyard so more intimate than the larger vineyards on the island. Very pleasant to spend an hour or two with friends without hoards of tourists. We really enjoyed the wines on offer and the beautiful sunny afternoon we spent there.

Thank Sandra825
Craig B, General Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi Sandra, Many thanks for your review. Look forward to seeing you out here again Kind regards Craig

Reviewed 15 December 2016

OK, today we visited 3 vineyards, Man O War, Obsidian and Te Motu, and before I go further I will admit that I am no wine expert - I know what I like, but does that mean I know a good wine from a poor...More

Thank NickGates
Craig B, Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Hi Nick Many thanks for your review. The most fascinating thing about running a cellar door operation is that everyone knows what they like as every palate is individual - so please don't downplay your own ability as a wine expert. You like what you...More

Reviewed 8 December 2016

We didn't know that this place existed. It was recommended by several sommeliers that we go next door to Stonyridge. However, when we got to Stonyridge, their tasting policy (pay by the glass) was absolutely ridiculous (I'll review that one soon). So, as we excited...More

Thank Zigmonster
Craig B, Manager at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Hi Zig Thanks for the review - enjoy those wines. Do make sure that you visit us again if you are ever back this way. Regards Craig

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Best experience in New Zealand! Craig and Kate are fabulous. The wine and food were excellent. Would recommend to everyone!

Thank christina9802
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We met friends for Te Motu's American Thanksgiving feast - wow, a beautiful take on the classic! Each dish representing a traditional component with such a surprising twist: oysters with cranberry sauce, kumara with blue cheese, of course beautiful carved turkey, and pumpkin cheesecake for...More

Thank Fran K
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We enjoyed talking with Kate. She gaves us a new map and wrote notes of places to visit. She went out of her way to be helpful.

Thank CarolisMyRealtor
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
43 reviews
1.89 km away
Waiheke Island Motel
9 reviews
1.89 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
117 reviews
2.39 km away
Te Whau Lodge
139 reviews
2.86 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 61 restaurants in Waiheke Island
Casita Miro
980 reviews
.71 km away
The Shed Te Motu
265 reviews
.05 km away
The Boathouse Cafe & Bar
278 reviews
1.36 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
547 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 84 attractions in Waiheke Island
Obsidian Vineyard
160 reviews
.89 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
182 reviews
.30 km away
Tantalus Estate Vineyard & Winery
150 reviews
.46 km away
Adventure Fishing Charters
7 reviews
1.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisa_d17
15 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from CraigB3776 | Property representative |
Hi Astrid, Thanks for your query. Yes, there is a walking track between these two properties. As it crosses private property it is important that you get clear directions from either Obsidian or Te Motu before setting off... More
0
Votes