We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Ghost Tours

Williamstown, Australia
More
About Lantern Ghost Tours
Be incarcerated in a Lunatic asylum, visit an abandoned morgue or be a ghost hunter for the night. Lantern Ghost Tours run award winning tours to Australia's most haunted locations. 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 Telstra Australia Business Awards Finalist2013 RACV Tourism Awards Finalist 2013 Melbourne Fringe Festival 2013 Midsumma FestivalAs seen on Postcards, Coxy's Big Break, Eat Play Stay, Herald Sun, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Lantern Ghost Tours
from USD 27.36
Overview
Spend a spooky evening searching Melbourne for ghosts and ghouls during this haunting tour of Melbourne. Hear tales and legends of the city’s dark past while following your entertaining guide through one of three eerie locations. Choose from the Old Melbourne, Williamstown, and Pentridge Prison tours, and uncover the mysteries and that surround each hallowed spot.
132Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 32
  • 9
  • 7
  • 12
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David O wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne81 contributions46 helpful votes
Went to Point Cook Homestead for the ghost tour. Since the Covina new rules re numbers and distancing have just come in, we were advised when we arrived that the tour would be conducted outside the homestead. About 30 people on the tour, so it would have been too crowded inside. So Ken took us for a wander around the grounds in the dark, telling us all sorts of historical information about the property, Williamstown, Altona, etc, etc. very little about the ‘haunted’ homestead, we played with his divining sticks ( mostly a fail, well a 95% failure rate) and generally had a mildly entertaining evening. At the end of the tour, we were invited into the house ( all bare rooms) for a few minutes in small groups. Talking with other disgruntled members of the group during the night, many of us had checked during the week that the tour would be going ahead. All had been told it would, but no one was told that we would be virtually excluded from the house. It either should have have been cancelled, or visitors advised of the changes beforehand. Very disappointing for all of us.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer S, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours
Responded 21 May 2020
Good morning David , thank you for letting us know you felt the tour should have been cancelled . We do try not to cancel tours due to people traveling just for the tours. At this time we did our best to make all guests feel comfortable attending the tour , we are sorry you did not enjoy this tour.
Read more
L G wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Did both the Williamstown tour and the Pentridge tour. Lantern Tours is NOT for those who are serious about the Paranormal. These tours or investigations are usually always attended by gigglers. Pentridge was the worst fail as this was considered a Paranormal Investigation Event and not your typical light hearted "ghost tour". The night was wasteful and had much of a comical tone all throughout. It was also presented by a professional comedian who thought EVERYTHING was just so hilarious and a bit of a joke. Absolutely killed it for the serious paranormal investigators attending. Not much walking around either as we spent most of the night in the one location of the gaol; terrible. Perhaps advertise on your website that your tours cater for comical fun only rather than misleading your paying customers to believe that they are attending legitimate Paranormal Investigations.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer S, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours
Responded 21 May 2020
Hi there , thanks for your review . We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy any part of our tours . Maybe a private tour is more suited to yourself to avoid other guests giggling ect . We offer private tours & investigations for guests to really have it run the way you would like. Happy Haunting!
Read more
Aaron M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Be cautious of these guys. More often than not these tours are history tours not ghost tours and you'll hear about tragic tails. If you're a history buff great. If you want to see ghost, ehhhh. Anyhow, I have done 15/20 Ghost Tours, The Rocks Sydney, Adelaide Gaol, Z Ward Adelaide, Beechworth a few times (Mayday and the Gaol), Aradale twice, J ward, Pentridge a few times, Old Melbourne Gaol, Williams Town, and a few cemetery and the werribee one. Bit of a fan. Last week I was supposed to do the Melbourne tour, but unfortunately my partner who is a type 1 diabetic fell ill. She had a gastric issue that made her pulse fly up, (a number of complications from nerve damage that effects her blood flow, the way she digest food, then blood sugars go crazy, bit of a pain in the arse and hard to plan around) and we werent able to go on the tour, I told the guide, she told me to call a 1300 number, they told me to email, the run around. My emails have been ignored. I get told I didn't give enough notice, we need 48 hours, our T's and C's blah blah blah fancy words we just want to screw you over and give you nothing for your money. Im a reasonable man, I don't think asking for a reschedule is out of the question, the overheads can't be that high that giving a repeat customer a rescheduled your is the end of the world. But apparently it is. I was planning on the Pentridge tour again, and the Melbourne cemetery, and probably more tours in the coming years, but the experience with Latern Tours Administration has left me with such a bitter taste, I wouldnt waste another cent on this company. So take the tour, it should be good. Just don't expect Lantern Ghost Tours to be honorable when misshaps of life get in the way and stop you from doing a tour. You're on your own if you don't give 48 hours.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer S, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Hi Aron, we are sorry to hear you missed your tour due to your partner being unwell as I added in your reply email with the offer to rebook at 50% off, sorry to hear your did not see your reply email. Yes we do have T&C's as all businesses do and if you contact us in business hours we are happy to offer date changes. We hope your partner is feeling better soon
Read more
Emma C wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
I took this tour with my husband and teen daughter. An excellent tour guide, our host took us on a journey of Williamstown and gave a history of its former residents. With opportunity to take pictures and use equipment, and access to otherwise inaccessible buildings, it made for an interesting night! Topped by a visit to Melbourne’s oldest morgue!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer S, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Hi Emma, we are pleased to hear you found your ghost host to be an excellent guide and you enjoyed the journey through Williamstown's hidden history. Happy Haunting!
Read more
Jo R wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions
My friend and I attended a tour together. Although the first half was conducted outside walking around Point Cook in the freezing pouring rain, it really didn’t matter as our guide made our experience fascinating, if you love history this tour is for you. we weaved around the town learning about various inhabitants who still linger, even reported UFO encounters. Then the best bit onto the homestead which although small was very eerie, I heard a clicking noise coming from behind me in the children’s bedroom from the direction of the cot, and an overwhelming uncomfortableness the entire time I was in that room. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour which has a perfect balance of history and spooky going ons Highly recommend
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer S, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Hi Jo, thanks for joining us on tour & we love to hear our guests have experienced some paranormal while on tour , hope to see you again soon on another Lantern Ghost Tour.
Read more
Previous
123456