We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Ghost Tours

Is this your business?
Nelson Place Syme Street | Hobsons Bay Visitor Information Centre, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria, Australia
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Lantern Ghost Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
USD 28.46*
and up
Altona Homestead Ghost Tour
More Info
USD 28.46*
and up
Melbourne Ghost Tour
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Be incarcerated in a Lunatic asylum, visit an abandoned morgue or be a ghost hunter for the night. Lantern Ghost Tours run award winning tours to Australia's most haunted locations. 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 Telstra Australia Business Awards Finalist2013 RACV Tourism Awards Finalist 2013 Melbourne Fringe Festival 2013 Midsumma FestivalAs seen on Postcards, Coxy's Big Break, Eat Play Stay, Herald Sun, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ghost tour” (46 reviews)
“little girl” (3 reviews)
“walking tour” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:30 pm - 12:30 am
LOCATION
Nelson Place Syme Street | Hobsons Bay Visitor Information Centre, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria, Australia
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ghost tour"
in 46 reviews
"little girl"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 5 reviews
"nice tour"
in 2 reviews
"interesting history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"story telling"
in 2 reviews
"knew her stuff"
in 2 reviews
"see you soon"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 2 reviews
"morgue"
in 18 reviews
"stories"
in 27 reviews
"spirits"
in 8 reviews
"rods"
in 5 reviews
"melbourne"
in 34 reviews
"altona"
in 8 reviews
"lisa"
in 4 reviews
"beliefs"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

very interesting tour that we all learnt alot from. Jason was a fantastic guide, Very knowledgeable and had some awesome stories to share.

Thank Wdw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We have done a couple of ghost tours in Melbourne and honestly, this was the best one we have been on. The information was very good and very well presented by Julie. We really enjoyed it. It was well paced and a well thought out...More

Thank Eleanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My girlfriend and I did this tour recently, and both enjoyed it. It was a nice tour of some of the laneways of Melbourne with interesting stories to go along with it. There's a part where you're "talking" to the ghost of a little girl...More

1  Thank Mȧrk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantern G, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Mark, thank you for your review on our Old Melbourne ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your tour and we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We had a group of 11 of us and there was another group of 16 doing the Williamstown ghost tour. This was really a glorified history lesson. It became almost silly towards the end as the other younger group of teens started to realise that...More

1  Thank Lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Good Afternoon Lester. Thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Four of us went on the investigation tour. It was advertised that we would be provided with equipment however there was not enough to go around because someone forgot to drop it off to the guides (or a similar excuse). So we shared a detector...More

1  Thank smelbourne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our Altona Homestead Investigation. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. Altona homestead is very small in comparison to Aradale and Beechworth...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We booked in expecting to have a fun night out with friends. Drove all the way into the city, finally get to the group (which is lead by someone who wouldn't be able to organise a bunch of adults if she tried) only to be...More

1  Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi Jordan, thank you for adding a review on your experience. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. Sorry to hear you did not make your booking and showed up to a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My husband and daughter joined me on this tour. We had an informative walk around the area prior to going into the homestead to set the seen/ mood. Our guide Lisa, gave a good run down about the famillies that had lived there, and shared...More

Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Kathy, thank you for your review on our Altona Homestead ghost tour. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with Lantern Tours and that you had your own paranormal experience while on tour. Hope to see you again on another Lantern ghost...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

After an excellent meal at Young and Jacksons pub, part of the package, we were met by Stephanie who not only looked the part in a Morticia style dress, but was also very friendly and inclusive of everyone, regardless of our level of beliefs. She...More

Thank Sibby1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Old Melbourne Ghost Tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Thought Williamstown and its history would be a great place to experience a Ghost Tour, sadly we were wrong! Our guide kept telling us that his boss started collecting ghost stories of this area when she was in her early teens and for 2.5hrs all...More

Thank PetaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Good Morning Peta, Thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

If you're seriously thinking about doing this tour, forget it! All you get is a nice walk around the city and a history talk. There's absolutely nothing spooky about it. I found it to be absolutely boring and to be honest, crap! I'm glad I...More

Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Hi Tony, thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour in Williamstown. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Williamstown Hotels
Middle Park Hotel
255 reviews
5.35 km away
Novotel Melbourne South Wharf
15 reviews
5.79 km away
Warwick Beachside Apartment Hotel
2 reviews
5.83 km away
Pan Pacific Melbourne
3,948 reviews
5.84 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ragusa
156 reviews
.19 km away
Titanic Theatre Restaurant
180 reviews
.31 km away
General Food Co
60 reviews
.09 km away
Pelicans Landing
244 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Williamstown Botanic Gardens
140 reviews
.93 km away
Commonwealth Reserve Williamstown
26 reviews
.01 km away
Hobsons Bay Visitor Information Centre
20 reviews
.21 km away
Point Gellibrand Heritage Park
21 reviews
.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
meetoo2010
19 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Lantern G | Property representative |
Hi Meetoo, you can access all this information on the Lantern Ghost Tour's web page, Happy Haunting!
0
Votes
TripAdviser04
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lantern G | Property representative |
Lantern Tours offers private tours for guests with 15+ guests. Private tours are made up of full paying adults, (no vouchers or children's pricing) Please contact our office 1300 390 119.
0
Votes
Rose800
29 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lantern G | Property representative |
Hi Rose, yes booking for 17 guests to join our ghost tours is no problem at all, you are all welcome to join our scheduled public tours or with a minimum of 15 adults you may book your own private tour when it best suits... More
0
Votes