We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gentle Cycling Company

411 Nayland Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Save
Review Highlights
Coastal Classic Happily Revisited

Following our succesful cycle trip last year with the Gentle Cycling Company we decided to repeat... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2018
AnnemarieKatrien
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Well run with excellent equipment.

My daughter researched cycle hire in Nelson and decided on Gentle. An excellent choice from start... read more

Reviewed 5 March 2018
redsgothenburg
,
Fort William, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 125 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Self-guided half day, full day and multi-day bike hire and tours on and around the Great Taste Cycle Trail. Explore vineyards, craft breweries, cafes, historic villages, beaches and beautiful rural landscapes in Nelson, the Craft Brewing Capital of NZ.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great taste” (28 reviews)
“wine trail” (4 reviews)
“cheese shop” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
LOCATION
411 Nayland Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great taste"
in 28 reviews
"wine trail"
in 4 reviews
"cheese shop"
in 4 reviews
"comfortable bikes"
in 3 reviews
"bike ride"
in 7 reviews
"fun ride"
in 2 reviews
"otago rail trail"
in 2 reviews
"nearby town"
in 2 reviews
"busy road"
in 3 reviews
"honest lawyer"
in 3 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 8 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 2 reviews
"equipment provided"
in 2 reviews
"quality bikes"
in 2 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 3 reviews
"lovely friendly staff"
in 2 reviews
"rabbit island"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Following our succesful cycle trip last year with the Gentle Cycling Company we decided to repeat the fabulous 3 day-Coastal Classic bike trip from Stoke to Kaiteriteri. Again, very good communication by email and phone ahead of our personalised trip. Prompt pick-up from our accommodation...More

Thank AnnemarieKatrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to see you in Nelson again and great to hear you enjoyed your trip the second time, as much as the first!. Best wishes, Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

My daughter researched cycle hire in Nelson and decided on Gentle. An excellent choice from start to finish. We were picked up and dropped off at our Airbnb. On arrival at their base we were given tour advice, fashioned to our particular requirements and backed...More

Thank redsgothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I had two bike hire confirmations for an afternoon during a holiday to NZ. Unfortunately, on that day Nelson experienced some flood rain, and we weren't able to do the bike tour (it wasn't even safe to drive). We were informed by this company that...More

Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

I'm sorry you feel this way. You were aware of our cancellation policy and you were eligible for a 90% refund if you had cancelled by 10am the day prior, which is common for activities in NZ. This means that you do need to watch...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I can not recommend Rose Griffin and her team too highly. Our two day " I love Nelson Trip" was outstanding-Dunpuffin Lodge food and hospitality is excellent . We were most impressed with the Top 10 Motor Camp in Motueka. Our bokes were first class...More

1  Thank hughestravels2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Wayne, It is great to hear your group enjoyed your trip on the Great Taste Trail. Dunpuffin is certainly a very special location to stay in, both for it's ambiance and for the welcome offered by the hosts. It was our absolute pleasure to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Background: After completing a 5 day hiking trip in Abel Tasman (going lodge to lodge versus hut to hut), we advance booked a 3 day bike trip with Gentle Cycling, who gave us a route, bikes, ferry tickets and booked us lodging in Mapua (Mapua...More

Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Global Village, thanks for sharing your experience of cycling the Great Taste Trail Coastal Route to Mapua. It's great to hear you enjoyed your trip and your accommodation in the village. This route is great for a super-relaxed ride as the distances are very...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

The owner took pains to explain the Tasting Route and gave uh photographic visuals to help us fi d the way. A solid hours ride to Wakefield. Lunch at Rhubarb Cafe then a more gentle ride back

Thank sunny121UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for your review of riding the off-road Great Taste Trail route to Wakefield (22km). It's great to hear you enjoyed your day. Best wishes, Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

just spent the day biking around nelson wineries with my 2 sisters, prompt pick up at our hotel. good instructions and maps provided, good quality bikes, we got an e bike for my older sister at the last minute, which was not a problem to...More

Thank travelbunny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your Great Taste Wine tour. Although the route is flat, the E Bike makes it easy for everyone to enjoy the day. The Cellar Door Cafe is a very popular destination and many...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I hired an e-bike for a full day, and cycled along the Great Taste Trail. I was given an excellent map with highlights well-marked plus clear verbal instructions from the helpful, friendly owner (who also transported me to and from my Nelson hotel). The cycle...More

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. The electric bikes are very popular and are a fantastic to ride - and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. The 22km distance from our office, out to Wakefield, is also a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Really good day out - prompt pick up from our hotel, lovely friendly staff, and comprehensive briefing and instructions/maps. Good choice of wineries and brewery to visit. Bikes comfortable to ride. Would definitely recommend.

Thank simonsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to help you enjoy a great day on the Great Taste Trail. Thanks for coming! Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

A perfect cycle trip with excellent customer care from first contact. Helpful pre ride briefing on the route and the food and drink stops! Good bikes and trails. Excellent b&b in mapua and fantastic food + New Years eve entertainment in the mapua sprig &...More

Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Nelson
Saxton Lodge
153 reviews
.89 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
163 reviews
1.22 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
990 reviews
1.27 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
116 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Monaco Kitchen
304 reviews
1.26 km away
Crusoes Cafe
106 reviews
.67 km away
Honest Lawyer
304 reviews
1.22 km away
McCashins Brewery Kitchen and Bar
88 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Private Driver Hire
17 reviews
1.17 km away
Broadgreen Historic House
72 reviews
1.24 km away
McCashin's Brewery
68 reviews
.64 km away
Saxton Oval
14 reviews
.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter N
7 February 2015|
Answer
Response from StokeRosie | Property representative |
we are closed for day rides on Good Friday and Easter Sunday
0
Votes