We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air Fraser Island

Hervey Bay, Australia
More
About Air Fraser Island
Come let us show you Fraser Island like you have never seen it before. We offer Scenic Flights, Hire car services, Island Transfers, Day Away trips and Connections to bus tours or other flights. Departing daily from Hervey Bay and Sunshine Coast airports Feel free to call or E-mail us with any questions or queries .
Read more
Travellers talk about

Air Fraser Island
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
148Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 16
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cromansydney2 wrote a review Aug 2021
Drummoyne, Australia2456 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and I took 20 minutes flight starting and finishing on Fraser Island. It was an amazing experience. It gave a birds view of the island. We didn't see any whales, but that didn't matter. Taking off from a beach was an added bonus. The only negative thing was about the timing. I inquired well in advance as well as the day before our flight and wanted to book a time. I was told that there was no need to book and that the aircraft would land on the beach at 7 am. When it didn't arrive, I rang the office and was told that they would land after 10. We arrived at 10 to find a big group waiting. Since I couldn't book the time, we almost had to wait for a while, which could have severely impacted on our itinerary for the rest of the day. It already had impacted out itinerary, as our day was planned with an early morning flight. Fortunately, they squeezed us in in front of some other people from the group and we were able to do all other things we planned on the day. I stress that this didn't take away from our amazing experience.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Simon H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Enjoyed a flight over the beautiful Fraser Island on a 15 minute scenic flight. We saw how enormous the island was as well as whales and dolphins. Our pilot Ray was very knowledgeable and circled the whales for us which was such a treat! I would recommend this experience to anyone.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy G, Owner at Air Fraser Island
Responded 14 Jul 2021
G'Day Q2196ZQsimonah We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your flight on Fraser Island ! You really don't know how big the Island is until you see it from the air. A real treat to also see ocean life. A memory to treasure forever! We appreciate the feedback and thank you.
Read more
Robert V wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Just did the flight to Fraser Island and rented a 4x4 for the weekend. The flight there and back is awesome and to have a 4x4 waiting was great. Had an amazing time. The service from Air Fraser staff was great. Saw some whales and dingoes on our way up to the pools and to top it off the weather was fantastic. Thanks for making our time one to remember.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy G, Owner at Air Fraser Island
Responded 20 Jun 2021
G'Day Robert. Thank you for leaving this awesome review ! We are absolutely thrilled that you had a great Fly Drive experience with Air Fraser Island. Such a special way to see our World Heritage listed Island, from both the air and the ground. Very happy that you were lucky enough to be able to see whales and dingoes! Bonus! Thank you, from the Team of Air Fraser Island
Read more
Trusstytraveller wrote a review Jun 2021
Palmview, Australia970 contributions360 helpful votes
Enjoy the experience of take off and landing on a sand air strip and the amazing views over Fraser Island. This is an economical way to get a real birds eye view of Fraser Island and some of the amazing features. The flight we took was only 20 minutes but we saw heaps. It was part of an add on for a tour we were on. The pilot was great, safety conscious and professional. We saw whales and he circled back just before preparing to land so we could get a better view. Absolutely recommend the experience.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy G, Owner at Air Fraser Island
Responded 20 Jun 2021
G'Day Thank you for talking the time to give us this review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your flight with Air Fraser Island, and hope we have help create many memories of our World Heritage listed Island, Fraser Island. Whale sightings are always an extra special bonus! From the Team of Air Fraser Island
Read more
Garry G wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Bait and switch! We were on a day bus tour, and met with the Air Fraser representative on the beach. He promised a flight along the beach AND over Fraser Island. On reaching plane, pilot asked us to choose along the beach OR over the island. If we (there were 2 of us) pulled out at that point, the flight would be cancelled so, for the sake of the other person who had agreed to the flight, we stayed, but were not happy (they have a minimum of 2 to fly, and there were only 3 of us). Afterwards we contacted the company who confirmed that the flight should have included both areas and offered us a complimentary flight next time we are on the island, but we’re not planning on re-visiting Fraser Island and the cost of returning to F.I. is more than the flight. We asked for a 50% refund (that way, they still had the income from 2 flyers, and we paid for the half flight they delivered), but have had no reply. Reading through other trip advisor reviews (eg the people who were promised that whales would be a focus of the flight when spotted), “undelivered promise” perhaps should be this company’s advertising slogan.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy G, Owner at Air Fraser Island
Responded 17 Jun 2021
G’day Garry It is very disappointing to see this review posted to Trip Advisor as we thought we were discussing through email and phone calls and were positive? We have been rather confused with your correspondence for a couple of reasons. 1. You were on a Day Tour with Fraser Explorer Tours, via Rainbow Beach, and you said that our Air Fraser representative offered a 1 hour scenic flight. To clear that up, our Air Fraser representative would have never offered a 1 hour scenic flight as we only offer our, 15 minute Scenic Flight on Fraser Island. If wanting a 30 minute or 60 minute flight, it would be out of Hervey Bay. 2. You stated that you committed to a flight and the Pilot would only offer a Maheno or inland option, not both. Normally, we would not give that option. Depending on the take-off and landing location will determine the sights you would see, and each flight does a 75 mile track over the island. Our understanding is our Pilot spoke with the group as to what would be happening on this particular flight, and it was all agreed upon. Once the flight was completed our Pilot asked how the flight was and everyone said they had a great flight! Our Air Fraser representatives are knowledgeable of their jobs, and have been with Air Fraser Island long enough to know what they are offering to all passengers. Which does not include what you have stated in communication with Air Fraser Island. Thank you for your feedback, but do wish you could have contacted us again before leaving negative feedback on TripAdvisor, especially feedback that was not correct in the first place. The team at, Air Fraser Island
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Hervey Bay
from USD 96.29
More Info
from USD 92.58
More Info
from USD 88.88
More Info
from USD 66.66
More Info