We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 323 Montana Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Phone Number: +61 3 6362 4130
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 16:00
Description:

41 Degrees South Salmon and Ginseng Farm is located in the North of...

41 Degrees South Salmon and Ginseng Farm is located in the North of Tasmania. A short drive from Launceston along the Great Western Tiers Touring route takes there. The salmon farm is set up with sustainable practices in mind. The salmon are grown in fresh water tanks under Eco certified conditions. A man made and natural wetland is used as a bio filter for the fish waste, creating a beautiful habit for the native flora and fauna. Free tastings of the salmon and ginseng products are available in store where there is a small gift shop and cafe for light lunches and refreshments.Self guided tours around the farm are on offer 7 days a week.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 101 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
NICE AND FRESH.

dropped by for a quick visit. enjoyed their salmon products. the pepper was surprisingly nice. the service was warm and friendly, had a great time there. wish had more time to do... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 September 2016
AhmadDundee
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited last week; it was a disappointment! Place is rather out of the way. We were expecting fresh salmon for sale, this being a salmon farm. Read past reviews mentioning hot smoked salmon but it never cross our mind that it is the only type of salmon being sold. NZ salmon farms had both fresh and smoked salmon. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie Y
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Julie, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed, We would encourage you to tell us this when you were at the farm so we can discuss this with you. I guess it depends how you see "out of the way". 10 minutes from the nearest town and along the trail to many major... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

dropped by for a quick visit. enjoyed their salmon products. the pepper was surprisingly nice. the service was warm and friendly, had a great time there. wish had more time to do farm tour.

Helpful?
Thank AhmadDundee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

If you love Salmon then you must visit. Follow the quirky signs to 41 South. Salmon, flavoured honey and other goodies can be tasted. You can see how the Salmon are grown and processed too. Cryovaced salmon can be taken home with you to enjoy and keep the memories alive.

Helpful?
Thank Greg W
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We have often bought the spices and ginseng. Yum I love them Ziggy and the free and friendly and love to chat. We walked through the fields and lakes and the kids loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Heather F
Gold Beach, Oregon
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We followed the tasting trail from Stanley to Launceston. This place is the only one clsed without any notice given from there website. We drived about 2.5hour to there farm, and be shocked by their 'closed today'sign @gate. This business should open 7days which their mentioned everywhere. When we called them, they just said that the farm is damaged some,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review

I am very sorry you thought our staff were being rude. We have just been through major flooding, which cause a lot of damage to our farm and were also burdened with 2 of the owners overseas and the other out with illness with herself and her baby. We had no other choice but to shut the gate. The 2... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Such a fun day, we visited not long after the floods yet the staff were still so positive & amazing. The salmon rillettes is to die for and I strongly recommend anyone in the area to get out there and support this brilliant place!! Ps 3 tubs of the rillettes is not enough to take home with you - you'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016

Had a hot smoked salmon sandwich which was nice. I have certainly tasted better salmon elsewhere despite the owner's boisterous claims of it being the best in the world. The owner does have a peculiar sense of humour and can come across as pushy and somewhat rude. I wouldn't be in a rush to come back or buy more.

Helpful?
Thank MDRX12310
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear Ziggy's humor wasn't your cup of tea. He tries and he means well, the last thing he wants is to turn someone of his business which he has put ovet 20 years of blood sweat and tears into. More 

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016

Read lots of good reviews on google and their facebook page, but to be honest, it is not really worth to go. The Self Guided Tour is Terrible, we has been charged for this "Self Walking Tour", the fish seems live in the "un-clean" water, haven't see any ginseng - even the leaf. The farm need to be tidy up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fay Q
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy yourself. We would really appreciate if people let us know these things when they were at the farm face to face and we would have been more than happy to give you a refund. We also would have come down to the ponds and tanks to make sure... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Loved the free tasting! Cheap meals and high quality products. It has an overall great vibe to the place, with a nice welcoming as soon as you enter. The owner has a great sense of humour and explains everything well. The salmon was some of the best I've ever had and the walk is lovely too (especially when accompanied by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget F
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

I went to checked about their salmon products (which I already known) yesterday and once I got in, we were being pushed for the said forced tasting and was being asked whereabouts I am coming from (I don't understand why this bother that guy and the way I look at it this is a kind of casual racist behaviour). Customer... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pandaplanet
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt pushed to taste, you have the right to say no. We find it very harsh that you have decided to label the owner as racist. We ask where customers are from firstly to be polite and make conversation, we are genuinely interested in world travelers coming to Tasmania. Secondly as a business... More 

Travellers who viewed 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe also viewed

Deloraine, Tasmania
 

Been to 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?