We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden

Open Now: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Lunch with the family

We haven't been to Fairhaven before, and only stopped there on a whim, well wanted to use the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Norfolk-Steve1952
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
lunch for three

A pleasant meal with elderly mother. Access was good to the restaurant- very warm and cosy. Staff... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Loretta R
,
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Read all 423 reviews
281
All photos (281)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(116 reviews)
“tree roots”(9 reviews)
About
Enjoy a relaxing and peaceful day out away from the hustle and bustle in our 130 acre organic woodland garden with our exclusive broad. Wander the 3 miles of fully-accessible paths, take a trip on our boat Primrose then enjoy a cream tea or light...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
School Road, South Walsham NR13 6DZ, England
Website
+44 1603 270449
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
224
128
42
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
224
128
42
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip tree roots mobility scooter lots of water autumn colours afternoon tea for sale scones st benets abbey beautiful flowers tea room lovely place round the gardens lovely walk entry fee plenty of seats cream tea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We haven't been to Fairhaven before, and only stopped there on a whim, well wanted to use the facilities really. But the food smelt nice in the cafe so we decided to eat there. Nice and clean, with pleasant staff. Food was pretty good all...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Norfolk-Steve1952
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you called in and enjoyed your lunch and are planning to return and visit the garden. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 1 week ago

A pleasant meal with elderly mother. Access was good to the restaurant- very warm and cosy. Staff very pleasant and food was excellent- soup/ Lasagna/ mushroom stew- all a cut above ordinary. Main meals about £6 or so, deserts £3-4

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Loretta R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely way to walk off the chocolate calories stacked on over the Christmas period . We absolutely loved wandering through the woodland in peace and tranquility whilst squirrels scampered and birds flapped our dog who is scared of other dogs loved being able...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank princessfiona1971
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Fiona Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. I am very pleased that you all enjoyed exploring the garden and that you are planning to return. Thank you Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As part of a 27-strong Great Railway Journey’s Group, my wife and myself visited the Fairhaven Woodlands and Water Garden at South Walsham this afternoon. Our visit started and ended in the excellent tea house where there is a good range of beverages and goodies...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Steve B
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Steve, Thank you so much for your review and recommendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your guided tour in the garden. Thank you also for your kind comments about the tearoom. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is with regret that I am writing to feedback about a negative experience that's we had on Saturday 15th December 2018. I feel it is important to let you know so that you can improve this experience in the future. We were very dissatisfied....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LouiseW1470
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Louise Thank you for your review. As you have noted, we have replied to your email about our Father Christmas event. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Father Christmas. As we said in the reply to you, we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think this is a new venture for The Gardens. All I can say is it was EXCELLENT. The starters were fantastic and a large plateful. The ham hock terrine came with a pickle which was really tasty. Everything was made on the premises. The...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank janc827
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas celebrations with us and will pass on your kind comments to the tearoom team. And yes we will continue to offer evening service. Thank you Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 23 November 2018

We spent a very enjoyable autumn afternoon exploring the woodland, which is beautifully and sensitively kept. The tearooms are cosy and we recommend the sausage rolls. Staff are friendly and helpful, and there's a small shop inside the cafe. The photographic exhibition was lovely too....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 947amandag
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed exploring the garden and visiting the tearoom and Stephen Mole's photography exhibition. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 18 November 2018

We go here often and at different times of the year as there is always something different to see each time, this time we called into there cafe for lunch which was a bit disappointing, we both ordered sausage sandwiches which should have been an...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Tony H
Dickson_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear Tony Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoy visiting the garden, but am disappointed to hear of your experience in the tearoom. Your feedback is very helpful and will be discussed with the tearoom staff. Thank you...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018

I went with my sister and we were pleasantly surprised. We started off by having a coffee and homemade cake each in the cafe, and booking a boat trip. This left us 90 minutes to wander in the gardens on our way down to the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jamescheshunt
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear James Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. I am so pleased that you and your sister enjoyed exploring the garden and taking the boat trip. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 28 October 2018

I visited Fairhaven with my daughter, whom I was home-educating at the time. We had a walk around the gardens and enjoyed a boat trip on the broad. We had lunch in the cafe which serves wonderful home cooked food. We visited the shop and...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Mia M
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Mia Thank you very much for your review, recommendations and kind words about our staff, which are much appreciated. Paul Fairhaven Garden

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
435 reviews
4.65 km away
Hotel Wroxham
551 reviews
8.09 km away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
834 reviews
9.57 km away
Sutton Staithe Hotel
107 reviews
10.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Ship Inn
473 reviews
.42 km away
Maltsters Pub & Restaurant
531 reviews
1.58 km away
The White Horse
215 reviews
2.86 km away
Scooters Cafe
127 reviews
4.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Ranworth Broad
142 reviews
1.97 km away
Eastwood Whelpton
46 reviews
3.32 km away
Pirates Island Adventure Golf
18 reviews
5.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Linda J
18 December 2018|
Answer
Response from Dickson_Tours | Property representative |
Hello Linda, Thank you for your question. There isn't a family day ticket at Fairhaven Garden. Entry is adult £6.85, concessions £6.60, child £3.95 (under 5 free). There is an annual family membership - £55 for... More
0
Votes
Joe G
24 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Dickson_Tours | Property representative |
Hello Joe, please can you let us know what type of work you are looking for. Thank you Paul
0
Votes
mick1942606
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pink_Primula | Property representative |
Our 2017 Admission prices are; Inc. donation (Not inc. donation) Adults £6.75 (£6.14) Concs £6.15 (£5.59) Child £3.85 (£3.50) U 5's... More
1
Vote