We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Temptation Sailing

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 412 811 838
Website
Description:

Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin...

Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 53.14*
and up
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 215 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 116
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Awesome!

It started off a bit slow and we thought that perhaps we wouldn't see any dolphins but the crew made sure that we didn't miss out. We came across a huge pod of dolphins and it... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Jessicca B
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

How can I write this review in proper term. We deliver 250 dolphins to us and was very good trip. My family and me have great time and will come in march too. Dolphins 1 metre next to me was a good day Thank you Temptation

Helpful?
Thank asrialraminash
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was fantastic morning out - I did the dolfin swim which I loved, I highly recommend this experience. We saw loads of dolfins and the staff was friendly, funny and helpful. I was scared at first to go into the water but once in I love it. I might have to go back before I leave - thanks you

Helpful?
Thank klingaus2017
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The swim can be a little daunting at first, but most people are able to adapt pretty quickly and love it. Hopefully you will have to chance to come out again before you leave, we would love to have you back. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

When we went on the dolphin trip we didn't see any dolphins at all. Though we enjoyed a relaxing sailing trip in the sun through beautiful scenery it was disappointing. According to the crew this happened only 1 out of 100 times! They have a 100% money-back guarantee (if you order directly though them. If you book through a thirdparty... More 

Helpful?
Thank juneshh
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What a difference 24 hours make – this is the first time in 2017 we offered a free trip to customers due to only four dolphins being spotted during the morning. We refunded money back to swimmers and offered all swimmers to rebook for another time free of charge. 10 passengers took up this offer... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our initial trip was cancelled with no notice, despite the weather forecast being accurate. Our rescheduled trip wasn't much better, we were thrown off the back of the boat, people has their masks kicked off, I had to grab the anti shark line having been kicked off the rope, and got an electric shock. My mother who is not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Hi Samuel, we can see from your review that it was from a swim from March 2016, so around a year ago it is a bit hard to comment on your review. We don’t cancel cruises for no reason, so if you cruise was cancelled this was due to unsuitable water conditions where it would make the dolphin swim difficult... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It started off a bit slow and we thought that perhaps we wouldn't see any dolphins but the crew made sure that we didn't miss out. We came across a huge pod of dolphins and it was absolutely incredible! The crew were so friendly and made the experience even more fun. Would definitely recommend! Just remember to take a spare... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessicca B
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and the dolphins. We hope to have you back on-board again in the near future. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can understand that if people see dolphins and swim with them it is an overwhelming experience that gets you past the $$ aspect the tour has taken. Unfortunately, we did not see any Dolphins other than a fin for 1 sec. We understand it is nature and hence you get what comes. We rate it only 2 stars as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine G
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us as you found the boat to be too crowded. Being February, one of our peak months the boat will be full, during our shoulder seasons the boat is less full. Interaction at the beginning of February varies, as this... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5 star experience I would recommend for all. Friendly and knowledgeable crew. Great view of dolphins from both the boat and while swimming. Amazing experience....check it out when you are next in Adelaide

Helpful?
Thank Sonya K
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your cruise and your morning with the dolphins - we really appreciate it. More 

Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Even if the weather wasn't in good conditions me and the girlfriend have enjoyed so much this tour since we went 2 times in the water with many dolphins swimming around us and the boat. Crew it's lovely and very friendly, they explained us everything carefully since the first moment we started the tour. You have to be quite strong... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
Mt Martha, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an awesome experience!! Crew were fun, helpful & knowledgeable. Plenty of dolphins to watch and swim with. It was a great morning out on the water, & not too far offshore for those that aren't confident about open water. Definitely a must when in Adelaide.

Helpful?
Thank Griff M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very enjoyable morning. Crew was fantastic and the safety and swimming briefings were quite clear. Struggled to find some dolphins to start with but the crew persisted and found several pods for the swimmers. I found I saw more as a watcher and was able to get some great pics. Highly recommended as a must do when in Adelaide.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane12734

Travellers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Temptation Sailing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?