We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bass & Flinders Centre

Closed Now: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Review Highlights
Great home cooked food

The cafe upstairs serves great homemade food at very reasonable prices and the owner goes that... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
roberteveritt
,
George Town, Australia
Touchable History Lesson and GREAT CAFE!

When you drive into a small SeaSideTown like George Town you expect the typical Port Town, then you... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
X8084FGgarym
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 77 reviews
40
All photos (40)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good35%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tom thumb”(8 reviews)
“bass”(40 reviews)
About
The Bass & Flinders Centre is the home of "The Norfolk", the full sized replica of the Norfolk that Bass and Flinders sailed from Sydney and around Tasmania in 1798. This full sized replica has sailed the same journeys albeit 200 years later - to...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
8 Elizabeth St, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Website
+61 3 6382 3792
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
45
27
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
45
27
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tom thumb bass nautical history picture theatre huon pine small boat below deck australian history friendly volunteers volunteer staff history lesson cafe upstairs norfolk replica flanders boats exhibits
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

The cafe upstairs serves great homemade food at very reasonable prices and the owner goes that extra mile to make you feel welcome, give it a try.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank roberteveritt
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you drive into a small SeaSideTown like George Town you expect the typical Port Town, then you turn the corner and for some reason you are drawn to a small unesuming sign the reads Gun Deck Cafe. It's when you walk in to get...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank X8084FGgarym
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We weren't sure about visiting such a place as my wife and I are not seafarers in any form. The people at the front were really friendly so we thought we would give it a try. We weren't disappointed as we knew of the history...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank BigBrownBear47
Reviewed 17 December 2018

This is a very nice place to visit while in George Town. Let the volunteers tell you about the historical facts of this town, or, if you are lucky, partake in one of the many events run in the venue.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank tolobulo
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Whilst staying in George Town at a friend's I happened across the Bass & Flinders whilst exploring the town the two ladies present on my visit couldn't have been more helpful and informative giving me a very interesting and knowledgeable tour of the exhibits. Well...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Richard W
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Our ladies love to pass on their knowledge and also advise of other places to visit in George Town.

Reviewed 29 April 2018

If you enjoy all things nautical - especially if you have an interest in Australian nautical history - then this place will probably be somewhere you want to stop off. International visitors may just skip this as you have to get off the main road...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Paul L
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you like the layout as we think of ourselves as being a little unique in our display but certaining have plans to do more.

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We spent some time exploring this exhibition dedicated to Bass & Flinders. They have a replica of the boat that they sailed from England to Tasmania. You can actually get aboard the boat and climb below to see the living conditions. A very small boat...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 542trishf
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks for your review. A small point in the history. The Norfolk was originally built on Norfolk Island , off Australia , so it never had to make a long voyage from England. We love our little Norfolk.

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Low Head and were interested in learning about the ares history. The information centre had a 3 museums ticket deal which included this centre. Laid out well. Following boards telling the story of Bass and Flinders separate and linked lives. Fantastic...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank M7799RCdeborahc
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

I will pass your good review onto our staff as they love to talk about the boat and it's famous crew.

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Inside this old building that was an old picture theatre then an indoor cricket centre now wonderfully changed into a beautiful history of Bass and Flinders circumnavigation of Van Diemens Land. Bern Cuthbertson built a Huon pine replica of the Norfolk and the Tom Thumb....More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank KevinEllis
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you Kevin for your kind words. We do think of the Bass and Flinders Centre as a worthwhile visit for tourists and our reviews are always positive.

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent opportunity to experience some of our history. Was great to be able to walk onto the Norfolk replica and enter the hull. Great information around and well displayed. Easy to read. Staff were helpful. Only problem was that 5 gas, room heaters (not being...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kesa56
peterhS9659GG, General Manager at Bass & Flinders Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your review. I agree and only yesterday I noted that they were in a poor location. So will move them immediately. Hope it did not detract too much from your visit.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Comfort Inn The Pier
66 reviews
.08 km away
The Charles Robbins
75 reviews
.12 km away
Riviera Hotel
65 reviews
4.18 km away
Tamar Cove Motel
58 reviews
6.77 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13 nearby restaurants
George Town Seafoods Pty Ltd
94 reviews
1.27 km away
Cafe 1069
28 reviews
.06 km away
Gray's Hotel
66 reviews
.33 km away
The Signature Cafe
45 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Seahorse World
766 reviews
4.83 km away
Low Head Penguin Tours
253 reviews
6.01 km away
George Town Visitor Information Centre
40 reviews
1.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bass & Flinders Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines