Penny Royal Adventures

Penny Royal Adventures, Launceston: Hours, Address, Penny Royal Adventures Reviews: 4/5

Penny Royal Adventures
4
Saturday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
About
At the mouth of the Cataract Gorge, Penny Royal celebrates the dark and playful past of bushranger Matthew Brady amongst a charming complex of bars, restaurants and a wide range of activities for the whole family including zip lines, rock wall climbing, cliff walks as well as adventures at park level of gold panning, gemstone fossicking and the brig Tamar cruise and moments in history. Free entry to the village, pay only for the adventures you choose.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Penny Royal Adventures
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.0
240 reviews
Excellent
100
Very good
79
Average
31
Poor
15
Terrible
15

Jeffrey W
Gold Coast, Australia10 contributions
Not like it used to be
Aug. 2021 • Couples
Was a little disappointing as a couple. Maybe if we had kids doing the zip lining it would have been better
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CodyMav
Gold Coast, Australia27,502 contributions
Penny Royal Adventures
Apr. 2021
Walking Kings Bridge, you can see the rope bridges across the cliffside. Head in that direction to this little theme park
Written 27 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kate S
Hobart, Australia10 contributions
Great family day out
Jun. 2021
Visited today with my husband. I would probably say that this attraction is probably better visited with children rather than retirees such as ourselves.
The brig Tamar boat ride was very entertaining.
The captain of the brig made the ride great and he made everyone feel welcome. The dark ride was also entertaining it’s the young attendant very friendly.
The young lady in the ticket office was also extremely welcoming, friendly and helpfull
Written 19 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us, Kate! We're glad you had a nice day out with us.
Written 28 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carol S
Perth, Australia24 contributions
Closed for the winter
Jun. 2021
Was a bit dissapointed when we went to have a wonder around nothing was open,which I know it was winter but in the heart of Launceston and with all the governments telling everyone to travel australia we thought that something here would have been open ,but no it was like a ghost village .if you had travelled with kids would have been very dissapointed.
Written 8 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm sorry you came by when our adventures operation was closed. We do keep our opening hours updated on our website, Facebook, Google listing, etc. As far as being closed during the week, unfortunately, we do not have the traffic during the week to enable us to open the adventures operation.
Written 28 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

makita80
Forth, Australia42 contributions
Disappointed nothing was open
Apr. 2021 • Friends
Visited your website last night and decided to come for a visit today. Travelled for Devonport, Should have checked your website again this morning for opening times. We arrived, gates open, paid our $4 parking, only to discover nothing is open or running on weekdays ‘due to covid’. But open on weekends?? Does covid not exist on weekends?? Very disappointing
Written 26 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm sorry you didn't look at our opening hours before you came down. We do keep those updated on our website, Facebook, Google listing, etc. As far as being closed during the week, we are not closed during the week because of worries of COVID. Unfortunately, we do not have the traffic during the week to enable us to open adventures operation.
Written 28 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

warreng999
Brisbane, Australia334 contributions
Family fun but not cheap
Apr. 2021
We bought the Cliff Pass as it had all the adventurous activities that the kids and kids at heart wanted. The pass wasn't cheap ($39 each) but everyone had fun which is the most important thing. You can buy a full pass for (69) if you want to do everything and takes about 5 hours.
All adventures are scheduled so you can't just show up at say the rock wall and climb. You are give a dedicated time for all activities.
There isn't much of a food choice there.
Written 13 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us! We are glad everyone enjoyed the adventures. We do think it is a great value with the 2 zip lines, 20M cliff jump, cliff walk and hour of rock climbing. :) In case you didn't see, we do have 2 separate restaurants operating when the park adventures are open. Alida is our seafood and steak restaurant and Brady's features pizzas, pasta, parmis & platters.
Written 13 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MP-Aus
3 contributions
A must visit adventure
Mar. 2021
Haven't visited in your trip to Launceston? Well you missed a good adventure. This one has something for all ages. I took the pass park and my two year old enjoyed all the activities. I will visit this one again once my kid grows up and will go for the adventure pass. Buy the vanilla and fresh berry ice cream. Something worth trying. Haven't visited the cafe.
Written 27 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us!!! So glad you and your child enjoyed the park activities!! We appreciate your support!
Written 13 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Campbell J
Queensland, Australia28 contributions
Excellent
Mar. 2021
Interactive history in a ghost train on water style. Really very good. Must do. Felt like a museum come to life and you were part of all the action.
Written 7 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us! So glad you enjoyed the Dark Ride!! :) We appreciate your support!!
Written 13 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

petert1000yyy
Sydney, Australia21 contributions
Great place to stay
Feb. 2021 • Family
Booked a 2 bedroom apartment. Great value for money, good location, amusement park area interesting for kids and adults too! Restaurant near reception is a pub that serves excellent food.
Written 23 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us. This is actually the page for the adventure park. Glad you enjoyed that. :) And glad you enjoyed the Leisure Inn hotel too!
Written 13 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kateekins
2 contributions
Not convinced about height restrictions
Jan. 2021
Website and posters state 120cm for jump and zip lines. Unfortunately my daughter was way below the unlabelled piece of wood on the wall by about 10cm. This was very strange as I had recently measured her as 123cm. When I questioned this the man was very rude. There was no marking on the wall as to what height the piece of wood was. She enjoyed the cliff walk but was really disappointed not to be able to do the other things
Written 21 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hmm.. Very strange. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I don't even know which of our staff it might have been with most of them being super nice and respectful. I will look into it. Unfortunately we do have some restrictions we're bound to in order to keep everyone safe on the cliff activities. We hope you return in the future!
Written 13 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 233
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penny Royal Adventures

Penny Royal Adventures is open:
  • Sat - Sun 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Penny Royal Adventures tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 2 Penny Royal Adventures tours on Tripadvisor