We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Beehive

Closed Now: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Island Beehive
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
95
All photos (95)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“honey tasting”(28 reviews)
“scones”(32 reviews)
About
Island Beehive produces world renowned, Certified Organic Ligurian Bee Honey. Complete with Cafe, Gift Shop, Honey Produce and Tours.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Kingscote SA 5223 Australia 59 Playford Hwy, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Website
+61 8 8553 0080
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Kingscote
from USD 227.90
More Info
from USD 832.70
More Info
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
133
102
34
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
133
102
34
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honey tasting scones honeycomb ice cream bee pollen queen bee gift shop different types great place to visit friendly staff ligurian bees nice coffee related products wide variety take home morning tea local produce small cafe
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lost count of how many times we've visited - amazing range of honey, souvenirs and great iced chocolate and honeycomb ice cream for the kids. I loved my iced coffee. Have fun finding the queen bee ...

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MumDadBoys
andthenkylieee, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi guys! Thanks for the review. Glad you visited many times. Might see you again!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Wonderful visit to this adorable beehive :) great gifts, amazing honey and mouthwatering home made honey icecream!! :) lovely friendly staff had a great time.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 361tabithap
andthenkylieee, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for writing a review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location just off Kingscote where they have a great range of honey and other honey products. Honeycomb ice cream is a must try for your visit!!!!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank crystall664
andthenkylieee, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for reviewing us! Glad you loved the ice cream!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TLDR version: try the mead and honeycomb ice-cream We went because a friend recommended the ice cream and were not disappointed. The milk and honey tastes are rich and unique. We also tried some of the honey at a tasting booth. They have a store...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank jedidiahwatt
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for your review. Very glad you enjoyed your time with us and visited not only once, but twice. We run tours every day but are not always extracting honey as the honey flow is very seasonal. Thank you for trying the mead...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi being city type person this venue shows you how hard bees work and all the natural remedies and bits you can use in your every day life.they have a working hive in show so you can watch bees at work.for the people who like...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank brenlar6
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello. Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stop here.

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

As a diabetic, I always worry about my sugar intake. But honey from this place, it’s worth the “sin”! Anyway, honey is low GI, meaning, the glucose release in the blood stream is slow. So, I enjoyed my latte and scones with honey. Plus, Paula...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Bluethund
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you so much for the review! So glad you enjoyed your visit and Paulas hospitality.

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Staff where friendly but we just went to try the delicious honey KI has to offer we will go again...

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tamb1977
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the honey.

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Didn't think the short tour was worth the $20 family entry. Was expecting to see the honey being extracted but you have to be lucky to see this as it only happens at certain times. Just seeing the machinery was disappointing. Ask before you do...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Danielle I
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hello. Thank you for writing a review. Sorry you were not aware we were not extracting on that day, we do try to ensure customers know this. Glad you found our beehive and set up modern. Hope you enjoyed Kangaroo Island and will visit again.

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Went here great place to visit great honey products and coffee great on a cold day will come back again

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lee-ann S
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your time with us and will come back again - see you when you do!

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived and instantly greeted by a nice staff member who explained how the tasting works and showed us around. We liked the honey and bought some for gifts. The ice cream is very nice although expensive at $5 for a small tub. We enjoyed our...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AustTrail
Islandbeehive, Manager at Island Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff welcoming. Hope to see you again!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
434 reviews
.95 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
107 reviews
1.43 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
1,048 reviews
1.59 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
71 reviews
1.65 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 63 nearby restaurants
Cactus - Coffee, Food, Bar
85 reviews
1.55 km away
Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods
592 reviews
1.18 km away
Bella Cafe Restaurant & Pizza Bar
390 reviews
1.50 km away
Chocol'Art & Coffee
125 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 99 nearby attractions
Bay of Shoals Winery
79 reviews
1.47 km away
Fine Art Kangaroo Island
37 reviews
1.53 km away
Hope Cottage
35 reviews
1.36 km away
Kingscote Farmers' Market
11 reviews
1.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Island Beehive staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines